We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another stop during "The (Ongoing) Gathering"”
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very nice hotel in an unbelievably convenient location with superb service... at the reception desk... the restaurant... the bar/lounge. I would not hesitate to (have my wife) book us there again for any return trip to Galway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrynt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,815)
There are newer reviews for Park House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,749 - 1,755 of 2,815 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nice hotel in a great location with very friendly staff. Stayed two nights on a B&B basis - great breakfast in the mornings. Not the biggest hotel room I've stayed in but good for a city centre hotel. Very small car park at the back of the hotel, but the staff were great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I always travel to Galway for a long weekend or a week every year around this time....have been for the last few years. We usually stay at the same hotel but this time thought we would try somewhere different based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and the fact that it's ranked number 1 hotel in Galway city. And the first thing that comes to mind after our stay is "Seriously????" and "I'm really surprised by the wonderful reviews posted below". When we arrived the porter came out to us (as the minature carpark was full) and said he would park the car for us. He went into Reception to check out our booking and came back out to say it was Room Only so we would have to park our car in the nearby multistory carpark (right beside the hotel) but that there would be a charge. Duely he moved the car there for us and left the keys at Reception for us. There was no mention on the hotels website about parking and ended up we had to pay a further EUR40 for the parking in the multi-storey carpark on top of the hotel cost!
With regards the 'friendly staff' the most friendly that we came across was the receptionist that checked us in - she was lovely. As for the rest it was quite disappointing - don't get me wrong I don't expect them to be falling all over me but a small smile to welcome us (or even acknowledge our existance) or check that we are ok when eating in the bar or having a few drinks would go a long way. There was a guy in a suit that walked around the bar (looked like a manager) and his face was as long as wet week....no courteous hello or anything! It was not a comfortable environment at all.
The room was ok - not to a massive high standard or anything and the bathroom was particularly basic. The power of the water from the shower was non-existant! There was a large dark waterstain on one of the bath towels that i went to use on the very first day! I didn't use it but left it out to be washed again!
The only positive for our stay was how close we were to Eyre Square! Oh and the bed was huge and very comfortable!!
All in all I was disappointed with our stay given the feedback this hotel has received on TripAdvisor. I wouldn't stay again! Next year I'll be going back to our previous hotel for sure!! Sorry folks!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SonnySouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a great couple of days. Staff were very friendly and the food in the restaurant was delicious... Rooms were ok but the service was excellent. Good location and would stay again.

Car parking service was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel and the Galway area so much that we changed our plans and stayed an extra night. The parking valets we fantastic and made our driving experience in Ireland stress free. Our room was nicely decorated we were able to control the heating/aircon and open both windows for fresh air. The breakfasts were extensive and we were able to both choose a variety of cold items from the buffet and a wide variety of cooked to order hot dishes with plenty of choice.
The most positive aspect of the hotel is the amazing service that we received from all staff without exception, they were a friendly team who worked well together and had a positive attitude to customers .
The Galway area is in easy reach of many pretty areas, we especially enjoyed touring Conamarra & The Burran.
Would recommend Park House Hotel and will use again when in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel many times for the simple reason ,we love it.
it is handy to everything,walking distance to shops pubs and resturants.
the hotel itself is first class from lovely warm welcome you recieve on arrival to the friendly and hard working bar and dining room staff,the food is excellent and we highly reccomend it,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siobhanoglesby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved our stay at the Park House Hotel. We showed up and their car park was full, and a staff member valet parked our car at no charge. What great service! We booked pre-paid for room and breakfast, and were not disappointed. Breakfast was delicious and quick. The staff were very nice with directions and help.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Rubelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,977 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,188 reviews
2.0 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,560 reviews
0.8 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Address: Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galway
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#2 Family Hotel in Galway
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $135 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Hotel, Galway is conveniently located in the heart of Galway's city centre, with private secure car-parking on the grounds of the hotel. The hotel blends the warmth and personality of a boutique hotel with the style and luxury of a contemporary 4 Star international hotel. Guest accommodation comprises of 84 rooms divided into superior & deluxe rooms, suites and serviced apartments. The award-winning Park Restaurant is a favourite with locals and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing