We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gud Craic”
Review of Quay Street

Quay Street
Ranked #3 of 136 things to do in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gud Craic”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Love the buzz in Quay Street, nice pubs, usually street performers and at night time it's good fun! And the colours in that street are amazing :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank IrisWildeboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,086
    538
    59
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Craic & Trad!!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

People were so welcoming!! The Quay--"Spanish Arch" (on the left side) they have an elevated "music performance stage" that the traditional/current musicians perform--what a great use of space!
Hotel Meyrick
Eyre Square
Galway, Co. Galway, Ireland
1. Head southwest on Eyre Square toward An Fhaiche Mhor
77 m
2. Turn left onto Victoria Place
84 m
3. Continue onto Queen Street
190 m
4. Continue onto R336
500 m
5. Turn right onto Quay Street
Partial restricted usage road
35 m

Spanish Arch
Quay St, Galway City Centre
Galway, Co. Galway, Ireland

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoLagEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“AMAZING FOOD”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

just back from out wonderful two week break in in Ireland, and my, was it wonderful! The people were amazing, the scenery was beautiful, and the food was delicious! I have to say though Galway was my favourite Irish place to be. In particular, Quay street. The architecture really made me feel what Ireland was all about, in particular, the natural west coast of Ireland. But the quality of the restaurant and bars here were what truly stood out. I have never seen such "craic" and friendliness and tasted such divine food. It truly is a hidden pocket of Ireland. The Quays bar, was superb at night time, talking to locals, of all ages, with great music and lots of dancing!!!! The Quay Street Kitchen down from it was, i can't find words to describe it!! i have always wanted to own my own restaurant and this is what i want!!The menu was full of amazing food (we went there quiet a bit so i ate a lot of it!!!) and the staff were so charming. But not just these two, everywhere on this street, this city and Ireland, was amazing, and one thing is for sure, we will be back!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Restaurants”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

There are some lovely restaurants on this street. I would highly recommend Martines. Food is of excellent quality and the prices are very reasonable. Staff are very friendly and the owner is a very nice woman. Defo worth a visit if you are looking for a nice evening meal. Only open in the evening time. The spanish arch bar across fom Martines is excellent for lunch and very reasonable also.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TrionaD1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Pearly Whites - Best band ever!!!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Heard this band for the first time last Saturday night in The Quays Galway, they were brilliant. It has been a long time since I've seen a band that actually loved what they were doing, they were musically brilliant and visually highly entertaining and uplifting. In this current economic and crap weather climate, go see the Pearly Whites, better than any tonic on this Planet

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quay Street also viewed

 

Been to Quay Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing