We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed in the G the night before my wedding. Could not have made a better choice. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, especially considering all the additional requests we made of them. Upon arrival we were greeted very warmly and our bags were delivered to our room for us. Valet parking is available for an additional charge. Though the lounge and restaurant and hallways are very brightly decorated, the bedroom was decorated in simple muted colours giving a very relaxing feel to the room. They arebright and spacious, thought the rooms at the back of the hotel overlook a shopping carpark. The front rooms while overlooking Lough Atlaia, also overlook a busy road. Noise is not an issue however. Cupcakes were waiting for us (I understand this is standard). Bathroom was clean with plenty of towels and toiletries and nice robes. Bed was very comfortable with good quality bed linen. Breakfast was a fancy affair as is to be expected in this sort of boutique hotel. Service in breakfast room was slighty slow but they seemed busy with a group arrival. All in all it was a very nice stay and ideal for a romantic or girly night away.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have slightly better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFB0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,830 - 1,836 of 2,806 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

I cannot thank the G enought for all of their care and hospitality. We stayed at the hotel the night before my firends wedding, the bride got ready at the hotel. We made good use of their help on several occasions and nothing was too much trouble. We were very well looked aftered.
Our room was lovely and airy (few stains on the carpet but anyone knows cream carpet will suffer) the bathroom was lovely, amazingly powerful shower. The decor of the hotel was fab, i remember visiting when newly open and could not see it had detoriated too much, more worn of course!
we had breakfast (lovely freshly cooked omelette) i did not have much to eat but of what i did it was lovely. I would also like to extend thanks for the help with our large volume of bags, assisted my mum to taxi and helped her pack them all in, all very much appreciated!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetlouise1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I can appreciate that this hotel is not set on 50 lush acres with magnificent views, but 10 minutes walk from Galway city. I think its unfair to state that its situated in an industrial estate or industrial area, as it's really not. This is a 5 star hotel on the inside, and once you step through the doors, you cannot hear a whisper from the main road it is on (triple glazing?). In addition, the hotel is so amazing on the inside you will not care that there is a Eddie Rockets at the rear (maybe you will be quite happy with an Eddie Rockets nearby!). Spend as much time in the hotel as you can because its so relaxing, warm and soothing. The bar menu is very reasonable (€13 - €14 for fish & chip and a beef strogonoff ) and breakfast is amazing. A choice of the usual buffet or a meal off the breakfast menu is available. My tip is to forget the buffet, not because it's not worth it, but because there are some real gems on the menu, especially the eggs Benedict.
I could see nothing tired or dirty in the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to pop for a suite - its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestmeathPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed in Oct 2012' Rooms , Service staff....Excellent .. Hotel itself is beautiful, Did'nt use the Espa.. so ca'nt review.

The downfall was the food.. got a platter for two early in the afternoon, not much in the platter, all fish had Bones (lots of bones) the Dips were not crushed, olives were hole as menu said ,Dips, your ment to be able to dip food.... the cheese was everyday cheese you buy anywhere..

The Restauraunt: we ate there in the evening a-la-carte, first its a set menu(set price) what is with Supplement prices, on starters and Mains, i mean just put a price on the item for god sake, especially in a 5star, just another way of Fleeceing the public (Irish eh! O! i'm Irish by the way)
Have ate in other 5star Restauraunts and not seen supplements prices as it's pricey as is, lets face going there is for a treat afterall.
Then the food came out, Starter, Cold ment to be warm Duck! and i know small is more, anyway but was banking on the main beening plentyfull , wrong! got the Monkfish' Beautifuly cooked' but less is more i guess. Ya you guessed it we ended up ordering room service later in bed' Hungry'
The deserts were nice tho!
Cocktails were good tho, must admit did enjoy.......

Room Tip: Ask for Lake view room, otherwise end up looking at shopping centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was looking forward so much to staying at the 'best hotel in Ireland' following do much hype from the website and rave reviews from friends. Now don't get me wrong, the G is a nice hotel. It's just not 5 star nice, by a long shot. The decor which must have looked splendid in its hey day now looks tired, is dirty and smells old and unrefreshed. Sofas are saggy and uncared for, wood furnishings chipped and scraped, and you just get the feeling that the would-be spectacular interior just needs refurbishing all around.

Dinner at the hotel restaurant was also disappointing. Bland and in exciting food in a colourful environment which too could do with a good clean.

The junior suite we stayed in was quite small with an unimpressive view of the rooftops of nearby buildings. The sofa again was stained and unappealing. However the gas fire in the room as a lovely and welcome feature on a cold evening.

The spa, which looked like the epitome of luxury, was small and not all it looked to be on the website. The ceiling decorations were relaxing to gaze up at, but the heated loungers were not all working and there were only 6 available for a relatively busy spa for its size.

The service however was outstanding and made up for the lack lustre decor and condition of the hotel.

Overall, we did have a pleasant stay at the G. It just wasn't what we expected from a 5 star hotel with an immaculately presented website and so we left feeling let down.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed in the G a few weeks ago and it was just amazing, the hotel was beautiful, The room was fabulous so spacious and bright, and the staff were so friendly, they just couldnt do enough for you, the food was stunning and the amount of food was plentiful and so tasty.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazoct1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Amazing decor, fantastic hotel but unfortunately the food is major let down .breakfast hot buffet was cold , u can order full Irish so don't really c d point of hot buffet ? .had lounge menu club sandwich chicken was burnt .such a pity because we would of eaten here instead of trecking into town didn want to leave but food not great .went across to huntsman lovely food & lovely hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilliank54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.4 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,806 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#3 of 46 in Galway
2,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,526 reviews
3 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the g Hotel & Spa Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the g Hotel & Spa Galway

Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#5 Spa Hotel in Galway
#6 Business Hotel in Galway
#10 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $171 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — the g Hotel & Spa Galway 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star g Hotel & Spa is perfectly situated to discover Galway City and the West of Ireland. Designed by renowned milliner, Philip Treacy, the g Hotel offers 101 spacious bedrooms and suites, a luxury 20,000sqm spa 'ESPA at the g', dramatic Signature Lounges ideal for casual dining and Afternoon Tea as well as delectable dining options in the 2 AA culinary rosette Restaurant gigi's. The g Hotel & Spa also features state of the art conference facilities for up to 300 delegates and hosts stylish weddings for up to 180 guests. Exclusive 5-star hotel & spa - Located in Galway City centre - Design by milliner Philip Treacy - 101 light-filled bedrooms - Five-star service - Luxury spa designed by ESPA - Cocktail bar & Signature Lounges - Award winning restaurant - Conferences for 300 delegates - Stylish Wedding Venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your the g Hotel & Spa Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Galway
Galway g Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing