We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petra House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hosts Joan & Frank Maher are super helpful with tips on what is going on in town and where to go. Their beds are super comfortable (having a bad back this is a very pleasant find), the room airy and open, tea and coffee in room as well as a private bathroom. Super clean and very nice linens and towels. Best of all was their breakfast, everything from the full Irish Breakfast (too much food for us) to my breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt, and granola. Fresh bread, white and farm with jam. Joan's scones were fabulous and she gives out the recipe. YUM! Highly recommended. If you are a greyhound racing fan the track is close enough to walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Petra House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 698 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

...that describes how lucky we were. First, we have no idea where in town Petra house is, and then we drive right by it. And within 30 minutes we find ourselves in the thick of the main shopping and dining area, an eight minute walk.
And the next morning, we had the best best of breakfasts, plentiful and made with the best ingredients (eg, wild salmon). And though i eat irish oatmeal every morning at home, ironically it has not appeared on any B&B breakfast menu...until now. And our gracious, soft-spoken host Frank, suggested we try it with Bailey's, a sinful, but delicious touch.
The house was charmingly appointed and the rooms, bright and comfortable. Highly, highly recommended. Thanks Frank!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syncomm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Frank was very helpful and friendly and the accommodations, food and setting were just perfect. The house was very clean and comfortable. The Wi-Fi connection was great and I enjoyed the sitting room, the gardens, and everything at Petra House B&B. I highly recommend this B&B for anyone. It’s in a quiet area of Galway but just a few minutes (about 10) to the main action in Galway.

There’s so much to do and see in the area and the Petra House is perfectly located.

There is a laundry/cleaners close by that washed my clothes and delivered them nice and clean and folded to my room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di_laffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Not the best B&B in Galway for nothing. Located about 10 mins from city center, it's easily accessible.

Rooms are nice and comfy.

Service is amongst the greatest we had during our Irish trip. Frank was so nice to us when we got there. We only met Joan upon our departure but not only is she nice and lovely but also cook the best breakfasts.

The food was fresh, tasty and a good start for the day.

I strongly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Galway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickmoisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Comfortable B & B close to the city center.
Very nice house, nicely decorated, clean and equipped with every comfort.
The owners are very nice and helpful.
Good and plentiful breakfast.
highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The best place to stay in Galway. I made reservations based on the rating on tripadvisor.....It was even better than reported....don't even think of staying anywhere else. Everything is. PERFect... I recommended this for my picking friends who stayed the next weekend....they said it was also their favorite place of their Ireland trip!,,,,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lgmullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I'm thankful that the TripAdvisor community recommended this wonderful B&B...the reviews are true! The house is beautiful and extremely clean, the breakfast was delicious (yummy scones and delicious fresh fruit salad) and Frank and Joan were very friendly and hospitable. Our room was very nice and the off-street parking was great. If you don't mind the 15/20 minute walk to downtown, this is the place for you! If you want to be where all of the action is (but without the personal touches provided at Petra House), stay at the Jury's Inn - it's right in the middle of everything. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Petra House!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,818 reviews
2.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Petra 29 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free high-speed internet; free breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Petra House Hotel Galway
Petra House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing