We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“group of girls - hen wkend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skeffington Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Maynooth, Ireland
1 review
“group of girls - hen wkend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in the Skeffington last weekend. There were 12 of us on a hen. From the first phone call that I made the staff could not have been more helpful. I was a little anxious about the standard of the rooms since we were given a reasonable rate and the hotel accepted a hen booking. However the rooms were spotless and the bathrooms were spacious and looked like they had been recently tiled etc. There were crunchies on the beds!
We only ate breakfast there as we had already made dinner reservations for both nights but I would give the breakfast 10/10 and when we were in the bar the food that was going by us looked great.
Re: noise from nightclub. We were in room 105 which is at the back of the hotel and the view is of the nightclub door. this was not a problem for us and when we got back late at night although you could hear the dull base from the music in the nightclub it didn't affect us being able to sleep.
I would def stay here again even as a couple - looking forward to my next visit :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if you would like a view of Eyre Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 237Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review and for choosing The Skeffington Arms Hotel as your accommodation of your choice upon your recent visit to Galway City.

It is with great pleasure that I am replying to your wonderful review. Your review epitomises what our core values are about here in The Skeffington Arms Hotel...tradition, style and ambience. We strive to ensure that all our guests experience a warm welcome with some excitement and flair. We have a very diligent team who are totally dedicated to providing all our guests with a first class memorable experience, we clearly delivered on your expectations and thank you for your reference to our excellent levels of cleanliness and very importantly the superb value that we offer. On behalf of our team thank you for taking the time to advise other travellers about your Skeffington Arms experience. I have passed your comments on to all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Please come back and visit soon, a warm welcome awaits

Best Wishes & Many thanks

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    147
    45
    28
    39
See reviews for
48
184
46
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've stayed here twice over the last two months. The first time I was most impressed by the attention to detail..sweets on the bed,little flowers in the room,fresh jug of water. Location is excellent and the bar next door is lively with a nice crowd. Staff were exceptionally helpful (ESP john I think from Donegal) and the rooms were very clean with bright bathroom (perfect for applying makeup!) and power shower. The second time I stated I was a little disappointed to see the wee touches from the first time were absent. Tea coffee weren't restocked,and the double bed was two singles pushed together..bit uncomfortable!! However everything else was great. Recommend this place for a girls weekend,or a night out in the city!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkymalinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review and for choosing The Skeffington Arms Hotel as your accommodation of your choice upon your recent visit to Galway City.

In relation to some of your comments we put Crunchies in all our rooms for Friday it’s our weekend theme to start the weekend off so you must have come midweek as this would explain no chocolate in room. I’ve have spoken to accommodation regarding the refilling of tea/coffee apologies on that matter. Stephen our Donegal member of our team will be delighted to read that he was mentioned on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your positive comments and please do take the time to come back to us again and you can experience all the Skeffington Arms has to offer as we strive to offer the best standard to all our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to place a review.

Warm regards,

Lisa Nee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in January. once we had booked we received an e-mail with details and a map of the available parking,,,always handy ..saved us the effort of searching google maps for it! Arrive mid-friday afternoon to Crunchies on the bed...not a bad way to start the weekend!

Room was spacious larger than most luxury hotels, chains etc, modern decor comfy & extra large bed..shower was huge too and powerful..shower alone was nearly worth the visit. Heating was air-conditioned so we had full control over the heat in our room rather than the usual too sutffy or too cold option that you get from hotels that control the heat from a main source.

Location was unbeatable ... right around the corner from the main streets for shopping, dining, pubs etc. Hotel itself had a lively bar and free entry to the night club beneath (dont worry we didnt hear any noise in the room at night!)

Hotels food was great we ate dinner here on both nights and the breakfast choice was more than your usual cooked breakfast..porridge,some other healthy stuff...and pancakes,..mmm! breakfast was til 12 as well so we didnt even have to get up too early.

Staff were well friendly and helpful.

cuoldnt rate the place highly enough!! and Galway is just fab!!...we'll be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sayra20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review and for choosing The Skeffington Arms Hotel as your accommodation of your choice upon your recent visit to Galway City.

I was delighted to read such positive comments and in particular in relation to our bedrooms, food offering, and our bar. It's heart warming to read such positive feed back and we thank you sincerely.

I have passed your comments on to all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in The Skeffington Arms and we found the location to be its number one asset as well as the lovely bar, modern rooms and friendly staff. We got a room overlooking Eyre Square which was very large and modern looking with nice wooden floors.

We ate dinner in the bar and our waiter was friendly and chatty. We had Chicken wings and Caesar salad to start which were both very good and the Sirloin Steak was really tasty and very reasonably priced.

The full Irish breakfast was great, the mushrooms and black pudding were very tasty and it was nice to get two 2 eggs. The homemade scones at breakfast were the nicest I have ever tasted and I nearly did not even try them because they were so big I did not want to waste them. I would return to this hotel any time I am in Galway just to try these scones again.

I would recommend this hotel and return to The Skeffington Arms if I wanted to stay in Galway city or especially if I wanted to spend some time shopping as it really is so convenient and central.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Eyre Square but away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

great people we booked a 2night stay as a package deal with breakfast 22nd jan 2013 we both loved it very clean hotel easy and helpful staff at every corner to help. food was lovely we thank the chef the first morning after a large and lovely breakfast we we cant find anything to fault our stay a large thanx to all the staff for all there help

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of the Skeffington Arms Hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel. I'll pass this email on to our staff here.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

What more could one ask for ?
Located in the virtual 'heart' of Galway overlooking Eyre Square, a short hop from the train station, no taxi's required - this Hotel provides everything you could need to explore the City of Tribes; it is within a short walk of Quay Street and the Spanish Arch and the Claddagh which is steeped in history and tradition.

The hotel itself provides more than adequate facilities, the rooms are comfortable and warm ... and the best of all from my perspective is the food, which caters for all tastes. Breakfast is delicious and a salad bar which is open throughout the day provides salads, soups, and all refreshments to ensure your energy levels are not depleted during the sight seeing expeditions - or in my case, some retail therapy :-) ! Carvery lunch is served from 12.30 with roast dishes on display to choose from .... and if you're in the vicinity you MUST drop by to taste their choco-Biscuit Cake (my fav) or feast your eyes on the display of freshly baked Cupcakes. Bet you can't resist - you'll be spoiled for choice as a variety of cheesecakes, gateaux's and various other treats are on offer together with a range of those healthy-options for the more calorie conscious!

It really is the great place to stay. The staff are really obliging and fantastic with advice on what to do in the City, there's always a festival on and if you book in advance you may get preferential rates - its always worth asking !

Well worth a five star rating ... I'll be back !

Regards to all
Breeda

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breeda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed one night, the staff were very friendly, the room had AC so the room temp was ideal. The room also had teas maid, toiletries & iron, it was decorated lovely. They don't have a carpark but we used one across the square for €6 for 24 hours. It's an ideal location, leave your car & stroll around the fab city

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferErol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 46 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#32 of 46 in Galway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeffington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Property: Skeffington Arms Hotel
Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing