We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly modern hotel on Eyre Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly modern hotel on Eyre Square”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in The Skeffington Arms and we found the location to be its number one asset as well as the lovely bar, modern rooms and friendly staff. We got a room overlooking Eyre Square which was very large and modern looking with nice wooden floors.

We ate dinner in the bar and our waiter was friendly and chatty. We had Chicken wings and Caesar salad to start which were both very good and the Sirloin Steak was really tasty and very reasonably priced.

The full Irish breakfast was great, the mushrooms and black pudding were very tasty and it was nice to get two 2 eggs. The homemade scones at breakfast were the nicest I have ever tasted and I nearly did not even try them because they were so big I did not want to waste them. I would return to this hotel any time I am in Galway just to try these scones again.

I would recommend this hotel and return to The Skeffington Arms if I wanted to stay in Galway city or especially if I wanted to spend some time shopping as it really is so convenient and central.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Eyre Square but away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    150
    46
    30
    42
See reviews for
50
190
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2013

great people we booked a 2night stay as a package deal with breakfast 22nd jan 2013 we both loved it very clean hotel easy and helpful staff at every corner to help. food was lovely we thank the chef the first morning after a large and lovely breakfast we we cant find anything to fault our stay a large thanx to all the staff for all there help

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of the Skeffington Arms Hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel. I'll pass this email on to our staff here.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

What more could one ask for ?
Located in the virtual 'heart' of Galway overlooking Eyre Square, a short hop from the train station, no taxi's required - this Hotel provides everything you could need to explore the City of Tribes; it is within a short walk of Quay Street and the Spanish Arch and the Claddagh which is steeped in history and tradition.

The hotel itself provides more than adequate facilities, the rooms are comfortable and warm ... and the best of all from my perspective is the food, which caters for all tastes. Breakfast is delicious and a salad bar which is open throughout the day provides salads, soups, and all refreshments to ensure your energy levels are not depleted during the sight seeing expeditions - or in my case, some retail therapy :-) ! Carvery lunch is served from 12.30 with roast dishes on display to choose from .... and if you're in the vicinity you MUST drop by to taste their choco-Biscuit Cake (my fav) or feast your eyes on the display of freshly baked Cupcakes. Bet you can't resist - you'll be spoiled for choice as a variety of cheesecakes, gateaux's and various other treats are on offer together with a range of those healthy-options for the more calorie conscious!

It really is the great place to stay. The staff are really obliging and fantastic with advice on what to do in the City, there's always a festival on and if you book in advance you may get preferential rates - its always worth asking !

Well worth a five star rating ... I'll be back !

Regards to all
Breeda

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breeda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed one night, the staff were very friendly, the room had AC so the room temp was ideal. The room also had teas maid, toiletries & iron, it was decorated lovely. They don't have a carpark but we used one across the square for €6 for 24 hours. It's an ideal location, leave your car & stroll around the fab city

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferErol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Having travelled to Galway having being advised by a Kiwi friend that this is one place in Ireland you must visit,we didn't know what to expect coming from the other side of the world.We were only in Galway for 3 days in early September,2012 and had only made the booking the previous day online but had no problems getting a room.The staff that greeted us upon our arrival were warm & friendly and the room we were given was great,a reasonable size with an very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom facilities.The room was up above an alley way with a bar next door, the noise at night was audible but hey your on holiday,sampling the pubs that Galway has to offer( Tig Coili, awesome ) it doesn't take much to fall asleep at night,well we didn't.The housekeepers had the room looking great upon our return each day.The Skeffington Arms pub next door was a bonus,excellent meals .The staff were always friendly towards you as you left or returned for the day.The Hotel was well placed in the square with the local restaurants & bars as well as the shops minutes away.I have shown friends photo's of the hotel and Galway and recommended this is the place to stay. And yes we will be back their sometime soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruralman08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Right in the heart of Galway City, so you will spend less on taxis, very modern hotel, the famous Skeffington Arms Pub is right next door to it, also known as the Skeff, near to bus and rail stations (less than 5 mins walk) also less than 10 mins walk to the "Shop Street" district of Galway City

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conormacallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our 6th trip to Galway but our first stay at this hotel. We booked it from the positive reviews given on Trip advisor so we knew sort of what to expect. . Now some hotels give the impression that you are there as inconvenience and not as guest -you know the sort of things cleaning staff always in the corridors waiting for you to vacate the room. Not here, in fact it would appear the rooms were always made up by some magic – a good sign. I could go on but There is no point listing the good or the bad points of this hotel because none of it mattered because the simple point about any stay is A/ Would you come back and B/ would you recommended it and the answer in this case would be yes , yes and a thousand time yes.

Room Tip: front of hotel looks out over the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loanstar59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel. I'll pass this email on to our staff here.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 45 in Galway
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 45 in Galway
1,397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 45 in Galway
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#29 of 45 in Galway
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeffington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Property: Skeffington Arms Hotel
Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing