We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardawn House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardawn House
Ranked #17 of 193 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glens Falls, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was our second time staying with Mike and Breda. They are wonderful hosts who look after their guests like family. We arrived on an overnight flight from NY totally jet-lagged at 8:30 in the morning. They invited us in as our room was available and graciously let us catch up on some much needed rest. Smoked salmon for breakfast with the most amazing brown bread. Mike and Breda are avid hillwalkers, and gave us good advice on which mountains to climb in Connemara. A short, but memorable visit. We hope to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADK46er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    67
    30
    15
    10
See reviews for
128
181
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at Ardawn and we have found the location to be ideal for exploring Galway - around ten minutes walk to Eyre Square. Breda and Mike are excellent hosts, very obliging and always willing to help make a stay more enjoyable. The breakfasts are great quality (poached and scrambled eggs cannot be beaten!). There is always coffee and a range of teas in the lounge whenever you need it. The bedrooms are well presented and we have never had any problems with noise. The beds are also very comfortable. Looking forward to another visit in the future!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Within easy walking distance of downtown Galway. Very clean rooms and baths. Excellent breakfast. Breda and Mike were good hosts.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muzz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We've just spent 4 lovely nights in this quality b&b. Try the eggs and salmon or eggs and sausages for breakfast. Food is great! Mike and Breda are terrific hosts. Wonderful walk to all of Galway. Good jumping off point for the cliffs and conemarra. Would highly recommend to all!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Breda and Mike were wonderful hosts. They were very helpful with advice and provided a great breakfast with many options. The B&B is within short walking distance to the heart of Galway and in a very safe area.

The room was nice and very clean. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annual_traveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Within a few minutes walk of the city center, Ardawn House allows you to drive into Galway without the stress of driving through Galway. It also has a private parking lot so parking is stress free so long as you're used to fitting in Europe's tiny parking spaces. The owners were extremely friendly and the room was gorgeous. My husband and I were thrilled with the place and wish we had stayed more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lms15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My family and I stayed 2 nights. Mike and Breda were very welcoming and helpful giving us tips on what to do around the city. Mike suggested a trip to Connemarra and it was a great idea. The rooms are very well appointed and clean and the common areas invited you to linger.
But the breakfast... Breda how do you make such fluffy scrambled eggs!
There was a good variety and all is cooked to order. The smoke salmon was amazing!
The place is next to the Greyhound Race Stadium and there was a race one of the nights we stayed and the only reason I bring it up is because we did not hear anything! It is a peaceful, comfortable night sleep.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaBNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 2,375 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#23 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 stars 1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#8 of 193 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asgard Guesthouse
Asgard Guesthouse
#9 of 193 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardawn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardawn House

Property: Ardawn House
Address: Ardawn 31 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardawn House is a family run city centre bed and breakfast. We are located close to the tourist office and the coach station where all the day tour buses depart from. We have 8 very comfortable rooms all en-suite. We have free car parking and WiFi.In 2011 we completely refurbished all our room. We have a huge choice of breakfast and most of our produce is local and organic. Your hosts and owners are Mike and Breda Guilfoyle who have vast experience in the hospitality sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ardawn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardawn House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing