We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$200
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Connacht Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$162
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Twelve Hotel(Barna)
$200
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clayton Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Menlo Park Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$177
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$158
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$296
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveler rating
226
161
50
38
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
161
50
38
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseyre squarenight portercentral locationcar parkchristmas marketgalway cityexcellent locationtrain stationsconesbreakfast roomroom was spotlessreception areaboth nightsnoisecrunchieearplugsreceptionist
Filter
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 522 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights for a weekend in february with my partner. I chose it because I have always liked the Skeff pub and its location on Eyre Square is perfect.

When we arrived in the room, it was absolutely freezing. I followed the instructions to turn on the heating, but it didnt seem to work. I called the frontdesk and was told again how to turn it in, but it still would not work.

On the way out I told the guy at frontdesk again that it was not working, he said he would sort it, but when we arrived back later that night, it was even colder! We called the night porter who finally brought us up a tiny, and very noisy, electric fan heater. We were out at a wedding all day Saturday and nothing further was done about it so we spent another night with the noisy heater going. I told the girl on frontdesk about it all at checkout, but she didnt seem too bothered.

Overall, it was ok. But I would probably try out somewhere else in future. I think for the quality of the accommodation there is better value to be had. The accommodation is average (and very cold in room 212!), a bit dated (but thats pretty standard in Galway), and there is a rediculous-looking stain on the 2nd floor carpet that leads from one end of the corridor to the other (also saw it mentioned in another review; it looks like someone rolled a freshly painted bicycle wheel through the place).

Room Tip: Room 201 was being cleaned when we were leaving. It looked really nice - nicer than our room anyway, which was 212).
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walshy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Skeffington Arms Hotel and taking the time to submit your review.Our rooms are fully heated with state of the art heating and cooling units unfortunately a part went on your stay and we couldn’t get this fixed until Monday morning, how ever we did try our best to make your stay more comfortable by offering a fan so your room wouldn’t have been cold. 100% Guest Satisfaction is very important to us and we aim to get this right with every guest I am saddened if we did not fully meet your expectations on this occasion.
Should you wish to stay in Galway again please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Hotel on lisa@skeffington.ie and I will make sure your stay is an enjoyable one.

With Kind Regards,

Lisa Nee,

Front Office Manager,

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

central, renovated, good customer service and great Irish breakfast!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here at The Skeffington Arms Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. Your comments in relation to the quality of our facilities and service are very much appreciated and will be passed on to our team here at the Skeff. We hope to see you again.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

stayed over the weekend was a last minute decision, have stayed in Galway lots and never spotted it before

The gent that checked us in was very friendly and excellen customer service (Saturday 28/1/12)

Room Tip: Not to be at the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mags2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Stayed in Skeffington once more before Christmas to have a look around the Christmas Markets. The location just cannot be beaten and we had a lovely room at the front looking out at Eyre Square and the Christmas Markets. The staff in this hotel are just so helpful, Lisa on reception and Karl is the most friendly and efficient breakfast waiter you will ever meet. Great for going shopping, dropping the bags back and going again. Bar is always busy and full of ambience, not just at Christmas but all year around. Would always recommend the Skeff for good service, friendly staff and location, location, location! Thanks

Room Tip: If you are lucky and get a front room overlooking Eyre Square they are lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kearnsgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here at The Skeffington Arms Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. Your comments in relation to the quality of our facilities and service are very much appreciated and will be passed on to our team here at the Skeff. We hope to see you again.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Myself and my sister booked the Skeff for a night away, I had never stayed here before so didnt really have any expectations. We arrived in Galway city and got parking across from the bus station, the hotel had no parking but they do validate your parking ticket, there are two different parking spots they do this for so double check with the hotel before parking so you know you can avail of the offer.
The Hotel was right on Eyre squre, and is a fantasitc location I dont think you coould have gotten any better or closer to all the action, there are plenty of pubs, clubs and shops (famous shop street on your right) along with the bus and train station 2 minutes walk from the hotels front door. When we arrived there was a fab christmas market outside the hotel on the square so nice to look around.We checked in around 3pm normal check in times and the reception staff were really nice and very friendly a blonde girl with a lovely personality checked us in, she told us the hotel could be a bit noisy but we didnt mind as we were there for a party! Our room was on the second floor number 216 we stepped into the lift and were greeted by an odd smell, not very nice and arriving on our floor noted the same stale stink, you have to use the key card to get onto the landing and after opening the door to the hall we were very happy to note the clean freash smell. The room was small but clean and the bathroom had a nice big shower. There was a little note beside each bed saying "Thank Crunchie its Friday" with a little cadbury crunchie bar beside it for each guest, I loved this idea, thought it was lovely...and yum :)
The food in the bar was nice we had some carvey wasnt anything special but the staff were fast, friendly and chatty which was nice. We headed out then didnt come back until very late where we were told we could drink in the residents bar id had my fill but the people we were with stayed up until after 4am and were happy with the constant flow of drinks.
The following morning we went for breakfast, you can have it to your room or in the breakfast room until 11am after that you can have it in the bar until 12pm (this is also check out time so bring your bags down and leave them in reception while you eat) I think 12pm is the latest iv ever been able to have breakfast in a hotel so that was a bonus. Once again the guy serving breakfast was really lovely, very chatty and friendly. We had the full Irish, it was very tasty along with the pancakes, also gorgeous. The morning paper was brought while we waited on the food.
All in all I was very impressed with this city hotel and due to the friendly staff alone I would 100% stay here again, loved it

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, as the club spills out onto the busy street and if your a light sleeper this might not be for you
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claddagh1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review to The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

I was delighted to see you enjoyed your stay in every aspect. We strive to offer a friendly homely well run hotel and take all comments on board positive & negative.

Again on behalf of all of us here at the Skeffington Arms Hotel, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best Wishes from all the team,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”

Visiting Athlone??

Check out our sister hotel Prince of Wales Athlone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews