We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Great Service”
Review of 37 West

37 West
Ranked #127 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe Deli Wine
Co Louth
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Service”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was lucky enough to win a competition for lunch with bottle of wine in 37 West. I had chicken salad with soup and my partner had cheesy ham melt with chowder washed down with a lovely bottle of red wine. The atmosphere is relaxed and the service excellent. Gill is very friendly as was the waitress. We came back the following day and bought some gluten free buns to take home for my son. Overall a very enjoyable experience, will return. Thanks again guys :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FiFi64CoLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biawest, Manager at 37 West, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Fiona
Thanks for taking the time out to write such a glowing report! It was lovely to meet you and I hope you enjoyed your time in Galway.
I am sure your Son was happy out with his Gluten Free goodies! Tell hime to look out for 'honeybuns' stuff - they are yummmy!
Hope to cross your path again some day!
Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    36
    7
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Salads”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The cafe has charm it was very warm and had a country vibe about it which was lovely. Has extensive menu with great breakfast/ brunch foods as well as salads wraps etc Not much choice when it comes to hot food but their specials were nice. Service was ok, food takes a while to come out but cant fault it, just wouldnt want to be in a hurry. Have had a few lunchs here ad I always opt for the salads as they are delicious. moderate prices. Desserts were only ok. Would come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biawest, Owner at 37 West, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time out to let us know what you think!
We try and have a hote special everyday - but since summer kicked in we are opting for more salads as people want them! which is good becasue we love making them!
Sorry if at times the food is slow, we cook it all to order and certain items like Burgers and Fish cakes take time. But we are working hard to bring the rest of the food to pass as quick as possible!
Thanks again
Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really good food”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

37 west is a welcome edition to galway food scene. Tasty healthy good food.. Casual dining experience service was good. Wine available but restaurant closed at 6pm on Friday which suggests more day time dining rather than dinner with wine! Overall really enjoyed the food

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheStacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biawest, Manager at 37 West, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write!
Yes we close at 6pm - will push this time out in the winter though!
We do alot of private parties at the moment so kept busy after 6!
Thanks again!
Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a welcome addition to Galway Foodie scene”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Although a new restaruant this one feels like it going to be here for a long time. with an excellent well thought out menu and dont let the Idea of it having having input form some fitness guru put you off . there is plenty of choice here between Wholesome food and the 'healthy options'.
The chowder I had was top notch accompanied by a very tasty ham and cheese melt enjoyed in the a very laod back atmos. fine dining galway style no Rush no panic.
All in all a great restaurant with kind of price that make it an everyday treat,
i can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rosnarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biawest, Owner at 37 West, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write to us!
We loved reading your points of view !
Thanks
Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I'm in love with the food in 37 west!! The muscle builder salad is delicious! I also love how the menu is so informed, you don't get that much these days and its nice to know a bit about what your eating! Getting Pat Divilly on board was a great idea also! Healthy is CERTAINLY the new sexy!! Keep up the good work!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelEgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biawest, Owner at 37 West, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Rachel!
Thanks a mill for taking the time to write! You dont know how happy I was when I read your comments! Makes the dream a reality knowing I made the write move with the healthy is the new sexy approach!
PDF all the way!
Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 37 West also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to 37 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing