We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anton's Cafe

Anton's Cafe
Ranked #280 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, European
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Favourite Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just a quick line to say that the scrambled eggs with feta cheese and cherry tomatoes is a wonderful way to start your day! on top of this they serve excellent coffee and delicious scones... If you're passing do drop in!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jadi4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    3
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Okay. Ordered a toasted sandwich (ham, cheese and tomato) and my partner ordered a bacon, avocado with red onion marmalade sandwich. Two cups of coffee. Very good. Waited at least twenty minutes for our sandwiches. Restaurant not THAT busy. Well, my sandwich was most disappointing. The bread was good but the filling was limited or measured or just plain mean. I think a quarter of a small tomato was used. I got the tip of a pickle on my plate as compensation. Two small salad leaves. Partner's sandwich was disappointing too. Limited flavour. No taste from the marmalade. The entire ordinary meal cost sixteen euro. I felt let-down. I think maybe a new approach is needed. It's as if the restaurant grew complacent and the energy seems a little low. Brighten up. Throw in a few extra tomatoes, a bit of pizazz and I might return. Otherwise no chance. Sorry. Nice looking place but don't expect too much.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bogland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mighty little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for a late lunch at 4pm. Food was good and reasonably priced. Great homemade soup amongst other goods. Lovely berry and almond tart. Coeliac options too. Exterior could do with a wash but interior was grand.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carltoncarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A warm and comfortable atmosphere and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I spent time in Galway this past month, having traveled
from Canada.
I'd heard about your cafe through a friend and read about you
on line.
I have to say, I'm so grateful that I found you and that my
Guesthouse was so close in location.
Your staff was lovely. I had some fine chats with Eilis. Your
food was delicious and I was grateful for you accommodating
my request for smaller portions.
I would and will recommend you to any friends that choose to
visit Galway any time .
Thank you for making me feel welcome. Sure wish I had an
Anton's in my town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
243 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Great food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Anton's was recommended by the owner of the B&B we stayed at down the street. Great recommendation. It has apparently begun opening up for dinner just recently and the food was wonderful. Their prices are perfect, too. We were only here 3 days, but ate here 2 nights. Loved the salads and the pesto pasta. Heard that the tunafish sandwich is a great lunch option, too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FlyGuy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anton's Cafe also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Anton's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing