We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a lovely place to stay”
Review of Abbey View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbey View
Ranked #12 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hout bay
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“what a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We can only recommend the Abbey View, Bertie was most welcoming and helpful, she even did some washing for us. She was full of advice and recommended places to eat and see. Pity we didn't have more time to stay longer. The breakfast is a real treat, have the pancakes. It is also conviniently situated to get in and out of Galway. We'll be back next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanns b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    31
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
45
93
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I was in Galway at the end of may with my mates for our friends' wedding at Glenlo Abbey (literally across the road, can't miss it!). Arrived there the day before everyone else but never felt out of place. Bertie was lovely, waited up for me to welcome me into the b&b, gave me a lot of tips on what to do in Galway and served the best pancakes.
The place is clean and airy, the rooms are comfy and it really feels like home.
Town centre is only ten mins (or Euro 10) by cab and the surroundings are quiet, rural and so pretty!
Defo gonna stay there next time I'm in Galway - totally recommended!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank maxbr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie M, Owner at Abbey View, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I was delighted with your lovely review of my bed and breakfast,I know you had lots of fun in Galway with your friends over the few days.I look forward to your return visit maybe another wedding.
Bernie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I strongly recommend people to stay in this B&B if they're visiting West Ireland. Quite place close to Galway, with a nice hotel with a pub- restaurant near for having dinner or a beer without car.
You will see that it's true that Bernie, the owner, really make you feel at home.
Enjoy your stay there!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prupipho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Abbey View B&B with my husband and we loved it. The room was perfect, the pancakes delicious. Bernie's hospitality is wonderful. We could leave our car at the B&B and Bernie gave us a ride to the centre of Galway. She recommended good restaurants and helped in finding them. I asked about a laundromat and she wanted to help. We really felt at home. I would recommend Abbey view as a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie M, Owner at Abbey View, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Ireland including Achill Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is across from the Glenlo Abbey Hotel/golf grounds. Bernie is very accommodating, warm and welcoming. She makes a delicious Irish breakfast. You feel like you are staying in someone's home rather than staying in a B&B. If you are looking for something updated, you will want to stay somewhere else. But, if you are wanting to be warmly welcomed, Bernie does just that. We were exhausted of many days of travel, and one night stayed in & watched James Bond in the family room. She also has a computer you can freely use in the breakfast room. She will also wash your clothes-if needed. No other B&B in Ireland offered this service-very appreciated. You will enjoy walking across the street to the Glenlo Abbey for a late dinner in the lounge pub, great Guinness & Caesar salad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a great place and Bernie is a super host. We were glad to be on the outskirts of town with parking and easy access to Connemara. The grounds are lovely with a nice view of Glenlo Abbey which is right across the street where we had a great dinner. Bernie is so friendly and very helpful in suggesting sites to see and routes for driving.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie M, Owner at Abbey View, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review,I am happy you enjoyed your trip to Connemara and seeing where your relatives started out from.Enjoy the rest of Summer.Hopefully you will make it back to Galway sometime.
Bernie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at this B&B for just 1 night while visiting Galway City and also Connemara and other area's. stayed for 1 night and on our night out our taxi was only 10 euro away from all nightlife and restaurants in the city.
The place was spotless, charming , hostest very friendly and its fantastic value for just 60 euro for the night. Had a very comfortable sleep and everything we needed was provided instantly when requested.
Its a beautiful home kept to a great standard, convenient enough location to the city centre and the breakfast was also top quality (everything from cereal, yogurts, tea/coffee to a full irish breakfast works and all).

Would recommend this B&B and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie M, Owner at Abbey View, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of my bed and breakfast ,I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Galway,and you were so lucky to get a beautiful day to visit Connemara.Hopefully you will make it back to Galway again.
Bernie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,150 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,688 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
335 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.2 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey View

Property: Abbey View
Address: Abbey View Bushy Park | On N59, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey View 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Abbey View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing