We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to be”
Review of Abbey View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbey View
Ranked #11 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to be”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

From the moment we stepped through the door we were welcomed with a spot of tea and a cozy room. Bernie was incredibly sweet and hospitable, and the bed was comfortable and the room was spacious. We had our own bathroom and enjoyed a close proximity to the sitting room. This b&b is just far enough away from town to feel like the country, but just close enough for us to catch our train in the morning (which Bernie was sweet enough to drive us to!). We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the morning and a yummy meal across the road at the hotel the previous evening. I would highly recommend staying here- you will wish you were returning no matter how many nights you have booked!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjstephe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    32
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
95
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed there for one night and this place is nice, clean with comfortable rooms.
We found out this B&B on our way and It’s was a great place to stay.
The owner Bernie is a lovely lady, very friendly and her welcome is very warm. She made a welcoming tea at our arrival and made us a tasty breakfast in the morning.
The B&B is conveniently located to explore Galway and the Connemara. It’s a good value for money
We highly recommend Abbey View

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Bernie is so great - I felt like I was staying with a relative! I spent a lot of time by the fireplace enjoying cups of tea and I extended my stay by 2 days. Without a car it was a bit challenging, but Bernie was so helpful (she even drove me to an interview!). The food at the Oak Cellar across the street was delicious too! I wonder if some of the loveliness should be a surprise - like the horse grazing outside my window or the cozy electric blanket or the yummy pancakes. I would whole heartedly recommend this place and if I return to Galway I will stay there again!

Room Tip: As a solo traveller I stayed in the en-suite at the end of the hall and was very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue_skysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerano di San Marco, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend felt like at home in this nice B&B. The owner Bernie is a lovely lady and she made us so welcome.
Everything here is wonderful. Bernie makes a big and tasty breakfast in the morning and ask if you want any tea or coffee when you return to the B&B after your day of traveling. In the living room a fireplace is always running, perfect to rest and get your tea.
We highly recommend Abbey View, just outside Galway.
Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matteodesmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed there for one night with my wife and son and its absolutely amazing.
Bernie- the owner is a lovely lady who will make sure that you feel like home. There is no problem with anything from a sandwich to inhalation set (my wife got a flu the day before travel).
The place is nice, clean and tidy with lavender on the pillows on the arrival ;)
Big living room with huge window and always running fireplace.
Breakfest big and tasty, perfect for a whole day of travelling.
I will strongly reccomend Ms Bernie and her house, cause over there you are gonna feel like in your own.
Deffinetly coming back :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbanowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Myself and my husband felt very much at home in this little B&B. The hostess Bernie was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very tasty and is located just a short taxi ride outside of city. After a night out we came home to heated beds with electric blankets. Overall a very friendly and welcoming B&B.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a lovely homely place where you are made so welcome. Roaring open fire, tea/coffee on arrival. The value for money is unbelievable for this little gem. we had electric blankets on both beds in the same room and nothing we enquired about was too much for the host Bernie. the breakfast was lovely, all grilled and even had the brown soda bread toasted for us. would highly recommend this b&b. it is just outside galway and a short drive to moycullen. the only downside of the stay was that there was no tv in the bedroom, other than that top quality.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,167 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.0 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey View

Property: Abbey View
Address: Abbey View Bushy Park | On N59, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey View 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbey View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing