We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B in Galway by far!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petra House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petra House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B in Galway by far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

We stayed with Joan and Frank for my husbands 50th birthday and if you are going to Galway you couldn't stay anywhere better, and if you are thinking of staying anywhere else you would have to be crazy. Frank and Joan were exceptional hosts, the breakfast was outstanding (especially the scones, peanut butter sandwiches). Thank you for a lovely stay and looking forward to seeing you again next year!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chelha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    47
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
98
407
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

Seriously, Joan's scones are fantastic! The rest of the breakfast was excellent too. We stayed here two nights, with a trip to the Aran Islands in between. They even stored our bags while we went to the Islands. Frank was extremely helpful with giving us directions to restaurants, an evening craic, shops, and to the ferry. Good location and lovely rooms.

To all you Canadians out there, there is even a Tim Horton's in Galway (at the SPAR on Mainguard St.,its self-serve, but still pretty fun)!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diggcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

Nice room with excellent bed. Quiet oasis but close enough to walk Galway. Our caring hosts, Frank and Joan, are what separate this B&B experience from any other we have had. Best oatmeal we have ever had and if you are lucky enough to ever stay here ask Frank if he ever wrote his song "Joan's Scones".

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

I can't say enough good things about this B&B. It definitely lives up to all the good reviews on here.

It was close to the city center (an easy 5-10 min walk), the proprietor Frank was delightful and the breakfasts were the best we had in Ireland.

Rooms were a little small, but very clean. The bathrooms appear to be newly renovated. They were immaculate - Cleanest bathrooms of our entire trip.

We stayed here two nights and were sad to leave. The hosts were so welcoming, the room so comfortable and the breakfasts... ohh the breakfasts.....

I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else on future trips to Galway.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marisaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

Frank and Joan run a top notch establishment in Galway. The breakfast is superb and the service is excellent. We were lost after a long drive and called Frank. He insisted that he would meet us at our location and guide us to the Petra house. It does not get any better than that.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

Our bedroom was clean and comfortable. The innkeepers were pleasant and friendly. We arrived late, but were still greeted with a smile. The breakfast was fantastic. The B&B is only a short (5-10min) walk to all things in "downtown" Galway. There were many B&B's nearby, but Petra Hosue was one of the only with no vacancies. Great local restaurants included Martine's winebar and KC Blakes (both on Quay St).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RIvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

My mom and I spent ten days in Ireland last month and are still talking about how much we loved Petra House. Frank and Joan were the best hosts--so kind and gracious--and their house is just lovely. The location is great, just minutes from the heart of Galway. Frank gave us great recommendations on places to go in town, as well as touring the surrounding areas. And if my mom half the cook Joan is...well, I won't even go there. (I love you, mom!) Her breakfasts were to die for! I am still dreaming about her fruit salad...

I would highly recommend Petra House to anyone visiting Galway! I can't wait to go back and visit again.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishkaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
2.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Petra House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Petra 29 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free high-speed internet; free breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Petra House Hotel Galway
Petra House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing