We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the Park House hotel for one night. It is a very nice hotel with a wonderful staff. We had a family room that slept two adults and two teenagers very comfortably. Our room was very quiet but there was a bad sewer smell coming from the drains in the bathroom. The bathroom was clean so we think is was just old plumbing and kept the bathroom door closed. I rated this hotel low on cleanliness and the room because of the sewer smell. It was pretty expensive but it was nice that we all were able to fit in one room; rare for Europe.

We used this hotel as a stopping point to visit the Cliffs of Moher and County Connemara. We also spent a few hours shopping in Galway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutForTheJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,876
    630
    167
    53
    21
See reviews for
589
1,351
81
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Park House Hotel. We had a very large room for our family, and it included a small side room with a table and chairs where we could sit together. Breakfast at the Park House was delicious, with a cooked to order choices along with beautiful pastries to choose from. After trying a couple of different Galway restaurants for dinner, we had our final dinner at the hotel. It was very good and the best one we had in Galway. The Park House is around the corner from the Tourist Office and the bus terminal, which was convenient for doing day tours (the Burren Walking Tour is highly recommended).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage AK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel for 1 night and it was just what we were looking for. It was nice and clean, quiet and close to the main walking street of Galway. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJKAnchorageAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We loved this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights in a twin room. Actually there was a double bed and a single bed. The room was very comfortable. The bathroom was very nice. Everything was quite clean. Service and location were great. We had breakfast included and enjoyed it very much. We ended up eating and drinking there quite often during our stay because the food and drinks were quite good and reasonably priced. The hotel is very close to the train, bus and touring coach stations. We did not have a car and managed just fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

So you come into this place that seems not to know whether it's a hotel or a schoolhouse with rooms all over, decor ranging from ancient chinese and Egyptian to chichi modern. The staff are fantastic and that goes for everyone we dealt with.
Our room was this odd long thing with oppressively peach walls and orange bed throws. It overlooked the courtyard which was relatively quiet (though the walls were thin and I heard things I'd rather not repeat). I gather the rooms overlooking the street are noisier.
Nevertheless, we slept well.
Breakfast was amazing and service perfect. Everything we ate at the hotel was lovely.

Room Tip: Try for rooms away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruhu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This staff at this hotel were very kind and friendly, although the staff at the front desk did not appear to want to help as much as the breakfast staff.

We found the rooms to be spacious, clean and well laid out. The coffee and tea -making facilities, as well as free Wi-Fi were great additions as well as the free parking.

The greatest attributes of this hotel were its location in easy walking distance from all amenities and the fact that is was so quiet. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We just asked for a quiet room and got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree5821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We recently stayed at Park House and I just could not believe the difference from other places we stayed. I checked in really early in the morning but I was able to leave my suitcases while I enjoyed the day in Galway. When we came back our bags had been taken to our room. The room was modern, and every detail was perfect. We also had dinner and breakfast in the hotel and the service is probably the best I have experienced anywhere. The dining room staff both times were absolutely outstanding. They kept checking to see if we needed anything and at breakfast they asked if they could bring us something from the buffet table to save us getting up, which incidentally was offered in addition to whatever cooked breakfast you chose from the menu. Awesome. Worth a drive to Galway if it was not on your itinerary... it's that good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinfo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,052 reviews
0.8 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Property: Park House Hotel
Address: Park House Hotel 18 Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#1 Business Hotel in Galway
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#2 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Hotel, Galway is conveniently located in the heart of Galway's city centre, with private secure car-parking on the grounds of the hotel. The hotel blends the warmth and personality of a boutique hotel with the style and luxury of a contemporary 4 Star international hotel. Guest accommodation comprises of 84 rooms divided into superior & deluxe rooms, suites and serviced apartments. The award-winning Park Restaurant is a favourite with locals and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing