We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbey View
Ranked #12 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“a home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

It was the most heartfelt welcome and service I ever had while traveling. After a good breakfast I received the best 'insider advice' for day trips. Then, when I returned, tired and full of new experiences after a long day out, I was greeted with a lovely cup of tea. The evenings were filled with interesting conversations by the fire place. I will be happy to return there, to me it was a home away from home.

Eire sa gra

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEireM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie M, General Manager at Abbey View, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi .
Thank you for taking time to review my bed and breakfast. I could tell you were having a lovely time visiting the area. I enjoyed our chats in the evening .Hope to see you in Galway again.
Bernie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    31
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
90
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and could not have asked for more! This b&b is exactly what you are looking for when it comes to charm and hospitality. Bernie is such a gem of a host; she makes you a wonderful breakfast each morning and takes the time to get to know you. She will give you spectacular advice on where to go and what to see, and always makes sure that you are completely comfortable and have everything you need. The entire house is extremely welcoming and makes you feel right at home the second you step foot in the door. You will not regret your stay here! Thank you Bernie!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Bernie is absolutely charming and always welcomes you with a cup of tea or coffee. We felt home from the first day to the last of our stay. Moreover, you can hire bikes in town (15 euros for a week!) and the city centre is only about twenty minutes away. We strongly recommend this B&B ! Adrien et Julie

Room Tip: Both seem lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice place with wonderful hosts! The hosts were extremely helpful, gave good advice for what to do in the surroundings, where to eat, and helped with all sorts of issues we had. Very good breakfast, we were offered tea and cookies right after we arrived.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We experienced a unique level of hospitality, warmth and genuine interest at Abbey View. We only had one night but wished we could have stayed much longer. The breakfast was very generous and nothing was too much trouble eg pancakes etc on top of a full breakfast. We were also given helpful directions and a map on leaving. Given the experience, the price was truly amazing. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Abbey View.

Marie and Jonathan (Dundee, Scotland)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Abbry view is conveniently located an easy ten minute drive from the center of galway. It was the perfect place to stay during the races. Bernie is truly wonderful. She is genuinely warm, attentive, and interesting. Little touches, like lavender on the pillows and fresh flowers in every room, create a homey atmosphere.
Her dinner suggestion, o gradys on the pier, was the best of the trip. The pancakes every morning were also delicious. Cant wait to return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimandben13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Honestly think the abbey view was the best B&B I stayed at while I was in Ireland. I'm a single 30 year old solo traveler and being at Betty's was like staying with family. The house in a great location as long as you have a car while visiting Galway although if you don't there is a bus that picks up close that Betty will help you with. She gives great directions and advise on what to do if you don't have a clue. She always will have afternoon tea when you get back with a little sweet snack! Across the street is a hotel and bar/ restaurant if you want to eat close and there is a nice walk back to a lake as well. Betty also did my laundry which was so nice since I was moving on to Scotland for 10 days and had been traveling for two without doing a wash. Stay at the Abbey View if you have the chance!
Thanks Betty!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
2.8 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey View

Property: Abbey View
Address: Abbey View Abbey View Bushy Park | On N59, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey View 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing