We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff & location - noisy on weekends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent staff & location - noisy on weekends”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The staff is just WOW, a special thank you to the young lady on reception and to the young lad on breakfast ! They are just perfect and make our stay wonderful.
The rooms are very clean, recently refurbished, well designed.
The only negative point is the night club that can be heard from the rooms on fridays nights. But this was told to us on arrival, so there is no complaint there, they set up correct expectations when booking the rooms.
Parking 24h : 8.50euros.
Wonderful service !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamoizelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts of your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here with us and will be sure to pass on your comments to the team here at the hotel.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you all back to us on some future date.

Kind regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    151
    46
    30
    42
See reviews for
50
191
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff throughout !...We had intended to check out restaurants in Galway city, but ended up eating both nights in the Skeff !...fabulous food !! and the breakfasts were amazing !! ( and served up so professionally )....I always love a hotel that is the meeting place in a city....and the Skeff is Galway's !...........If I had any small complaint it would be that our room was a bit close to the late nite club noise, but nonetheless,on any return to Galway , we will be wanting to stay at the Skeff !!

Room Tip: Rooms closest to niteclub may be a bit noisy for some
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John209938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Skeffington Arms Hotel and for choosing us as your accommodation provider for your recent visit to Galway City.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to all here.

We hope to see in Galway again on some future date.

Kind regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed in the Skeff for one night in the middle of the Arts Festival. The staff at reception were extremely helpful in welcoming us and attending to our needs. The room overlooked Eyre Square and it was big, spaceous and airy. This hotel is in the heart of Galway and I will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Skeffington Arms Hotel and for choosing us as your accommodation provider for your recent visit to Galway City.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to all here.

We hope to see in Galway again on some future date.

Kind regards,

Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at the Skeff for one night. The staff - Super Friendly! Very helpful in getting around the city. Furthermore, we left some important stuff behind in our room, and they were all to kind in sending it to our home address. Overall, low key, affordable hotel in the center of Galway. Not the most luxurious place in Galway, but a great overall value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RIMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Skeffington arms Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and once again thank you for the kind review.


Kind Regards,

Lisa Nee

“Galway’s best kept secret”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed here a few times over the last number of months. My most recent visit was in May 2011.

I got a really warm welcome from the reception staff. I was given a complimentary news paper when i checked in. I was given room 215 at the back of the hotel. It is a quiet and very comfortable room. They have complimentary dvd selection available at reception to choose from. The wifi is complimentary as well. It is stronger around the reception area.

the bedroom was very clean. The beds are very comfortable and they have duvets on the bed. Their is an iron and ironing board in every room. They have tea and coffee facilities


I had a steak in the bar served with pepper sauce, served with hand made chips with a side salad, The steak was lovely and tender. The waitress was extremely friendly who served me as well.

They were advertising a movie night in the pub, but i prefered the comforts of my own room. They also had a few promotions for cocktails etc. But it was during the week so i did not try any of these mouth watering cocktails.

I had a very comfortable sleep and their was a nice selection on offer for breakfast.

Location

The hotel is directly across from the train station. It is located in eyre square in the heart of galway. Their is no need for taxis as everything is walking distance.

If you do take the train. You can get a few different bus tours around forster street location. The tourist office in located opposite the sculpture in eyre square.

Walks

If you want to go for an evening walk, you should walk down shop street around by an area called the spanish arch.

You can walk the coast road out to Salt hill.

Car

If you do arrive by car, you can park in a number of the car parks around eyre square as the hotel residents gets discounts in them.

Salthill

The Oslo Bar in Salthill and Lohans in Salthill do very good barfood and provide excellent service. Their is an aquarium their for the kids as well. I have not been in here so i do not know what it is like. Their is also a pool and leisure centre for the kids.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILOVEHOLIDAYS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Skeffington Arms Hotel as your base for your recent visit to the "City of the Tribes". What a lovely review ........are you free when we are writing our next brochure?

I was delighted to read that you rated our staff so highly which thankfully is a regular refrain within our guest reviews. We do pride ourselves in good customer services and also offering our guests the very best of food from breakfast to dinner.

Once again thank you for your kind review on trip advisor and please feel free to contact me directly on lisa@skeffington.ie when next booking.

Kind regards,

Lisa Nee
Front Office Manager

“Galway’s best kept secret”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

great location great staff need i say more we will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and tell others about your experience at the Skeffington Arms Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to giving you a warm Galway welcome in the near future should your travels allow.

Kind regards
Lisa Nee

Front Office Manager

“Galway best kept secret”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

A nice, small hotel well situated on a pedestrian street in the centre of old Galway. Our room was decent-sized and comfortable, overlooking Eyre Park, which was full of activity during the day, but the room was perfectly quiet at night. The only drawback is that you cannot drive up to the hotel or even stop nearby, but must leave your car in a public parking several blocks away and drag or carry your baggage from there.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Faraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeffingtonmanager, Front Office Manager at Skeffington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Skeffington arms Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and once again thank you for the kind review.


Kind Regards,

Lisa Nee

“Galway’s best kept secret”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 45 in Galway
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#31 of 45 in Galway
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#33 of 45 in Galway
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 45 in Galway
1,408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#27 of 45 in Galway
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeffington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeffington Arms Hotel

Property: Skeffington Arms Hotel
Address: Skeffington Arms Hotel 28 Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeffington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a stay in the heart of the city in a luxury hotel, with everything on your doorstep for that perfect stay in Galway, city of the tribes. The Skeffington Arms Hotel is ideally located in an enviable position, overlooking the newly refurbished Eyre Square, within distance of rail & bus terminals & just a short stroll from an array of shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. With just 24 bedrooms, a strong emphasis is on personal service and attention to detail, so whether its business or pleasure our friendly and helpful staff will make your visit an enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Skeffington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeffington Arms Galway
Hotel Skeffington Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing