We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively bar with an ongoing cocktail demo.”
Review of Bar Solo

Bar Solo
Ranked #217 of 469 Restaurants in Galway
Restaurant details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lively bar with an ongoing cocktail demo.”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is a lively Hotel bar, spacious, friendly and good value for food. Seemed to be a cocktail demo / lesson going on at one end of the bar with a group enjoying it and trying their hand at mixing cocktails.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, very busy”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Ate here twice. Both great. Was very busy - service was great to begin with but took awhile to clear plates and glasses (that didn't really bother me). They had music both nights. Good atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel bar”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Wonderful staff, great variety of drinks and a couple of good dishes to try. The Stirfry was well liked as was the toasted sandwiches. The Lamb Shank was under-seasoned and Hamburgers were not good at all.
Best part of the place is the staff. The bartenders (especially Cillian) are fantastic.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank placechristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We ate in the bar on Sunday evening and it was very good. I had the wings which where really hot, what you want when you order hot wings! For main I had the beef burger which was burnt when I got it but the waiter was more than happy to replace and was very sorry. Over all the food was great, if you forgive the first burger.

Helpful?
Thank Donnelly307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
184 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We didn't have the energy after a long day of travel to go find something to eat when we got in at 9:00, so we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant. We figured out after we had sat down that we went to the bar instead, but it was pleasant, so we stayed. It was packed with people (but not too much). Our food was pretty good, and we had no complaints. It wasn't exactly cheap, but it wasn't completely unreasonable either. A good choice if you don't want to leave the hotel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Breanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Solo also viewed

 
Renmore, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Bar Solo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing