We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B in Galway”
Review of Ross House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ross House B & B
Ranked #99 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Walking into Sarah's b&b was like coming home. This is an incredibly warm and gracious environment with an excellent breakfast run by a totally accommodating woman who will absolutely help you out to the best of her ability. Ross House is clean, organized, calming and I can;t recommend it enough. If I am ever lucky enough to go back to Ireland, a return stay will be a must. After a jaunt in the hectic center of town, its nice to come back to.If you're too tired to walk to Salt Hill, its only about 6 or 7 euros away by taxi. If not, its a lovely walk along the prom.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellyeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 87 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

Ross House is in a great location – a short 10-minute walk to Galway city centre. The neighborhood is nice and quiet. Sara is a lovely hostess – very helpful with directions and places to go in Galway. Yes, the bathroom was small, but that is part of the adventure, and the three of us were able to share it and be downstairs by 8:30 for a great breakfast. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful – Sara’s pancakes and French toast are a must! Sara also went out of her way to help us retrieve our cell phone that we left at the previous B&B in Cork. We would definitely stay at Ross House again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My husband & I stayed at Ross House for 3 days and had a wonderful visit. Sara was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and varied from a full Irish breakfast to fresh fruit, according to our wishes. Our room was clean & comfortable. The location of Ross House was nice - a quick 10 minute walk took us into the city center & a 5 minute walk took us to Galway Bay. There was plenty of parking space and easy access to the highways. I would recommend Ross House to anyone traveling to Galway.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann43325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I hate writing bad reviews, but Ross House definitely merits a whopper. When we talk about Ross House now, my family joking refers to it as “Ruff” House. It was a huge disappointment. Yes, it is well-located from the perspective of being able to walk (20 minutes) to Salt Hill or (15 minutes) to downtown Galway. But don’t believe it’s unique. The area is scattered with B&Bs charging the same amount, and even during arts festival week, there is plenty of vacancy for walk-ins. We were even tempted to move out when we discovered Jurys Inn, located in downtown Galway, was offering large “American-sized” rooms (albeit without free parking or breakfast) at the price we were paying.

Ross House may be okay for average travelers who don’t expect much, but having seen what Ireland has to offer, and having traveled extensively in other countries, we were astonished by the level of service and so-called comfort at this B&B. Our room was a postage stamp – smallest room imaginable. It was the subject of numerous jokes after our stay, but during the two nights, it was the source of quite a bit of frustration. In her defense, the hostess had promised us a different room which was of “normal” size, but I changed the dates after the original reservation to a time when she had evidently planned some renovation. Still, this was a month prior to our arrival, and she never let me know that our normal sized room was to be replaced by a glorified closet. There wasn’t even running water in our room the evening of arrival because the bigger room’s bathroom was getting fixed. Not a big deal, I suppose, but at 90 EUROS a night for two adults and child, this was a costly inconvenience.

Describing the room is borderline kinky, but here are the unmistakable facts: 1) The bathroom was so small that you could literally sit on the (poorly fitted) toilet seat, brush your teeth in the sink hanging over your body, and with your legs extended, rinse your feet in the shower. God forbid you were heavy or tall! 2) The shower was so small that you needed to keep soap and shampoo on the bathroom sink. Any attempts to wedge them inside the shower stall were fruitless; they would be knocked over the first time you turned while bathing. 3) There was so little floor space in the main room that the suitcases blocked the single path to the bathroom, and there was actually a crevice cut out of the closet door to allow it to open by passing over the front door handle. 4) Also, while this wasn't a noisy area by any means, the walls were sufficiently thin so that you could hear not only running water but also (sorry to say) the bowel movements of our neighbors at 5 AM (no joke).

If the rooms weren’t enough, the breakfasts were a bomb – almost literally. Both mornings we awoke to a smoke-filled house because the hostess had burnt the toast. When we came downstairs, the windows were closed, but we were assured that the house had already been aired out. In addition, the food – which, to our chagrin, we had to pre-order upon arrival the previous afternoon -- was mediocre at best. Gone was the thin sliced smoked salmon we had in Connemara; instead, we had less delicate (smoked?) salmon steak, seemingly cooked and served cold. The store-brand yogurts had been purchased in bulk and were of the 4 oz variety. The coffee was literally undrinkable, and when we made a comment, the hostess made us feel guilty by offering an exception to give us one from a different machine which – for some reason -- usually came at a price. The eggs and French toast were a bit blah, “fresh fruit” included things like sliced unpeeled banana, and, my son’s hot chocolate was clearly instant.


One rather outrageous incident added a final blemish to the stay. When the hostess made up our rooms after the first night, she took the liberty to relocate and pile our suitcases in the pint-sized closet. Typically a guest’s personal belongings are off limits, and in this case, either because of the hostess’ "I know what's right" attitude and/or the undeniable fact that her room was way too small to maneuver comfortably, she displaced our suitcases which weren’t ready to be moved and stuffed them 'out of the way'. Not only was it unsettling to know that someone had manipulated our open suitcases, but it also required us to schlep them out one by one, resettle their contents, and once again “unpack” in the limited floor space allotted.

All in all, this was our least favorite B&B and we would never return. In spite of her politeness, the hostess made us feel uncomfortable, the environment was stale and unfriendly (the guests didn’t talk to each other), and our attempts to adjust the bill – given the fact that we lived in a room designed for elves which would have easily violated numerous OSHA standards – were met with stubborn coldness. For what we paid, this was not an honest value, and it reflects on the establishment as a whole.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Cherry_Wonderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Sarah was an excellent hostess. She was very friendly and gave us excellent advice and help. Breakfast was the best of our tour. Sarah made us pancakes one night and french toast the other night. While the house was a bit difficult to find, the location is a reasonable walk from both Galway city (walking Street) and Salthill Center. On our Aer Lingus driving tour this was the best B & B, of our 9 nights at 5 B & B's. Rooms were comfortable with a good shower. Paula wanted to swim laps and we went, one morning, to the Leisureland Pool. Incidently, the Leisureland websight has a excellent map. There is free parking across from the Salhill Center which is quite close. Salthill has a casino and a good Chinese takeout. Quay Street in Galaway is easy to reach and full of shops and restaurants. The original Claddagh village was in this area. Bill and Paula Smith, Milwaukee Wisconsin USA.
E-Mail: wsmith@milwpc,com

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwss1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

The service was fabulous. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed. The B & B was located in a great part of town. It was close to downtown and near Lower Salthill. The breakfast was great!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lblack75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

This BB is a it difficult to find. It is in a cul de sac that turns off of the main road with the same name. The cul de sac street is unmarked. An address sign for houses on this street is only visible from one direction and we were of course driving from the opposite direction.

We were pre-booked but the hosts seemed to have no idea that we were coming. When we arrived, the hostess was visiting with a neighbor. Gerry, her husband, was very nice and took us to our room. He admitted he didn't know that people were staying there but he was very kind, answered some of our questions and got to know us. He was funny and quirky and very pleasant.

Our room was clean and comfy. Wooden chair railings and a closet transformed into a dresser/mirror/counter combo were outdated but clean. The bathroom was a good size and had a clean shower with medium to light water pressure. The shower had no shelves or places to put personals.

When we got ready to walk into town we were approached by the hostess and given some advice for walking into Salthill and Galway for dinner and nightlife as well as how to dress for Irish windy chilly nights.

Being our first night in Ireland, jet lag had taken effect and we were disappointedl eady for bed at 9:30! The walk back to the house was short. The bed was very comfy and the sheets and bedding were high quality. We enjoyed our sleep! The room got very very hot but the windows open. Also, we found that there was a fan in one of the cabinets but we didn't find it until the next morning.

Breakfast was amazing! Sarah has a beautiful garden out back and grows her own strawberries. She will make you a breakfast of your choice: pancakes or french toast, Irish breakfast or eggs with toast. She offers a buffet with cereals, juices, and dried fruits. The tables were romantically set in an eating suite with antique decor and music playing. Very cute and quite elegant. It was husband's 3rd B&B experience and hs said, "I could get used to this B&B stuff."

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crimsonsinger12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,804 reviews
2.7 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,253 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross House B & B

Address: Ross House 14 Whitestrand Avenue | Lower Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $106 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ross House B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing