We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked two nights here through an offer from Today FM. For the location, the room was larger than we expected. Comfortable beds, large bathrooms, friendly service. The deal we booked included a full breakfast cooked to order. While they do warn about noise due to the proximity to Eyre Square, we were there on a weeknight and didn't run into any issues from the disco or hen/stag parties. Parking was a little ways away, but other than that, I would recommend it. The food from the bar was also very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbarajohnson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 507 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a great hotel. Great city central location surrounded by restaurants, and pubs. this is a Charming hotel set up to make guest feel welcome. The bar attracted a fun crowd, the live music good. Dont forget to stay for breakfast. When i return i will be staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisygirlrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

When it comes to location it is hard to beat the Skeffington situated as it is on Eyre Square right in the centre of town. That does come with some downsides such as lack of parking but you do get a reduction in the nearby multistorey car park. The other possible downside is noise from the bars, discos and music in the hotel and in the streets nearby. This latter was a little concern of ours but we were given a quiet room in the back of the hotel where we slept soundly (and soundlessly).
There was an all day breakfast, not one that they serve all day but one that if you finish you will not have to eat for the rest of the day! This was served in one of the upper lounges overlooking the square. It was a very substantial breakfast indeed.
It is a great hotel for music of almost all types and every sporting event of significance is on show in one of the many TVs in the public areas.
Great location and great breakfast but choose your room carefully if you want a quiet night!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as the hotel features a lot of entertainment. If they have them they will sort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with for of my friends just to get away on a break for a few days. The Skeff is ideally located in the heart of Galway city, to be precise, Eyre Square. The hotel itself is very modern however the bar has an old fashioned theme to it which it very nice I think personally. There is entertainment there every night and we thoroughly enjoyed it. No strings attached stood out for us though. We couldn't stop talking about how brilliant they were the next morning. Very talented and we all agreed that they were the best live band we've seen. As far as I can remember they play on Sunday and Monday night each week. The rooms of the hotel like I mentioned are modern and well furnished. There is air conditioning, tea/ coffee making facilities and a large flat screen television. There was a problem with the shower in our twin bedroom the first night but it was resolved the next day and I'd like to thank Stephen at reception for his help on this particular occasion. All the staff though that we met, especially reception we very kind and helpful. We had breakfast at the hotel on three occasion- one was a buffet breakfast which has a small selection of food ranging from fruit to cereals and juices, a fried breakfast can then be ordered separately. On the other two occasions we ordered from the bar menu served up to 11:30. If I was to return to Galway the Skeff would be on the top of my list and I will recommend this hotel to anyone I know traveling to Galway city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickO2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a great home base for exploring the Irish country-side. The hotel is in the heart of City Center, surrounded by stores, restaurants and pubs and just a few blocks from the bus station. Both our tour buses departed from the Coach Station just a few minutes walk away- very convenient! The area felt safe and the hotel was very clean. Friendly staff and all the amenities worked (TV, iron, hair dryer, shower, toilet). The room was comfortable and seemed larger than most European hotels- plenty of room! The hotel provides a free continental breakfast in their breakfast room- tasty and fresh granola, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, jams, banana bread. Or, if you want something more, they offer hot food at reasonable prices including traditional Irish breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel for your stay in Galway.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

thanks to stephen & lisa at reception for making our trip so good such friendly staff that really do their jobs well . the room was spotless and had a great view looking onto the square also well priced. big thank you to carl in breakfast bar good service and food once again a pleasure to stay in this hotel many thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you want to be in the centre of Galway and within walking distance of the pubs, shopping etc.. Than this is the place for you.... Of course everything comes at a price... It has a tndancy to bcome noisy in the evenings which is to be expected with a location like this. Rooms are surprisingly big with modern deco, bathrooms are also well equpped...
Staff are very helpfull and always ready for a helping hand. A Polish night porter was exceptionally friendly helping us carry bags and giving us tips about the area...that is an added plus!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to us very soon and thanks again for your review.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Forster Court Hotel
Forster Court Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,143 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#29 of 46 in Galway
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#27 of 46 in Galway
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeffington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $65 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing