We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable refuge”
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I'll start out with a caveat: we had already dropped off our Budget rental car by the time we checked into Park House Hotel, so cannot comment on the hotel's parking accommodations or cost. It is rather a nightmare to drive and park in Galway so we put this city at the end of our 8 weeks in Ireland and are staying at Park House Hotel for 4 nights then taking the train to Dublin for the final day of our trip. The location of Park House Hotel is ideal: right next to Eyre Square and central to all the places we wanted to visit on a short trip. Yet, our 'superior' room was quiet (no street noise), well ventilated (windows that open), spacious, full of natural light, very clean, nicely furnished had comfortable beds. The bathroom had a tub/shower and heated towel rack and was very clean. The ground floor lounges are spacious and comfortable. The staff are polite and helpful. One night we had a problem with one of the electric outlets and a porter was at door to fix the problem within 3 minutes. We paid a rate that included breakfasts and was a 20% discount for staying 3 nights or longer. Hotel and B & B prices tend to be on the high side in Galway city - for even a quite bad hotel (and without breakfast) you might pay 80 euros a night. So I figure the rate we paid for Park House gave us good value for the money. We were very comfortable. The breakfasts were ample and well prepared. The tables for two are definitely too small for two to eat in comfort, however -- try to get one of the booths. Across the street is a small grocery/convenience store which we found to be very handy. Also across the street is a small garden cafe that serves excellent espresso coffee and fresh squeezed fruit juices. The Budget Car Rental office is 1/2 block away and the train/bus station is a block and a half away.

Room Tip: Scrutinize the hotel's website to find a discounted rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BABASMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,021 - 2,027 of 2,896 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way back to Dublin. The hotel was located within walking distance to everything you would want to see. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty. The room was clean and very quiet. However, when we looked out our window we were a bit disappointed. We were only able to see the buildings wall. Parking was very limited. We arrived late in the day and were forced to park in the city lot. The hotel stamped our card which gave us 50% off but it still ended up being 10 Euros a day. Overall, due to the location, staff and overall value, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaynic_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel communicates upscale in the lobby with a fine restaurant and bar, lovely music, comfortable seating areas, and helpful professional staff. We reserved a suite, which was nice, though probably not worth the money. The window view we had was of the parking lot. A "dining" area was at the entry to the room where it was dark and without windows and was generally useless to us. The bathroom is enormous, which is great if you plan to entertain people in the bathroom. Otherwise, not a great use of space. The beds were double, which was fine when my wife and I chose to recline and read in seperate beds but not great for cohabitation when it came to sleeping. My wife comlained about the pillows, though I didn't have the same criticism.

The hotel is conveniently located, though finding the parking enterence is a nightmare. It's actually in an alley before you get to the hotel, where it is not marked. We drove past it three times before parking illegally to check in. A major criticisim is that the hotel does not have any place for you to stop your car to check in so guests may find themselves circling the place before they can figure out where to stop so that they can walk in to the lobby, and figure out where to park, check-in and so forth.

I would definately stay here again, but I wouldn't spend the money on the upgraded room.

Room Tip: Don't spend for the suite unless you know exactly what you'll be getting. Perhaps some of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here in June and when i booked the hotel-I did so because on the website they advertise parking which I was thrilled about. When we pulled in with our car, we were told that the rate we booked did not include parking and we should have booked the B and B rate to get parking. Never once during booking was I informed of this. So they referred us to the garage next door because their parking lot was full-the front desk staff stated-its only 10 dollars a day. When we parked in the garage-it stated that it was 17 dollars per day. We asked the valet about the discrepancy and he shrugged his shoulders. We happened to walk by the valet desk and there is a sign that explains that if you get the parking ticket validated at the front desk-you get a discount! Hello? No one informed me of this at check in, or the other two times I asked about it. I had to learn more from a sign then their employees. When we went back to the front to tell them that no one had explained the policy and they just argued with us that we should have "just known". Ugh.
The location is great. Room was small and the walls were thin.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank drredpgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Have just returned from spending a week with my family at Park House Hotel. We had a fantastic time and left the hotel feeling totally spoiled. From the moment we arrived the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We noticed many personal and friendly touches throughout our stay.
The hotel's location off Eyre Square is brilliant and ideal for strolling to the shops and for heading downtown to experience Galway's vibrant nightlife.
We enjoyed a few drinks in the relaxed atmosphere of the bar and above all I cannot praise the food highly enough. Having dined in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner I can simply say I cannot wait to return for another taste. The food was magnificent and the service was excellent. We enjoyed some of the best meals we've had for a long time. For comfort, relaxation, and being totally spoiled I highly recommend Park House.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooneysinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a great time visiting Galway and traveling from there to Connemara. The Park House was a great place so that we were close to things in the city like pubs and restaurants but easy to get out of town and visit other areas too. The hotel is comfortable, clean and the staff is very helpful. This was my second stay here and both times everything was very nice. The bar and food service was very good as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marikay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Our 2nd time staying with the park hotel!! It's always a pleasure!! The room was amazing , the staff can not do enough for you, the food is 1st class and the location is spot on,, always a pleasant stay (",)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiaraB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,097 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,223 reviews
2 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Address: Park House Hotel 18 Forster Street | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#1 Business Hotel in Galway
#2 Family Hotel in Galway
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $111 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park House Hotel, Galway is conveniently located in the heart of Galway's city centre, with private secure car-parking on the grounds of the hotel. The hotel blends the warmth and personality of a boutique hotel with the style and luxury of a contemporary 4 Star international hotel. Guest accommodation comprises of 84 rooms divided into superior & deluxe rooms, suites and serviced apartments. The award-winning Park Restaurant is a favourite with locals and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing