We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel...rooms & food”
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Food at this hotel is always excellent with superb service. Have stayed here a number of times & the staff always remember you & have a friendly word! Rooms are really nice with comfy beds. Especially like the fluffy duvets & pillows. brilliant location for the city everything within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kateod14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,013 - 2,019 of 2,938 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is the most enjoyable hotel experience we have ever had, bar none. It is not the most glamorous, contemporary, tripping-over-itself with condescension spot. It is the most comfortable, and well-staffed. From the owner, Kitty Carr, through the reception and service staff, we were treated with personal attention that felt genuine. Thoughtful details abound. Staff was knowledgeable and went the extra mile with personal recommendations and hand-drawn on-the-spot maps and directions; food and drink excellent - just marvelous! This hotel has no need for pretense, it is everything advertised. As a previous reviewer said, this is a "classic old-school hotel" - and what else would one want in central Galway?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alcyone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in a very spacious and lovely suite with our kids. It looked newly remodelled, and everything was great. My pillow and quilt were especially comfortable and I had a really nice sleep. The breakfast in the morning was excellent, with very tasty scones, and a selection of buffet and warm food off the menu. A great location also- very easy to reach from the train station. Also, we had accidentally forgotten to book the hotel for one night of our stay. There was a convention in town, and the Park House had no other rooms. The staff graciously offered to call around and got us a reservation at a good rate at a different hotel. That is great service!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reader12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a really nice hotel, and the only negative I found is that the city itself is very busy, especially late at night. With young kids, it wasn't ideal, but if my wife and I come back to Galway, this is where we'll stay!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank eldavidosmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a great hotel in a perfect locaiton in Galway City. The hotel is just off Eyre Square, less than a minute's walk from the Train and Bus station. Also very easily accessible from the main routes into the city. The hotel has it's own small car park. This was full when I was there, but there is a multi-storey public car park just behind and this is available to hotel guests as well and was included in the hotel rate.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel itself is a little dated in it's decor but it was very clean and comfortable. I stayed in Room 101. It was big and bright. The bed was very comfortable, with extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe. There was also a sofa and sitting area. The bathroom was normal sized and clean with a decent shower and plenty of toiletries and towels. There was a well-stocked mini-bar and tea/coffee making facilities. Iron and Ironing Board were available from reception. I was a little concerned at first because my room was at the front of the hotel which looks onto a busy street, but the sound proofing on the windows was excellent and I literally counld not hear any traffic or street noise at all.

My friends and I ate breakfast in the hotel. There was a buffet of cereals, fruits, juices and pastries and a decent menu of hot meals including the Full Irish Breakfast which I had which was excellent. The staff in the dining room were lovely and helpful. The hotel also has a nice bar but it was very quiet when we were there so we wandered across Eyre Square for a bit more lively entertainment.

All in all, a very nice, comfortable, friendly hotel in a great location. I'm only giving 4 out of 5 just because the decor is so dated and because I felt it was a little bit pricey for an off season weekend, though I think that might just be Galway hotels in general.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballynac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a great 2 day stay at this hotel. I chose based on the reviews on trip advisor and I was not disappointed to say the least. This is a classic old school hotel which has developed over many years. The central location ads it great or exploring the town. Also parking was a plus. The best were the breakfasts, we ate way to much. Service and attentiveness to needs is really good. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Grant_I_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Park House Hotel in Galway, Ireland, is an experience to be treasured. The hotel staff is attentive to every need; each individual--at the desk, in the bar, in the restaurant--is courteous, considerate, and helpful in every way imaginable. The breakfasts include a great variety of choices, and each selection is served promptly, hot and delicious. The menus at the bar and restaurant have something for everyone, and we felt no need to go out for any of our meals. The hotel is near the major shopping area, and there one can find much to get excited about. The room we had was large and roomy, with a large bathroom and heated towel racks, an added bonus. My wife and I will stay at the Park House anytime we return to Galway. Staying there was, indeed, an experience to savor and remember.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cwdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,169 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,254 reviews
0.8 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Address: Park House Hotel 18 Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Galway
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#2 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $118 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Hotel, Galway is conveniently located in the heart of Galway's city centre, with private secure car-parking on the grounds of the hotel. The hotel blends the warmth and personality of a boutique hotel with the style and luxury of a contemporary 4 Star international hotel. Guest accommodation comprises of 84 rooms divided into superior & deluxe rooms, suites and serviced apartments. The award-winning Park Restaurant is a favourite with locals and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing