We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I booked a room here with a friend for a night out in Galway. Amazing value for money. Location is perfect, five minutes walk to shop street. Bedrooms were decorated far nicer than many 4 star establishments I have stayed in. Our room was nice and quiet. All of the staff were exceptionally friendly and the fact you can have an all day breakfast even after you have checked out was the icing on the cake. It felt like we were in a 5 star hotel. I honestly would not even consider staying anywhere else on my next trip to Galway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear olo14,

Thank you on behalf of all the team here at The Forster Court Hotel for your wonderful review and indeed for taking the time to do so.

We strive to offer 5 star service to all our guests and indeed it is truly rewarding that you felt you received this during your stay.

Galway is an amazing city and we are in a fantastic location here with all the city has to offer on our dooerstep.

Your comments are truly appreciated and will be passed on to all the staff. Hopefully you will get to make a return visit us in the near future.

Regards
Niall Coffey
General Manger
The Forster Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    322
    86
    38
    8
See reviews for
110
404
35
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spent 2 nights at The Forster Court Hotel. Good Location and exceptional Value for the Price. The Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Located right next to the Bus Station, The Hotel is easily accessible by Public Transport. Will plan on staying here again on my next overnight stay in Galway City....................................

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, Guest Relations Manager at Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Zhendrix,

It is great to hear from your response that you will indeed return again to stay with us here at The Forster Court Hotel.

Indeed for a weekend or a night away we have the perfect location to enjoy all Galway has to offer.

I will pass on your thanks to all the staff and we look forward to having you back to stay again.

Regards
Niall Coffey
General Manager
The Forster Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had an overnight in Forster Court Hotel and was very impressed with the refurbishment since our last visit a few years ago.
As before, the staff were friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. The rooms were well presented and given we booked through a special cheap overnight deal we found nothing to complain about.
Breakfast was served until 12 o'clock which is amazing, and even though we we arrived five minutes before it closed, (we went shopping!) the service was fantastic. The restaurant staff, including the attentive manager, could not have been better.
It's not the most luxurious hotel we've been in, but whatever star rating you look at, be it 5* or 3* it's down to the service etc., you receive in comparison to the price you have paid.

This was first class value in a well-run small city hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Geraldine B,

As a repeat guest it is wonderful to hear that once again you had a wonderful stay here at The Forster Court Hotel.

We have indeed undergone some refurbishments in the hotel and we are so glad to hear you that these enhanced your stay. Don't forget that our breakfast is served " All day" so there is never a need to rush. I will pass on your compliments to our service and management staff, we pride ourselves on offering the highest standards. We may not be 5 star but aim to offer 5 star service.

No doubt you will be back to stay with us again and we do look forward to meeting you on return.

Regards & Best Wishes from all the team
Niall Coffey
General Manager
The Forster Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a night in Galway and had an excellent experience at this hotel. The front desk staff was friendly, welcoming and very helpful. They provided us with excellent restaurant and pub recommendations and were very personable. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The room was large (the size of most American hotel rooms) and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel was in a great location, easy to walk around and get to things. Our only complaint was the lack of parking but they do provide discounted rates at the garage next door. All in all we had an excellent stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CleanPlateClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear CleanPlateClub,

On behalf of all the team here at The Forster Court hotel, thank you for your recent review and we are delighted that you had a wonderful stay here with us.

Our location in the heart of the city is second to none and we are indeed very fortunate to have such a good position in Galway.

Galway is an amazing city for a short or extended break and hopefully you wil have the opportunity to revisit us again.

Regards from all the team
Niall Coffey
General Manager
The Forster Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in this hotel during the Volvo Ocean Race 2012. Lovely hotel situated in the middle of town. Shop and tourist information center locate just down the street. The room i got was massive! Bed was double size and very comfortable. Room was spotless. Bathroom was the same! Food was beautiful. Staff friendly... I actually dont have a bad word to say about this hotel! Will defo be back to stay here again! Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOOMOO7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Overall the hotel was not to bad, BUT remember the hotel has no parking so that will cost extra, and is not cheap even though they give you 50% off, not made clear when booking!!, The worst thing was the lack of cleanliness in the Bathroom in the room, the walls tiles we starting to grow their own life forms. Would not go again, a shame as this is a good spot for the centre of Galway :o(((

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank MARY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear MARYB,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor and indeed your feedback is much appreciated.

As a city centre property we offer great value in parking with a 50% discount and the car park is located just around the corner. Unfortunately there is no where in the city where parking is free and we feel that this offers great value.

I am disappointed to hear that you felt our bathrooms were not up to standard and welcome you to contact me directly on any issues you had during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and do hope you take the time revisit Galway.

Regards
Niall Coffey
General Manager
The Forster Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights for the first half of our Ireland trip. It is half a block down from the train station (VERY convenient as we were riding the train in from Dublin Heuston Station upon our arrival in the country, and taking the train back across to Dublin for the 2nd half of our trip), about the same distance from the Eyre Square, the Coach station (especially convenient if you've booked bus tours), and about a 5 minute walk from the main pub/restaurant/shopping area. So if you're looking for a centrally-located hotel and want to save money on cab/transit fees, this hotel is a sure bet.

Our experience with the front desk was great; the girl was quick to give us a map with recommendations for good restaurants and pubs - she was right on all three recommendations (which I will review here soon).

To save some extra $, we booked the most basic room - double standard. The room size was just fine for us; it looked nice, but it is no frills.

Finally, can't beat the free breakfast in the mornings. What a lifesaver, especially when we were in a hurry and didn't want to have to walk to town and choose a place. We thought the breakfast (traditional Irish and porridge) was delicious, had no problems there.

If/when we return to Galway we are likely to return to this hotel. Thank you all for a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall051, General Manager at Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Claire F,

Your comments on Tripadvisor are much appreciated and we are so delighted that you had a wonderful stay.

Indeed we are truly blessed with location right in the heart of the city and I am so glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast, do also remember we serve it " All Day". I will pass on your kind comments to the Front Desk, all departments do their utmost to assist in any way.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again for another great stay.

Best Wishes from all the team
Niall Coffey
General Manager
The Forster Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#26 of 47 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#28 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: Forster Court Hotel Forster Street, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Galway
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off Eyre Square, the hotel offers you the freedom to explore Galway’s many attractions and festivals including the Galway Races, Galway Arts Festival and the Galway Oyster Festival.With 50 luxurious bedrooms and our newly refurbished "Elwoods Bar & Grill". The Forster Court Hotel is the perfect location whether business or pleasure. It has everything you want from a city centre hotel.With every need anticipated and no detail overlooked, Forster Court Hotel in Galway city centre offers style, luxury, relaxation and above all else professional and attentive service from our dedicated team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Forster Court Hotel - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forster Court Galway
Hotel Forster Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing