We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Dela Restaurant

Dela Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 484 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: Irish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Season permitting we grow as much of our own produce as possible on our ever expanding farm located in Moycullen located on the proposed Galway-Clifden Greenway. At peak growing season our greens & eggs have a 'plot to plate' time of minutes. We love craft beer & brewing in particular. When we're not developing our own beer recipes we are always looking at the exciting Irish Craft Beer scene with an emphasis upon the newer smaller brewers. Our menus are inspired by the Scandanavian style of eating with an Irish twist.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited here on a sun eve, the restaurant was quiet but cosy. The bread & butter (pesto butter & sundries tomato butter) were amazing..so fresh and tasty. Overall the food was tasty, the menu options suit all. If you are looking are looking for a light snack or a hearty meal tis place has it all. I only had a glass of house red which was very nice and they do seem to have a good wine menu. The service was good and out waitress was pleasant and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose2012westmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmb1999, Owner at Dela Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2015
thanks you for the positive feedback - delighted you enjoyed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    69
    21
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Something a little bit different .....”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This restaurant is a little bit special. It's just off the City center, it's small but roomey! The staff are fantastic, friendly, chatty, with a great knowledge of the ingredients & took time & care going through the options available. My partner & I opted for 'a special' they had that evening - a choice of 2 starters + 1 sharing dish + 2 glasses of wine for €30. We also got some really nice breads & butters (1 which was pesto butter & was amazing!) while we waited for our starters. The food was excellent - all had a lovely selection of ingredients & tasty & comforting served in lovely relaxed surroundings! I will definately go back to try all the other tempting dishes on the menu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJG31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmb1999, Owner at Dela Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2015
Thanks very much for your kind review - much appreciated. M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“They are trying but just not good enough”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Second visit and really disappointed. Server got our order wrong, corrected politely but in this day and age you need to train your staff. My main course was fish and just about cooked enough, just and on cold plates. Veg side order swimming in water and cool. Dessert looked like a breakfast plate, poor and presentation was terrified. Such a pity after my last visit. Breads at start were nice but all the bitter dishes were messy and not chillied. Such a Shane, not sure I'll bother to come back

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank O Mc L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmb1999, Owner at Dela Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2015
O Mc L M - thank you for your review. We hope you had a change of heart re returning as feedback has been great on this current and past menus. Hope to see you at some stage. M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden Surprise”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Being frequent visitors to Galway, we are delighted to have found this little gem. We were given a flyer by a lady on Shop Street and decided to give the restaurant a go for lunch. We would never have found this place on our own as it wouldn't be an area we would have went normally. The outside was very inviting and we loved everything from there on. Service was excellent, food fabulous and we loved the ambiance - so relaxed and tasteful. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LORNA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmb1999, Owner at Dela Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2015
Thanks very much for your kind review - much appreciated. M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We tried to eat at the very busy restaurant across the road but it was over booked so we tried here as it looked very promising from the outside ( and so much cheaper than the organic place next door)
Waiter very attentive and said that they had a Spanish chef hence some of the menu influences.
I opted for the saffron clam and hake ( fantastic)
My wife the lamb shoulder locally sourced meat
Excellent
My starter was very good too - Giant prawns
Well done

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmb1999, Owner at Dela Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2015
Andrew M - thank you for the feedback, hope you had the chance to return since this review. M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dela Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Dela Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing