We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, Great breakfast and The mattress.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ard Mhuire Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ard Mhuire Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #151 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Yeovil
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great service, Great breakfast and The mattress.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

This bed and breakfast was a great expeience, the rooms were modern the bungalow was well looked after. The room was really warm at night even with the window open, and the mattress was uncomfortable. Great value and service, highly recommend a stay

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gloverlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
11
28
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Having staying in numerous places in Galway, this is the best there is. A small bit out of the city, but well worth the extra distance.
The owner and the other staff could not be any more accommodating and were extremely friendly to boot.
The breakfast was freshly prepared using the freshest ingredients, I cannot recall a better breakfast anywhere in Ireland. I note others have mentioned this, they are not wrong!
If coming to Galway and you don't want to be stuck in the noisier parts of the city, do not think of staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: The upstairs room was excellent, very large and very clean, a pleasure to speak in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

We had upstairs room with poor curtains. The room got light very early. Otherwise good Space and amenity.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed at the Ard Mhuire for one night in April. One of the best B+B's I have stayed at. Padraic was very friendly and helpfull, breakfast was extra good. Shall stay again, hopefully to go fishing next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megan1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed in the family room overnight in February 2012, the weather was horrible but not much could be done about that! the room was ok, if a bit small for a family room....there was no bath which was disappointing as we had two small children with us and as I say the weather was bad....we slept fine when the heating finally kicked in but was disappointed with the breakfast which was a bit too greasy....and the lady who served us never asked what the children wanted...we ended up giving them part of our cooked breakfast....it was a nice place but a bit too small for a family I think.....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annemarielisalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed in Ard Mhuire just before Christmas and the hospitality received was out of the top drawer. The room was clean and comfortable, the ensuite was bright and roomy with a good shower. After the excesses of Galway city the night before the breakfast the following morning was just what the doctor ordered. The accommodation along with the owner and host, Padraic, typified what the city is all about - welcoming, comfortable, friendly and making you want to return some day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cappakeelontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

I'm just back from a trip with friends this weekend and we had a wonderful time at the Ard Mhuire B&B. Really warm welcoming, clean and new rooms in a quiet area.
If you have a car that is THE place to stay in Galway at 8 minutes drive from the city centre.

Room Tip: You must have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canguine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
7.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,810 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard Mhuire Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Mhuire Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ard Mhuire Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ard Mhuire Knocknacarra Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ard Mhuire Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ard Mhuire Hotel Galway
Ard Mhuire b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing