We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #50 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
205 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Good B&B within walking distance to the beach. Comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. Travelling as 2 couples sharing a family room; the room provided was great for this. Were able to easily walk to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    28
    14
    7
    11
See reviews for
25
48
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at this B & B for one night, having booked it on line. The website we booked it through suggested a family apartment, so we went for it. We had not stayed in an Irish B & B for more than 10 years and this place was every good reason why it will be at least as long again.
A warm welcome was non existent, a very busy lady got our name showed us as far as the door and rushed off about her business. It was an average sized bedroom with 2 single beds and a double bed crushed into a corner (under the television, which was not secured on a sloping holder) which exceeded the size available to it and the headboard jutted out which left approx a 20 inch path to the bathroom.
I would have thought that the 10 year gap since last in a B & B would have eliminated those horribly scented pink bars of soap with "welcome" on them but no, they are still out there. The bathroom would have been modern in 80's but apart from the hamfisted DIY attempts at silicone sealing had not been upgraded since.
There was also no sink plug, so having was an issue. There was plenty of hot water though.
One of the window catches was broken and would not close properly. If you are a light sleeper do not pick the front of this B & B as the trafffic noise goes on late and starts early.
Breakfast was adequate and hot, poached eggs were excellent, but fried eggs over cooked.
Given the value now available from hotels and the relative cost of this and similar
B & B's, there is no contest. There was nothing extra from "welcome" to exit that would encourage us to book here again.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellorIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2009

I was well warned by previous reviewers that the landlady might be difficult but I am still gob smacked a month later.
Firstly I didnt actually stay at the hotel so read no further if thats what you want to know.
I found a reasonable rates on june bank holiday for rooms for our party of 16, we needed 5 rooms one of which would be for a party of 5 - so i checked directly with landlady.
No problem - book direct on my website she said. I have a big familly room - Great I said
Problem - her website rates were 15% higher - an extra €500 for the party overall
(ring ring) No problem I'll send you an email
wait; wait; wait; , (ring again) - sorry very busy - wait; wait; wait;
2 1/2 weeks later - hooray email
thanks for your enquiry, here are my best prices.
She only went and raised her prices on all the websites including her own , now looking for an extra €600 for the group.
HUH???? Is this woman completely [--] nuts!!!!!
Found a different hotel.
Verdict - book the first and best rate you find and be warned, she might not honour the price and she might lose your boking if the other reviews are anything to go by - on your own head be it - you have been warned....... (again)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank Ostman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

Both myself and my husband stayed for one night at this over priced B&b. The landlady is sooooooo rude she did not even greet us and seemed unsure if she even had a booking for us. She placed us in a back twin room which needed to be re-modernised with a small packet of shower gel and a bar of soap which reminded me of something from the 80's.

Her dog barked away in the back garden we passed her outside to go out for the evening without a greet.

Would we return........never

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bridthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

This place is an average enough B& B but the landlady is a complete nightmare - avoid at all costs

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Easygoing064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

After doing some research this B&B looked like one of the nicest ones we could find. The address was in Salthill, the beach area of Galway. However, you need to realize that Rusheen Bay is an inlet of the large Galway Bay and is located just north of Salthill. To get to the heart of Salthill you need to drive. I'd recommend a B&B on Upper or Lower Salthill Road or on the Seapoint Promenade near the Tourist Bureau.

Although we did get the Rusheen Bay view room we requested, the services and quality of the B&B were disappointing. The hostess was pleasant, but we seemed 'processed' rather than 'welcomed.'

Our room was decent size and there was plenty of hot water. However, it would have been nice for the B&B to let us know the water in that part of Galway was contaminated and under a 'boil water' order from the city. The B&B did provide bottled water to brush our teeth with and to drink, but knowing this bit of information ahead of time would have been nice, especially since they've known about the situation for a few months.

Probably most disturbing was that fact that upon entering the B&B we felt like a could of cigarette smoke engulfed us. Although the host that welcomed us was smoking in their private quarters it spread throughout the B&B. To make it worse, our room was over their private quarters and the smoke continued to permeate through the floor and into our room. When we went into Salthill that evening, we attempted to find another B&B for our stay, but since it was summer time the other B&B's were booked. We ended up staying for 2 nights at this B&B, but would not return, nor would we recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Nice web site
  • Disliked — Cigarette smoke
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

I have just returned from a trip around the west coast of Ireland. It is a wonderful place to visit, and we stayed with several quality establishments.

Rusheen Bay House is definitely not one of them.

Although the B&B was clean, this was the only thing really going for it. The location is next to a main road. The shower head in our room was broken. There was next to no hot water. And the breakfast was very average.

On top of this, the owner of the B&B was not at all friendly or accommodating.

I would not recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a nice relaxed stay in Galway. There are _loads_ of other B&B's in the area. Any one of them surely cannot be worse than Rusheen Bay House.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phlipside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
#43 of 185 in Galway
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seashore Lodge
Seashore Lodge
#59 of 185 in Galway
75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Balcony House Bed & Breakfast
7.6 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
829 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salthill B&B
Salthill B&B
#27 of 185 in Galway
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Rusheen Bay House 8 Cashelmara | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing