We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good - but pick the right room to avoid noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Booked 2 rooms with kids for a family night away in Galway. Eyres Square is a great location but does mean coping with the noise as it seems to be one big party area. The hotel warned us in advance of our arrival that there would be noise from their club next door which made us nervous but actually we got a very quiet nights sleep, however kids in the room across the hall heard a lot more noise so pick the right side of the hotel.
Rooms themselves were tidy, clean and functional. Breakfast was full irish with a continental buffet - very good. For the price it was exceptionally good value.

Room Tip: Room 207 is an example of the "quieter" side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of the Skeffington Arms Hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 507 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed in the Skeffington Arms hotel with a group of friends last weekend.
Check-in was very friendly and straightforward. One of our party was unable to join us and we had to cancel their booking at the last moment, but there was no charge.
The twin room was warm and clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The room also had A/C controls so that we could adjust the temperature to suit ourselves.
I did not have dinner there on this occasion, but I have in the past and it has been very good.
At breakfast there was a decent selection of foods to choose from, and I ordered the "Full Irish" and this was very substantial and set me up for the day.
In general all of the staff that I encountered were very polite and efficient, and I would have no problem recommending the hotel to family or friends.
I will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fireballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Staying on the 09th Dec with 11 friends, could nt praise the staff enough especially Rachel on reception she could nt do enough for us and always greeted with a smile, Most of the rooms are very spacious, but all were very clean and comfortable. The bar which serves food all day had a very friendly atmosphere and the food was excellent. Have to mention the bar staff also which were very helpful and good fun. Overall I would highly recommend the Skef for its very reasonably priced rooms for a city centre hotel, the views from the front of the hotel overlooked the christmas market were fab and it is situated at the top of the main shopping street in Galway which was so convenient for us girls who enjoy our shopping. Will definately make a return visit...... Emer Boland

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms at the front of the hotel which are the same price as the small twin rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Shef. on the 5th. and 6th. of Nov. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, always a smile, the room was very cosy with a view of Ayre Square. The bar was excellent. The location was very conveinent for sigthtseeing and shopping, we will certainly pay a return visit

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Have no faults with this hotel. Staff were so helpful even before we arrived - had to change rooms around a bit on 2 occasions and they were able to do this with no hassle.
Rooms were gorgeous, very modern and really clean.
Great location, right beside train station and around the corner from main street.
General atmosphere around the hotel was nice.
Staff very friendly, at reception, in bar and when down for breaksfast next morning.
Couldnt recommend it highly enough, cant wait for next excuse for night away, will definitely be staying at the Skeffington again as not only is it a great hotel, but Galway city itself is a great spot..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tashaor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My sister and I have been commuting to Galway at least three times a year for many years now. In all that time we have never before stayed in the centre of Galway, choosing to stay out by the coast. However this time we decided to stay for the first night of our trip at the Skeffington Arms Hotel, right in the centre of Galway, sitting in Eyre Square. We had a wonderful time, we had a basic twin room, with a very new modern shower room, loads of instant hot water.A tea making tray was provided. The room was very cosy, warm and quiet, despite the warning from the reception staff that they do not promise a quiet hotel. The hotel is attached to a huge bar and restaurant area, many different places to sit. Loads of wooden beams and a huge wooden staircase. Dinner was great I had a beautifuly cooked steak. It was graduation night the night we were there, and the place was swarming with the bright young things dressed up to the nines. The atmosphere was great, if you want a quiet night and a cosy meal for two, this is not for you. However if you want to see Galway relaxing at night, or lunching in the daytime, or just having a cup of coffee in historic surroundings, then please do try this place. The staff were delightful, and made our stay very enjoyable. We will definetely be staying again next time we visit beautiful Galway city.

Room Tip: This is not a stuffy five star hotel, but it has plenty of atmosphere, and very friendly staff. Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonHolidaygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed a few times times. Rooms are above the massive and characterful pub on Eyre Square. Staff are great, really friendly and rooms are very clean. Could not fault it and would recommend to anyone. I come from Lettermore / Lettermore family wise but brought up in England. If not staying with family in Connemara or fancy a night out in Galway city I would always check for a room at the askeff first.

Room Tip: Try thetop floor as quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterPatM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Forster Court Hotel
Forster Court Hotel
#9 of 46 in Galway
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#29 of 46 in Galway
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#27 of 46 in Galway
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeffington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $65 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing