We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, pity about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed March 26, 2008

Stayed there for one night recently before a wedding. Hotel does have the wow factor from the inside but the retail park which it shares a car park with is a bit industrial looking and the food was awful. On the evening of our arrival I ordered a burger without the blue cheese and of course it arrived with it. I sent it back requesting a new bun with regular cheddar and it arrived back with the same bun and cheese just scraped off and no cheddar. This shouldn't happen in a deli never mind a five star hotel. Breakfast was a buffet which meant the meats tended to be overdone and again I expect better from 5 star accomodation. The rooms were fine and the ambiance very nice but the food let it down for me.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetie-dj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,715)
There are newer reviews for the g Hotel & Spa Galway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,505 - 2,511 of 2,715 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2008

Everything about this hotel is great. It has such a wow factor, from the minute we stepped out of the car until we left the next morning there is nothing i could fault. I am a fussy person and go out of my way to find things that are wrong - and there wasn't a thing. You must see this place, even if you don't stay well worth a look. The prices are pretty resonable for a five star, drinks are only about 10c dearer than the hotel across the road. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

My wife and I spent three nights at The G earlier this week during our week long stay in Ireland. The G was our clear favorite of three very good hotels (Marriott Druids Glen, The Clarence in Dublin, and The G) - they have style, service, and at least during the off season - a great rate.

First off, and this is fairly important, The G is easy to find. It's easily accessible off the Dublin Road just south of the Ffrench Roundabout. As has been mentioned in earlier reviews, it's location is NOT in the city centre or Salthill - but those are easily reached by relatively inexpensive cab service, a lengthy walk (about 30 minutes to the city centre), or a quick drive in your own car. Having spent an evening in the city center - that may well be an advantage.

Regardless of location, The G is an incredible hotel. It is quite modern / avante garde in appearance - featuring very clean lines in the interior with bold, colorful accents throughout. We found the service to be as gracious as any we've experienced in all but the absolutely finest hotels in the world. The front desk staff, concierge, and housekeeping called us by name throughout our visit - and were quite attentive to both our formal requests and our unspoken needs & wants. Our visit took place in mid-March - the low season for tourism in Ireland. This played out well for us, as the hotel had upgraded our reservation to a luxury suite (for a deluxe rate) - - the luxury suites are very spacious, beautifully appointed, creatively lit, and the sort of room you look forward to returning to at the end of a tiring day of sightseeing and partying. The bathroom was the size of a small family room, lined entirely in marble with heating elements on the wall and, apparently, in the large mirror over the sinks. The shower was a double "rain soaker" type shower with excellent water pressure, and the towels and bed linens were of the highest quality.

There was excellent entertainment in the main lounge (of three - all in a row on the main floor) each night of our stay, and the wait staff were very attentive to our needs as we sat, listened to the band, sipped the excellent drinks from the bar, and chatted the night away. As mentioned in earlier reviews, the drinks are a bit pricey, but excellent.

We had dinner at The G one night - our anniversary night. It was the best meal we had during our stay in Ireland. Unfortunately, that isn't high praise. We had read about a culinary revolution in Ireland over the past decade. I don't doubt this is occuring - we simply missed the restaurants who are participating in it during our relatively short (1 week) stay. The meal at The G was very good - but a step or two below outstanding. My wife had salmon, which was prepared very well, and I decided to try their dry aged strip steak. As usual in Ireland, in order to get a steak prepared "medium rare" by U.S. (or just about anyone else's) standards, you have to order "rare". Even ordering "rare" and having this discussion with the waiter about wanting a steak which was red in the center - not pink, it arrived at what I'd call "medium-well" doneness (barely pink on the inside). This seems to be a country-wide condition - wanting to overcook beef (by at least two levels of doneness).

The concierge service was wonderful, yet not intrusive. They very much helped us structure our days activities - giving us not only recommended itineraries, but - on hearing we are itinerary phobic - a menu of quirky short routes in the areas we'd be exploring (our favorite - the trip to, around, and back from The Burren). As well, they saw to it that our laundry was picked up from a local launderette where we'd earlier in the day dumped our entire load of dirty laundry (I'd been here on business the prior week), once they learned we'd not be back to Galway in time to pick the laundry up before the laundrette closed. Just one of many examples of GREAT service we received at this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Dave_in_Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

First of all, the location of the hotel and the views are very poor - the hotel seems to be part of a retail park! There is a noisy dual carriageway just outside the front door of the hotel and the City Centre and Salthill areas are a quite a walk away.

Staff were generally friendly; however, we had a very unpleasant experience in the bar/lounge area where one of the staff members was very rude and unfriendly.

Would definitely not recommend this hotel!

Stayed: March 2008
7  Thank garyb2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

Loved this place. For those seeking something different, ultra modern. Yes you could complain about location, views and maybe a bit more to do in the hotel.

However if your looking for a great place to stay as a base to explore Galway, this is it.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Glenaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

Arrived on the Friday evening to a fantastic welcome from a lovely Spanish girl on reception who showed us around the hotel and our room. All very promising and beautiful inside. Straight down to the bar for a few drinks (cocktails are pricey but v good). The lounge had waiter service but it took 1/2 hour to get our first drinks. In the end we were so frustrated we picked them up ourselves from the bar counter to growls from the lounge manager. I explained this was completely unacceptable service and he left in a mood without an apology. Dinner in restaurant on both evenings was average. This is the least impressive room in the hotel and rather dour with poor lighting. When I asked the waiter why the tempeura and rocket salad had no rocket, I was told there was a mistake on the menu. I was then told they do not accept American Express in the restaurant. When I questioned this at reception they refunded my visa and then charged my AmEx. Breakfast was also hard work - we had to ask 4 times for our coffee. All little things (there were others) but added to a feeling they were not customer focused. Style over substance? Location is surprising and you can see why they had to make the inside stunning to attract customers. The hotel is situated in a retail park with a busy road in the front and the car park in the back (avoid rooms over the car park), with a 30 minute walk into the city centre.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank frenchfancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

We stayed at the G for one night and I wish we could have stayed there much longer.

It is without doubt one of the best hotels in the country. Everything from the quality of the furnishings and decor to the staff are excellent.

We received a complimentry upgrade on arrival which was a nice touch. The room was fabulous and the bathroom, including his/hers showers, was first class.

Dinner in the restaurant was beautifully presented and delicious and breakfast the following morning was equally good.

I can not say enough about the high quality of this hotel and especially the staff, who make you feel like your the only guest in the building.

Overall I highly recommend this hotel for a romantic break or just for some time to spoil yourself. Yes it is expensive and is situated beside a busy road, but dont let this put you off. You get what you pay for anf wont be disappointed by the G.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Knappogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,203 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,823 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $193 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing