We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Style and luxury”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

i stayed here in the middle of October for two nights, it was amazing. When we arrived we were met by a friendly, helpful manager, Triona i think it was, she really looked after us during our stay. the staff were the same friendly and helpful, our bags were brought to the room, while we headed to the bar to chose from the extensive list of cocktails. they really hit the spot, and reasonably priced too. the room we got was exceptional, pure luxury. It had a large couch, a massive bed, and free standing bath in the bathroom, what more do you need! We had dinner there both nights, the atmosphere was great on both and the food excellent. it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay, i will definitely be returning over the Christmas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tot27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,522
    571
    332
    133
    74
See reviews for
269
1,555
35
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'd dreamt for years what it would be like to stay in the "G", I'd lived in Galway for 5 years and often gone in for a cocktail or 2. I'm just home after spending a weekend there and it was amazing, down to every detail! We went to the thermal suite for an hour, which we got included in our package, the experience was so relaxing, describing it wouldn't do it justice!
We drank in the bar and ate in the restaurant, the staff were amazing and couldn't do enough to make our stay more relaxing.
So it would be fair to say all my dreams came true.
Thanks to all the staff in the G hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Have to say I wasn't blown away by the g hotel like I thought I would be. The downstairs rooms are lovely and girly so it's good fun for a girls weekend but the location is bad, for a hotel that is praised so much you would expect a much nicer and more convenient location. The food was lovely and the staff were very nice but it is definitely not worth the money for the pricey rooms. Unfortunately I would not return due to location and price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here one sunday night and found the hotel really nice. Some aspects i was not overly taken with, mainly the location. The exterior looks like an office block or rear of a shopping centre. When you park you are using a public car park adjacent to a cinema and fast food joint. The hotel is accessible from the carpark and check in was very quick. Staff were nice on arrival. The lobby is impressive and very trendy. When we headed to the room the corridor is quiet dark and badly lit. I know its mood lighting but can be quiet dram. Room is lovely, view is not great again.. out onto main road. Had a lovely afternoon treat when i had a cup cake delivered to the room. Very nice and the door bell is a very nice touch!
The bath was to die for. Lovely to enjoy and relax in.Breakfast was nice and room service was very efficient.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creamybeamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a really different place to stay. The decor and ambience is outstanding, lots of lovely finishing touches. Location absolutely fine, easy walk into Galway. The main lounge with the huge picture window is stunning. However the service is extraordinary, not the false, learned US type of customer service, but genuine warmth. Best porridge I've had anywhere, fabulous bar snacks too. The approach of the hotel is relaxed and we liked that very much. Rooms are lovely, spacious and very clean, loads of fabulously stylish finishing touches - you can spot the Philip Treacy influence everywhere and that makes this a unique, fun hotel. The 'g' cupcakes waiting in the room, complimentary newspapers outside the door, turn down service all make it a special overnight stay. Look out for the dogs! This is such a humorous touch and really endearing! Would not contemplate staying anywhere else in Galway, we had to meet friends at another very nice 4 star hotel in Galway, but it seemed bland and out of the way compared to the 'g'. In fact this hotel is one of the reasons we will come back to Galway. The only downside of our stay was that we didn't have time to visit the spa and pool, it looks amazing. Well done.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartee263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great hotel, very helpful staff and even better service. The facilities are very good. Food is top notch with probably the biggest irish breakfast I've every laid eyes on. I'd stay here on each visit to Galway in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briancurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballinamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed in this Hotel in early October 2012 for 2 nights. Was expecting great things but left very disapointed. Stayed in room 258 and first thing i notice was the carpet dirty, near a bedside locker. Do not disturb button also not functioning. TV picture really bad quality and no mini bar in the room. Complentry buns in room were nice but room service took my wifes before she got to have it. Went to bar on the Friday eve and order a Mojito. They had none ! No Mojito on a Friday eve in a 5 Star Hotel. Went into dine in the restaurant and got menus. We were told what the specials were. When the girl came back to take our orders all the specials were gone. We also had a twenty minute for our wine. We had to ask for a second time. If you are going to Galway think before you book. When i return it will be to the Radisson. No comparison. This is my first ever post on tripadvisor but i was so annoyed with my stay i decided i had to comment.

Room Tip: Back of hotel should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnGavinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,664 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,709 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,823 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Property: the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Galway
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#9 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#13 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the west of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000 sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing