We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience I have ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience I have ever had”
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We arrived at the hotel and were pleasantly surprised as the room was clean, bright and spacious. The trouble began when we arrived back at the hotel later that night to go to bed. As soon as we walked into the hotel we could hear loud music coming from the disco bar which is situated right next to the reception, however as the all the bedrooms are on the two floors above the reception we assumed that the noise wouldn't be a problem once we were in our room.........how wrong we were! I have stayed in many hotels before and I have never ever found reason to complain about noise, as a certain level of noise, particularly when the hotel has a bar or niteclub is expected, however the level of noise in our room was horrendous. It was so loud the whole room was thumping and I am not exaggerating when I say that the door into our room was in fact vibrating because of it. It was impossible to sleep and we were told it was not possible to move us to a quieter room. The music continued until 2am, followed by an hour of screaming and shouting from the crowd in the bar, which was then followed by an hour of chairs and tables being dragged all over the bar as they cleaned up. We eventually got to sleep somewhere between 4am and 5am. At some point during the night we also had a member of staff open our bedroom door and walk in until he saw us and quickly turned around ran back out. When we were checking out I complained and explained that entire situation and of course I got the usual response "the manager is not here at the moment but I can get him to give you a call if you like", which means we are still going to charge you and we don't really care that you only got three hours sleep in our hotel last night. I was so tired and frustrated at that point that I just paid the bill and left.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaylorPeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    150
    46
    30
    42
See reviews for
50
190
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We only stayed for one night, but I don't think I would want to stay for any longer than that. It wasn't terrible, it just wasn't very good.
We had to park in a parkade as the hotel had none of there own parking. I thought I'd found the closest parkade, but it turned out it wasn't one the hotel had a deal with. The reception desk clerk didn't even know which parkade I was talking about even though it was attached to the mall which was 1/2 block away. The parkade the hotel did have a deal with was about 2 blocks away. Not a huge deal, but we did have to drag our luggage all that way since the hotel is on a pedestrian street.
The room was nice enough, not a great view, but modernised. The first problem was that there was no remote for the television. We asked at the desk on our way back in after dinner, and were told she would bring one up. After waiting for over an hour we called and were told that she still hadn't gotten anyone to cover the desk and was clearly not impressed to be asked again. When we finally did get the remote the TV was extremely tempermental and wasn't worth the trouble.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjanesandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballinakill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I stayed in this hotel before and couldn't be happier, I hoped to stay again over new years but plans didn't work out and im actually going there again tomorrow

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanf93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesmanagerGalway, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2010
Many thanks for your kind review.
Please remember to keep an eye on our website for great offers and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Lisa Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

This neat hotel on Eyre Square is in a great location to explore Galway City. The staff were very friendly - especially the waiter at Breakfast; the hotel should also be complimented on its nice breakfasts!!
We ate in the restaurant area of this hotel one evening and found the food to be of good standard as well.

During your stay you should take a HealyBus tour to the Cliff of Mohor or Connemara, local driver/ guides, very friendly and accommodating to picture hungy me!! The tours go from the new coach station ten minute walk from hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjs6Pint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesmanagerGalway, marketing manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Skeffington Arms & in Galway.

I will pass your kind comments on.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to The Skeffngton Arms in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed two nights mid-week and based upon reading other reviews of this hotel, requested a 2nd floor room, since it is a downtown location. It was very quiet, even being on Eyre Square across from JFK park. The room was very clean and modern, complete with ironing board/hair dryer, etc. Location was excellent, and the Skeff Bar is on the ground floor and was amazing to look at and enjoy some traditional Irish music and Guiness. Short walk around the corner to the Quayside for more entertainment. The breakfast was fast and delicious, and the staff were all extremely professional. Great value.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salesmanagerGalway, Sales & Marketing Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. We greatly appreciate it.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to The Skeffington Arms Hotel in the near future

Kindest Regards

Kerry Gillespie
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natasha1980
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

You can't beat the location of this hotel right on Eyre Square. I really loved the modern feel and the bar is incredible- with beautiful wooden panelling and a friendly staff. We got a great deal on our rooms for 80 euros/night and it was well worth it. Considering how bad Irish breakfasts are, this is the best one we had and the even made fruit pancakes which were great. The bathrooms are modern and clean and our room had a wonderful view of Eyre square. There was also a nice plasma tv. I would gladly stay in this hotel again. Some of the hotel staff was extremely helpful, but others were much more indifferent. However, we enjoyed our stay on the whole.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying two nights in the Skeffington Arms Hotel. I got a very reasonable rate especially for this time of the year. I had some lovely barfood in the Skeff bar and there was traditional irish music being played in here as well. Which would go down very well with the tourists.

The receptionist informed me that the rooms were redone last year. They are very modern and comfortable. I had two great nights sleep. It is walking distance from the train and bus station. They do not have a car park. But there is ample multi car parks in the area which give residents discounts from the hotel.

There was a very friendly waiter on breakfast on both mornings. The breakfast was very nice with a good selection of fresh fruit, pastries etc.

All in all i would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILOVEHOLIDAYS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 45 in Galway
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 45 in Galway
1,397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 45 in Galway
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#31 of 45 in Galway
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeffington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Property: Skeffington Arms Hotel
Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing