We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very nice typical Irish hotel with lovely decoration and attention to detail. The location is great. Friendly service but the rooms need more attention. Our shower did not work and we had to take a bath. The faucet did to work very well and needs maintenance. The TV is a little bit old but no major issue. The food quality during dinner was OK but not wow. Breakfast service and food was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matito777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,806
    604
    161
    51
    21
See reviews for
556
1,299
81
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, MI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We thought mid-week in September would mean no troubles finding accommodations in a city as large as Galway. Our mistake, but fortunately, after several futile attempts, Sam found us the last two rooms at the Park House Hotel. And, what rooms they were - large, well furnished, comfortable beds, and a great bathroom. As good as the room was, the breakfast was even better. We had many good ones on our trip around Ireland, but the Park House breakfast was the best. Sam also recommended Kierwin's for our evening meal. A terrific place to eat, but be sure to make reservations. The walk through Old Town to get there was delightful. Sam and the Park House Hotel - a stroke of luck for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djspeirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I rarely ever write a review of a hotel but this made an exception for all the wrong reasons.Found this hotel to be old fashioned and stuck in a time warp to be honest.The televisions were like from a bad 1950's era,also the food was just ok,service slow but fake friendly,also if you are between the age of 20-50 this hotel is not for you.The only thing decent from this hotel is its location.I have been to many hotels and this was extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adventure828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the Park Restaurant this evening and it was a wonderful surprise. We are not having much luck finding a restaurant near our hotel so we walk to Eyer's Square there we saw the menu for the Park Restaurant. They were able to seat us immediately. Service was great and the food even better. We had the Dover Sole special and loved every bite.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good service taken to a wonderfully higher level at the PHH -- it is all about genuine personal hospitality. Every person on staff was gracious and went all the way to make our stay totally pleasant and even extraordinary. Room was as pictured, large, quiet, up to date and comfortable. Dining was as various reviews led us to expect, very good. Location is perfect for walking, train station, bus tours.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mp s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint louis, missouri, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Got into town during rush hour; between traffic and being exhausted from the flight, it did take me one extra lap around the block to realize where parking was. Once there, though, no problem at all. The valet, front desk, breakfast room server and manager--all so very nice, did whatever they could to make our visit enjoyable. Hotel location is a block from Eyre Square and the bus depot--good if you plan a day trip using one of the tour buses--the tour office is just a couple storefronts over. Shopping on High Street/Shop Street a short walk away; many pubs and restaurants there, and more even closer to the hotel. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with window opening on a small courtyard with beautiful flowers. Breakfast was very good--got the Full Irish both days, but there was cereal, juices, pastries, porridge/oatmeal, and other options as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lasirene71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Galway. The hotel itself is very comfortable, and exudes an old world charm and warmth. We had two rooms, and both were large and quiet, with comfortable beds. Public areas in the lobby have numerous couches and comfortable chairs for relaxing. The public bar is well appointed, and there is a residents' only bar available after the main bar closes. The restaurant is comfortable and well appointed as well, and breakfast is a combination of table service and buffet. Service overall was very attentive.

The Park House is located just off of Eyre Square, and an easy walk to the primary dining and shopping areas of Galway. The TI office is about a block away, and always worth a visit. The walk to Salthill is about 2 miles along a well defined path. The hotel has valet parking for no additional change, and getting a car in and out was very quick and easy. Be aware that the parking entrance is on the side of the building, across from the train/bus station, and is easy to miss the first time.

The Meyrick (Great Southern), located down the block from the Park House, is often referenced as the best hotel in Galway, but it comes across as somewhat worn and cold, compared with the Park House. I would stay at the Park House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCTraveller-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,867 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Property: Park House Hotel
Address: Park House Hotel 18 Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#1 Business Hotel in Galway
#2 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Hotel, Galway is conveniently located in the heart of Galway's city centre, with private secure car-parking on the grounds of the hotel. The hotel blends the warmth and personality of a boutique hotel with the style and luxury of a contemporary 4 Star international hotel. Guest accommodation comprises of 84 rooms divided into superior & deluxe rooms, suites and serviced apartments. The award-winning Park Restaurant is a favourite with locals and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing