We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardawn House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveler rating
370
75
33
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
75
33
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreyhound trackb bthanks mikegreat hostsbreakfast was deliciousfull irish breakfasttwo nightsrental carshort walkirish hospitalitytop floordowntown galwaybed and breakfastcommon areasyogurtwonderful staycomfortable rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 504 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our family group of 5 truly enjoyed spending 2 nights at Ardawn House with Breda and Mike. Both were welcoming and friendly--and they put on an awesome, generous breakfast with high quality, locally sourced foods. Breda has a way of making her whole establishment feel classy yet accessible. Afternoon tea with biscuits was a nice way for guests to get to know one another after a day of sight seeing or shopping. Galway is a wonderful city to explore, and Ardawn House is a great location from which to find music, great shopping, Irish history, and fun people. The rooms are clean, well furnished, and comfortable. Couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Our family had both double and triple rooms. Large, comfortable with good bathrooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jdmagnuson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here two nights and were looking forward to leaving after the first night. We were greeted by host, Mike. He was in a grumpy mood and not very welcoming. The room we had was dated and the walls in this place are very thin. We could hear goings-on above, below and across very narrow hall. The stairs to rooms above ground floor were narrow and creaky - we were awakened several times by people coming-in after a late night out. The breakfast was fine, but the overall experience was not very positive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rady A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My family of 3 stayed at the Ardawn House in Galway for 6 nights in early July 2014, having arrived by train from Dublin. The train station and bus depot are only a short 10 minute walk to the inn. Mike was there to greet us, explain the city's layout, recommend day tours, and check us into our room. Our room overlooked the front of the inn. The room was quite large and the bathroom, which can be tight in Europe, was more of an American lay out. Beds were comfortable and noise from other rooms was minimal. Because the inn is on a main road in Galway, it can be noisy until around midnight, with buses and lorries driving by. However, simply closing our window quited most of the noise. We never had a problem sleeping. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room overlooking the back garden.

We met Mike's wife, Breda, the next morning at breakfast. She is your server, and also an excellent source of information. Don't miss the breakfast. Several choices of meals, all excellent, coffee, several juices, cereals, and fresh fruit. Coffee, hot chocolate, tea and cookies are always available in the front lounge.

We spent our time in Galway walking around the historic town, walking on the beach, shoppping of course, listening to Irish music in the pubs and dining at many of the fine restaurants. For Italian, try La Trattoria on the High St. and for pub food, try The Front Door, also on the High St. The pub grub here is great by the way.

Day tours to Connomara (Kylemore Abbey) and The Cliffs of Mohrer/The Burren were booked by phone thru Galway Tours. They are great. Ask if Michael O'Malley is your driver. He did an excellent job. Michael Faherty's Aran Island Tours do an excellent job of transport to and touring the Aran Islands. We did the large island of Inishmore.

Our stay in Galway was wonderful, and we plan to return to Ireland in the near future to see other parts of the country, but we will return to Galway. I highly recommend staying at the Ardawn House with Mike and Breda. They are the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back garden side of the inn.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nmsmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night, our room was a bit shabby, tiny dark bathroom with tight shower. Our room faced a very busy street with lots of noise. The owner Breda is very nice, and the breakfast was fine, but the whole place needs updating. The couple we were with, had a room on the top floor, and the rain banged on the skylight all night. I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the top floor!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My cousin and I took our wives on a tour of Ireland. We stayed in two hotels in the major cities and bed and breakfasts between. We stayed at the Ardawn House for three delightful nights, enjoying the hospitality of our hosts Mike and Breda. The breakfasts were delicious, offering wonderful options. Our room was clean and comfortable and the walk to town was easy. We saw more of Breda who was a wealth of information and suggestions for exploring the area.
Jay and Kaye

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews