We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Une situation de choix à la porte de Galway”
other travelers have booked this property
Banba House..299 p/nite special for two nights-Ask for Special discounted rates
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Banba House..299 p/nite special for two nights-Ask for Special discounted rates
ASK FOR SPECIAL OFFERS.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Banba House..299 p/nite special for two nights-Ask for Special discounted rates
ASK FOR SPECIAL OFFERS.
TRIP ADVISOR EXCELLENCE AWARD   BANBA HOUSE ..A STRESS FREE ZONE
grand staircase
large private gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Galway, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
wisetrave...
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location in Athenry to enjoy family Get Togethers. A few deal breakers.”
Reviewed February 7, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Our extended family enjoyed a wonderful time at the Banba House. Ray was very friendly and welcomed us. We were 10 adults which the beds could handle. If you have several couples be informed prior that there are 2 rooms capable of 3-4 people sleeping in them, 1 with a small double for 2 children or adults and one with 1 small bed so 5 couples are tough. It is a lovely old home and has a few quirks like the hot water. It works if you keep hitting the heat button and wait 15 minutes. If 10 people need to all shower in the morning you better have early risers like we did. The internet rarely worked which is a challenge when you have US data plans and would like to plan a trip the next day. Also, we were very surprised with the extra charges a month after checking out. The deposit was huge but that is because there are a lot of extra costs that are kept. Exorbitant Paypal costs and exchange fees (even though we lived in Germany and wanted to pay in Euros) were taken out of our deposit. Also for costs it lists Electricity=50 Euro, Cleaning=100 Euro and then states Total Rent=xxx. Well even though the total rental fee comes after the Electric and the Cleaning Fee it doesn't include the cleaning fee & electric fee. A bit of a misunderstanding which left a bad feeling after a great trip.I tried to talk with the admin about my disappointment and she apologized, offered a free night if we are ever in Galway again (which we won't be in the time they own it) and said Ray would want to contact me personally which he never did. I wouldn't stay again but for those who understand everything you have to pay you will probably have a great time.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2018
Cheryl, thank you for your great review of your stay Banba House. I am so glad you and your group had a great time and that you loved the Banba House location.Yes indeed, our room layouts are very adaptable for all and varied group sizes, couples and families.
I am glad I was able to get there early and have a big fire lit for you and leave extra fuel to keep you cosy and warm during our famous Banba House welcomed arrival into' chat.
Beside the complimentary wines on the dining room table was the Banba info' manual that clearly shows how the new hot water system is operated. The new heating system works perfectly if used correctly and will provide 24-7 hot water. We do have an extra booster button for instant hot water which can be used as an extra if required..
It is always advisable to have your devices set up to work, send and receive when roaming in Europe. Full 4 G Internet wi-fi provided by Vodafone works perfectly and is free of charge. I use the same internet for all my business, it is 4G fast and efficient and was fully operational during your stay. I could have responded to any request for help as I live next door to Banba House.
Sorry about your USA plan not working in ireland.
All charges are agreed/ notified upfront when you receive your booking / offer.
We expect all guests to settle their bill in full.
Fully refundable deposit is required for all our bookings to ensure a more preferred style of guest.
We can not help you with your banking costs or exchange rates.
I would like to invite you to Banba again and hope that I can be on hand to help with anything whatsoever to make your stay the most amazing experience at Banba House in ireland West'
Kindest Regards
Ray Mcgrogan
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthieu...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Une situation de choix à la porte de Galway”
Reviewed October 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The place was really comfortable, quiet & well furnished...we quickly felt like at home. A large car park. Only 5 mn from Joyce's supermarket and 2 mn from local store (open at 7:00 am for bread !) just round the corner...5mn to Motorway, leading to Galway (30mn) & Dublin (2 hour to airport)...only 5 mn walk to the station...all together a wonderful situation ! Looking forwards to go back for new adventures...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2017
Oh La la. Merci mille fois or mille mercis de Banba. Banba Manor House Galway, you don’t need a car to get here !! Galway Main St 12 - 15 mins. Trains / Buses 2 mins from the house. Galway Express Bus runs all day, only one stop into Galway and until 2.30 am at weekends. Trains Dublin and Galway, we are on the main lines. Station is just a stroll away. Airports Dublin 2 hrs. Shannon 40 mins. Knock 45 minutes . Apple Inc. plant is 2 miles . Transfers Airport and Station transfers 24 / 7 Highways North-South and East-West highways. 2 km. Historic Athenry 1100 A D, it's beautiful. Visit our fully restored Athenry Castle. Restaurants 3 mins walk from Banba. Pubs 3 mins walk from Banba. Supermarket 2 mins walk from Banba. Schools 2 mins walk from Banba Doctors surgery 1 mins walk from Banba Churches 3 mins walk from Banba Music Ray plays Irish Traditional music in Galway every week. Arrival Buffet Ask for detail. Amazing food for your arrival. Banba House, Galway Main St 12 - 15 mins. c. 1890, this 3000 sq ft historic home. Private secure cosy and warm. Large corner lot, lush mature gardens,majestic Chestnut, Irish lime, with other broadleaf and conifer trees. Located on a smart, traditional, quiet, tree-lined street, literally just a three-minute walk to local pubs, restaurants, and shopping. We are rentaing and selling at a later date. Home away from home. Reviews on trip advisor on Banba and also Ray the owner. ———————————————----------- Review 2017... "Spacious Period Home,” Galway Centre a few minutes away: A dream vacation! ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ A large family group made the long-awaited trip to Ireland. Ray helped to make this the most memorable experience ever! Banba House was perfect for our needs and close to Galway as well. Ray arranged a number of tours for us with drivers who went out of their way to accommodate everything we wanted to do. We even went to the pubs in Galway when Ray played and had a blast. He was the ultimate host and the house was amazing...I would go back in a second (and hope to at some point)! Thank you all so much. Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
771chadb
Fair Oaks
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful House in a Fantastic Town”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I wanted to see Ireland and we wanted to be close to Galway. By sheer luck we found the Banba House in Athenry, just 25 minutes from Galway, but a world apart.

When we arrived, Ray was there to meet us at the train station and walked with us the 3 minutes to the house. Even though it is close to the train station, we never once heard a sound from it.

The house is so beautiful and taken care of, we wanted to stay forever. There were 7 of us total and never once did we run into each other, the house is just the right size. Ray prepared a feast for us for our arrival (I highly recommend spending the little extra for this luxury - We ate off of it for a couple of days).

We wanted to spend most of our time in Galway, but the village of Athenry was so wonderful, we mostly stayed there. Fantastics shops and places to eat. We counted 13 pubs in the small, three block village, and Ray told us that at one point within the last 20 years, there were 40-ish pubs. The people are so nice and welcoming.

We never wanted to leave. Sadly a week goes by quicker than you can think, and before we knew it, we had to leave. It was one of the saddest departures we have had. We will miss Ray and all of his helpful advice, and we will miss the luxury of staying at Banba House.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2017
Hello Folks, how nice of you to take time to review your stay at Banba House. Since our renovations over last winter and with all our updated improvements now in place, our guests are enjoying the quiet and comfort of Banba in our historic village of Athenry just on the outskirts of Galway. banba is easy to get to and as you don't need a car to get here or when you are here, there is a wonderful opportunity to stop the world and get off for a short while. Chill and relax !!!
We have the highway to Dublin and Shannon airports and now have an full executive airport pick up - transfer service. as scenic tours from the house. Thanks so much and we hope to see you again soon at Banba House. Kind regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ntunney5
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family trip of a lifetime”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My extended family of 15 people had a fantastic stay at Banba House. Ray and his family were very gracious hosts. The space was perfect with quick access to Athenry and a quick drive or train ride to Galway. Great memories! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
The house is really great since our recent renovations. Wonderful group of people. Banba House is perfect for larger groups.. Hope to see you again.. Kind regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie0219
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great house for a large family.”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The BANBA House is a few minutes walk to the train station and bus stop with a short ride to Galway city where there are great restaurants and pubs, live music and much to do for the entire family.
The owner, Ray went above and beyond his role as owner of the BANBA House. From the moment we arrived, Ray let us know he was available for anything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. He followed through on his promise as we called on him frequently. Before we arrived in Ireland , Ray arranged for transportation from the airport to Athenry for our entire family as there was a bus strike during our visit. Once in Ireland our group numbered 19 people as we were meeting other family members. Ray arranged private transportation for our entire family with tours to many popular sites. The BANBA House was an excellent choice for our family, but Ray's hospitality and genuine kindness helped make our family vacation a memorable and wonderful experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2017
Transportation is always something I am pleased to help with and arrange for you when you are coming to visit us in Ireland. Airport pick ups and drop off's and of course day and scenic tour transportation to all the visitors scenic sites all over the country direct from Banba House is definitely the only way to go. I am always available to help out in planning your trip before you arrive and it was my total pleasure to meet you and your lovely family group, great people. Dont forget we are selling Banba at the end of 2018 so if you are interested please let me know.
Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlytayl...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house with an amazing host”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Banba house is a beautifully maintained spacious property and made our stay in Galway thoroughly enjoyable.

In a great location, Athenry is only a short train ride away from Galway town and with the local shop and a friendly pub only a five minute walk away you can have the best of both worlds.

Ray was more than accommodating ensuring we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and even went out and brought us a brand new hairdryer after we couldn't find the one already in the house. He is extremely friendly and I would definitely like to return to Banba in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
A large group of lovely ladies away from home to relax for a few days, let their hair down and have a great laugh at Banba House. Thank you for coming to historic Banba House just a few minutes from Galway's main street. I hope yo see you all again soon. Kind regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrysutt...
Linville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great location walk to town, transportation bus and train”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This 100 year old house has charm and location
all rooms were nice with large windows
we would go back to stay it was that nice

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2017
Yes indeed we are very pleased indeed with the newly completed renovations and with all the great work now completed it has really brought the standards presented in Banba House to the highest levels. The new train and bus timetables have increased access to Dublin and with Main St Galway now just a few minutes away, it wonderful to have access to the historic city so easily.
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and your gracious comments and I am so glad you and your large family group enjoyed your stay with us. Do come back and see us again. Kind regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing