We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to see the different environs of Ireland”

Connemara National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.38*
and up
Connemara National Park Nature Trails Self-Guided Day Tour including Lunch
More Info
$71.13*
and up
Explore Connemara National Park: Self-Guided Day Tour from Galway including...
More Info
$29.64*
and up
Connemara National Park and Kylemore Abbey Day Trip from Galway
Ranked #2 of 136 things to do in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great to see the different environs of Ireland”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

It gives you the context of how different soils effects the animals and how people lived. The circle forts and historical sites are good to see how it all started.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lreid46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,116
    627
    84
    18
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moses Lake
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“horse cart ride”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I found this a worth while adventure. Not only did I get to see the Abby and have time to visit other attractions at the park I got some of my best photos of Ireland here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful adventurous day of scenery”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

. We spent a half day hiking the trails at the 13,000 acre Connemara National Park, reaching the peak of Diamond Hill, named for the glittering quartz in the rock, with its incredible views of Galway Bay. Nearby was the Kylemore Abbey and Gardens, another manor house set alongside a lake which became an abbey when the owners died in the 1800s. Benedictine nuns from Belgium inherited the property and ran an international boarding school until the 1980s. They still own and operate a kitchen, selling preserves and chocolates, and run retreats there. We did all 3 of the path trails, easy, medium, then red trail is harder, with some tough stoney pathways, climbingup to the peak. Glad we did it. the Views from all the way going up are special.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank edwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

On our way to Kylemore Abbey we passed Connemara National Park and so we took a pit stop to see what it was all about.

I was pleasantly surprised. The visitors centre is just lovely, a nice setup. There is a exhibition on the park, with one section describing bogs and turf making. There is also a Tea Room, a picnic area and a playground.

There are three walks from the visitors centre up the nearest hill, Diamond Hill. All at different degrees of distance and difficulty. We decided on the quick walk as we didn't have a lot of time.

Definetly worth a look if you are in the area

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Barren Countryside.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just drove through, but it's beautiful, barren and rocky. We came from Galway and as we went through populated areas became scarcer and scarcer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Connemara National Park also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Connemara National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing