We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair price, great place, great food, central but not noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fair price, great place, great food, central but not noisy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Booked last minute yesterday to go see Galway for a night. Perfect! Right on the central square, like 4 minutes walk from Shop Street and bars restaurants beyond. Fantastic bar / restaurant connects with the hotel, but rooms are soundproofed and aside from neighbours leaving in the morning we heard nothing. Room was slightly on the small size but perfectly adequate, all fittings are new and kept clean and nice.
Bed was very comfy, secondary glazing (which all works!) keeps noise out and air con was easy to work to have room at lovely comfortable temperature.
Rooms have plenty info in to plan an itinerary or show you local places to make things as hassle free as possible.
Foyer / reception staff very polite and friendly.
Breakfast was very yummy, endless tea and toast with a full breakfast was very welcome - again the staff at breakfast were distant enough not to annoy but there for anything you wanted.
All in all a great historical hotel, fab location, not a cheap and nasty but not a rip off joint.

Just right. Would DEFINITELY stay here again of we visit Galway another time. HEARTILY recommend.

Room Tip: If you are driving don't forget to arrange half price at designated car parks - but hotel is rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Skeffington Arms Hotel and for providing a review of your experience with us.

I am delighted to read that you found our hotel to be clean, comfortable and well located. It is wonderful to know that you would recommend our hotel following your experience.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Lisa Nee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    148
    46
    28
    41
See reviews for
48
186
46
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

stayed in the Skeff last weekend and must say i had no complaints at all will deffo be staying again and soon i hope!!!! the staff were excellent and couldn't of been nicer rooms were lovely A special shout out to Luke the residents bar barman who was very nice and easy on the eye as one of group told him numerous times over our stay there also to Wojciech our night porter who had keep letting us die-hard smokers in and out for our fag breaks in the small hours of the night

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aorrcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Skeffington Arms Hotel and for providing a review of your experience with us.

I am delighted to read that you found our hotel to be clean, comfortable and well located. It is wonderful to know that you would recommend our hotel following your experience.

It is encouraging to hear that the service you received from our staff exceeded your expectations. They work hard to ensure that each guest has a memorable experience and I will be sure to share your kind comments with them especially Wojciech and Luke they will be delighted.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Lisa Nee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Absolutely awesome stay , we stumbled across this hotel by chance. Very clean rooms , staff were excellent , price was great and close to all the shops and restaurants in Galway. The actuall hotel had so many beers to offer and overlooked the park out front. Thoroughly recommend to anyone......just writing about it makes me wanna go back!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments after you stayed with us in The Skeffington Arms Hotel. I am very happy to be reading your kind comments. We are very lucky with our location and I am very glad you were able to benefit from that.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you to The Skeffington Arms Hotel again soon.

Slan agus beannacht,

Lisa Nee
Front Office & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed in the Skeffington last weekend with six other friends occupying three rooms in total. Not a fault could be found with any room although there was no Bible which was a first for all concerned! We arrived Fri afternoon with an advance party of two attempting to decorate a room in advance of one of our number's arrival. The receptionist was sooo helpful and tried to hide our balloons when our friend arrived and didn't question us needing the extra key. From that instant on, the staff, to a person were exceptional. They were friendly, efficient, genuine and outstanding in their different roles. When a mix-up occurred with our table that had been booked the restaurant staff were fantastic at sorting it out. Breakfast was hearty and all requests catered for, again incredibly efficient and pleasant - particularly the wee Donegal girl. Even a temperamental boiler didn't faze her or dampen her smiles. The residents bar staff were very kind and accomodating to us given we were a tad tipsy! Particular mention to the eye candy that was Luke!!! Lastly and by no means least was the hero of the weekend for me - Wojciech (I asked him for the spelling). He was the night porter who was tasked with letting me in and out all night for my cigarettes. What a lovely, helpful and patient man he is. My only complaint for the whole weekend was the fact that there had to be someone to let me out every time I wanted a ciggie late at night. I realise that their policy is a no-smoking hotel but still feel there should be a more efficient way for the smokers to go and feed their addiction. Other than that the weekend at the Skeffington was a resounding success and I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone travelling to Galway. The central location, choice of beverages, excellent menu, hearty breakfast and lovely lovely staff make it a 5 star hotel for me.

Room Tip: By all accounts the best room is 206 as advised by a member of staff who shall remain nameless for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Skeffington Arms Hotel and for providing a review of your experience with us.

I am delighted to read that you found our hotel to be clean, comfortable and well located. It is wonderful to know that you would recommend our hotel following your experience.

It is encouraging to hear that the service you received from our staff exceeded your expectations. They work hard to ensure that each guest has a memorable experience and I will be sure to share your kind comments with them especially Eimear, Wojciech and Luke they will be delighted.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Lisa Nee
Front Office Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The check in was very friendly and professional. The room was very impressive with a king size bed, ample wardrobe space, tea/coffee facilities, good sized bathroom and shower. The tv was the biggest I have seen in any hotel room. The windows have been sound proofed to keep noise levels at a minimum, which was a good advantage to the room overall. We didn't have breakfast in the dining room, but residents are invited to have breakfast in the bar up to midday if they wish. This is a great idea if you are not up for breakfast the following morning. The bar itself was buzzing and also there is a night club there which we didn't venture into. Chairs and tables are outside the bar also, which is great for relaxing on a sunny day. The breakfast in the bar was delicious. Bacon, sausages, tomato, mushrooms, fried potato, eggs, tea and toast. Quite big portions to set you up for the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room probably at the back of the hotel. There is a very lively bar downstairs with a nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 195Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Upon arrival at the skeffington the guy on reception was more than helpful in making sure we knew everything about the hotel, no detail left out :) then when we got to our small but perfect rooms on our bed was a crunchie well it was a friday a welcome note and a bookmark. The room was across from the nightclub part of the hotel so was slightly noisey but the beds were so comfortable i still woke up feeling refreshed although gutted that we missed breakfast. Its a great hotel in a great location and fantastic staff. I would definitley stay here again, can't wait :)

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the nightclub although i'd say no matter which room you get it may stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMelTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stadtbredimus, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

While on the road for the first time with motorbike in Ireland, actually didn't know really where to go, what too see. Now being back to Luxembourg, one of the most memorable stays in Ireland actually was at Skeffington, Galway. Centrally located, good quality, good service and nice people. Thank you Sarah!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rokki1597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

It is encouraging to hear that the service you received from our staff exceeded your expectations. They work hard to ensure that each guest has a memorable experience and I will be sure to share your kind comments with them especially Sarah.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 46 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#34 of 46 in Galway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeffington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Property: Skeffington Arms Hotel
Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing