We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its just okay!”
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco,ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Its just okay!”
Reviewed May 22, 2008

I stayed at Park House Hotel for three nights in May 2008 but I could have done just one night. Rooms are very small and front desk was idoits!! I asked how to get to Aran islands and they did not know and told me to come back later that day when a different person was working???? Breakfast was amazing and the service was execellant!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank tmo385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,902
    633
    169
    54
    24
See reviews for
598
1,367
81
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2008

This is by far one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The Radison ahd Sheraton could lean some lessons from this hotel.

Service was excellent both in the hotel and restaurant.
We were in Ireland for a family re-union and had been booked in to the most disgusting B&B. We left and walked down to the PARK HOUSE HOTEL, who did their best to accommodate us despite it being the May Bank Holiday weekend. They managed to get us two rooms. The rest of the families booked into the B&B were not so lucky.
The Park House Hotel lounge became the meeting place for the other families as there was no where to go in the B&B. Our suite became a haven for older members of the party who wanted to rest during the day or watch the football on the flat screen TV.

The Park Room restaurant accommodated four families for dinner with no problem and it was a first class meal. The Maitra D' and his staff made the meal enjoyable with their efficient and friendly service.

Every one in this hotel from the Porters, the maids , reception, bar staff, waitresses were helpful and service orientated in a friendly way.. I apologise if I have forgotten any one.
INTERNET was free (The other hotels we stayed in, in Dublin and London wanted 15 euros or 15 pounds.) Newspapers were delivered to you door every morning and evening and put in resuable bags hung on the door knob. (The Sheraton skyline did not provide this service and you were lucky if you got a paper as most of them were gone by time we went down for breakfast.)

If you go to Galway stay at this friendly , first class hotel and get a real Irish welcome.. It was by far the best hotel we have stayed in and the Owners and Staff deserve full marks for a well run Hotel which is within walking distance of everything. ( If you have a car it is no problem as the Porters take care of everything, parking etc. at no extra charge.)
Thank you for making our stay in Galway so enjoyable.

  • Liked — Freindly ,excellent service ,good food not over priced
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs, England
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Just back from a couple of days in Galway, and wanted to endorse the comments about this hotel. Great location just a minute from the bus/train station, and a few minutes walk into the main part of town.
Helpful reception staff, great selection for breakfast, rooms comfortable and the bar area is very relaxing and just normal pub prices.
Would recommend if you are looking for something special, and hope to return one day.
Keep it up!!

  • Liked — Very relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shirburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights for a quick weekend trip to Galway. We chose it for location but in all other respects we were pleasantly surprised.
The staff were always helpful and friendly, the hotel has a lovely homely atmosphere and nothing is too much trouble.
The room itself was pretty standard, very clean, had air con, tea making facilities, plenty storage. Lovely Molton Brown toiletries in the bathroom. Evening and morning newspapers delivered to your room. Free parking in multi storey car park next door and the hotel was just at the edge of Eyre Square and all the shops. The hotel bar and lounge area were nice places to sit and relax and watch the world go by.
Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice on the menu and staff were always pleasant and attentive. Yummy croissants at brekkie :-)
For anyone looking for a modern funky hotel, this won't fit the bill, but sometimes the old style hotels are better and in this case, definitely so!

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — No leisure centre
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Stayed two nights in March 08. Found this hotel to be the best of the trip. Staff was great, breakfast included in the rate of approximately 170 per night and free parking. Hotel is located near city center. Very nice room and amenities, restaurant and bar were good. All and all a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank strangerb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2008

The Park House exceeded our expectations in all respects. It's in the center of town, a half block from the railroad station and Eyre Square, and offers very spacious, well-appointed accomodations, along with attractive public areas. Our rate included breakfasts and one dinner, all of which were excellent. The heart of the old town and its trad music pubs are just five minutes walk away, and the meeting place for tour busses to the Burren, etc., even closer. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank xalbguy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

An absolutely amazing 2 nights stay in the Superior Room complete with king size bed, gigantic en suite, dvd player, the works!!
Absolutely fantastic hotel, amazing attention to detail right down to the mint on my pillow each night. Spectacular room service, staff very helpful and considerate especially with our heavy bags. Breakfast (which we had via room service each day) was amazing, and arrived piping hot.
Right next to Eyre Square so a great base for touring the city or for trips further afield.
I don't think I could possibly say anything bad about the place.
We LOVED it!!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SligoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,124 reviews
0.8 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.0 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Property: Park House Hotel
Address: Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galway
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#2 Family Hotel in Galway
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Hotel, Galway is conveniently located in the heart of Galway's city centre, with private secure car-parking on the grounds of the hotel. The hotel blends the warmth and personality of a boutique hotel with the style and luxury of a contemporary 4 Star international hotel. Guest accommodation comprises of 84 rooms divided into superior & deluxe rooms, suites and serviced apartments. The award-winning Park Restaurant is a favourite with locals and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing