We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, service, and atmosphere”

The Quay Street Kitchen
Ranked #10 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service, and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Going to the quay street kitchen is a must for anyone that's visiting Galway. We were really impressed with the standard of the food. The service was excellent. There were 2 staff and the place was packed, but we never felt like we were waiting too long. The staff were really friendly and the place has a great atmosphere. Great value for money as the food is excellent. I would definitely go back if I'm in Galway again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G-Murphy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,094
    366
    66
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

nice place to eat I had the chicken burger with sweet potato fries which were delish, great service by dark haired lady I think she owned it .. will be back

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice concept - average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We chose this restaurant for our dinner because I liked the vegan/vegetarian options on the menu and the nice atmosphere. Unfortunately the food didn't quite meet our expectations. It was good, but nothing exceptional.
I do have to point out the value for money though, as the servings are pretty big and we didn't pay much at all. Also, when the waitress brought me regular french fries instead of the yam fries I had ordered, she left them with us and still brought us the yam fries without any extra charge.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flurina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice for a nibble”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice place to have a nibble if you're not starving and they cater for a variety of dietary requirements. The squid rings could be crispier and there could be a bit more variety but I enjoyed the beef salad.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Tried here for dinner on Sat 15th with husband and daughter. Didn't have a reservation (it appeared they were taking reservations given that it was Valentine's w/e) but luckily, we got the only free table at the time. We were not disappointed. Starters, mains and desserts were all delicious. We couldn't fault a thing. We wouldn't generally be able for 3 courses but having had superb starters and mains we had to try the deserts also. The staff were incredibly friendly and very attentive. Service was neither rushed nor too slow. We were even told the ingredients in the chef's "to die for" beetroot glaze. Would love to try for lunch next.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quay Street Kitchen also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Quay Street Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing