We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great penthouse apartment, great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Roof top terrace of penthouse apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Roof top terrace of penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
126 reviews
Roof top terrace of penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Penthouse apartment
Standard Apartment
Penthouse apartment living room
Penthouse apartment living room
Two Bedroom Standard Apartment Master Bedroom
Two Bedroom Standard Living Room
Kitchen
Two Bedroom Standard Apartment Master Bedroom
Standard Apatment Living Room
Two Bedroom Standard Apartment Twin Bedroom
Standard Apartment Sea Facing Balcony
Standard Apartment Sea Facing Balcony
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Front of the house
Salthill Beach
Front of the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Galway, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 126 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Norwegian first
Polish first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
JaneVR
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great penthouse apartment, great location”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent 5 nights in one of the penthouse apartments and had a fantastic time. Plenty of room, nice and clean well decorated, everything you need. Could just do with some more hot water. Great location was in. Walking distance to everything and the view was amazing. Will definitely be back again and would recommend to our friends.

Date of stay: October 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Galway Bay Sea View Apartments. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tccole35
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We travelled as a group of three adults and and eleven year old child. We chose a two bedroom apartment and it was perfect for us. From start to finish it was a pleasant experience, I called a few times to check certain things and every staff member I spoke to was more than helpful. When I called to ask if we could leave our bags somewhere as we would be arriving early, I was told that every effort would be made to have the apartment ready for us to check into early and it was! The location is SUPERB!! Literally right on the sea front close to the promenade, restaurants,, cafe's, bars and shops. There is a regular bus and taxi service outside the apartments and plenty to see an do around you. The views are spectacular from the balcony and an early morning wake up to see the Sun rise is a must. You will not be disappointed in these apartments. I will definitely be returning! Enjoy!

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and service provided by all staff
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibstravel...
california
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“After a bump - the perfect stay!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived to an "ok" apt and then realized that one of the rooms smelled moldy and like fresh paint (a horrible combination). After a LONG drive from Giant's Causeway (literally across the country) and 1 hour of trying to find the place, it made us very cranky. Turns out there was a ceiling leak and, instead of fixing it completely, there was a fresh paint job. The bathroom was also old and needed some major TLC. After spending the night in the living room, they ended up moving us to the top floor. What a difference! It was like a completely different hotel. Roomy, spacious, gorgeous view from the rooftop balcony/deck. Hot water and washer/dryer took us forever to figure out - so make sure you get very clear instructions on how to "turn on the water heater". It's on a weird timer. But everything else was pretty perfect. Super fast wifi, clean kitchen, including a water boiler.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya H
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
“Perfect stay , perfect place , perfect location - Just perfect”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

From the warm welcome we got when we checked in i knew we were going to love it here.
The apartment was divine - we had booked a two bed penthouse & the panoramic views were just breathtaking - what a way to wake up every morning i tell ya ...just fab .. we were all catered for i.e - Travel cot & high chair had been left for little one which was sooo convenient .

OK limited utensils but ALL the essentials were there - i.e - tin opener, corkscrew etc - i mean your self catering after-all & there were plenty of family eateries 5 mins away or the city a lovely 20 min stroll or the bus outside the door . What more could you ask for .
We are only home a few days & are already booking for next year :)

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location , convenience , car parking on site ,
Liked least: If i had to be critical i would suggest curtains in living room , even if thin .
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen9...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location for a great trip to Galway”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely property situated on Upper Salthill road about a 10 minute taxi ride from Galway city. The property is actually part of a renovation of the Waterfront hotel. The room I booked had two generous sized bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen and a living area. Also, the balcony offered absolutely stunning views of Galway bay.
We arrived in Galway at 7.30pm and made our way to the secure entry door, I telephoned the number supplied and was given the code for the door. As there were no staff on the premises at that time, the keys to my room were in a key safe box which was opened under instruction over the phone. I had paid a 15% deposit and had received instructions to contact Malachy (the caretaker) the following afternoon to pay the balance. I found this quite relaxed and I did appreciate the fact that we were not rushed into anything as we were quite weary from our journey. The owner made it very easy for us.

There are a few shops, bars and restaurants in Salthill. Everything you need is on the doorstep. Almost next door to the building is a lovely restaurant called Lohan's. Although we only did have breakfast here the staff were really friendly and the food was good. At dinner time, you can buy wine from the off licence next door and take it in to the restaurant to have with your meal.

We walked into Galway and spent a lovely day walking around the city. The cathedral is a must see and the museum was great. There are plenty of shops and Quay street is a must for bars and restaurants. It was difficult to pick, but my favourite bar of the trip was Taaffes on Shop street. Great live music and a friendly laid back atmosphere. Pretty much Galway in a nutshell!
We also took a lovely walk along the promenade all the way to Knocknacarra. With views across the bay to the Clare mountains, the scenery was simply stunning.

If you are looking for accommodation at a reasonable price this is the place for you. Galway is a very friendly place and if you ever get bored of the many (many!) pubs, then there are plenty of activities to fill your days. We didn't quite get round to visiting all of the pubs so I'll be going back soon.

Go raibh maith agat Gaillimhe, bhí sé spraoi!

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views over Galway bay.
Liked least: To be honest, there were no down sides.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isi22
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I hoped this apartment would be as good as it looked online - and it was! Location is perfect with view over Galway Bay and even a little balcony where we could enjoy the September sunshine. Great parking facilities and a lovely welcome from Johanna. A lovely 30 minute walk into Galway City or a bus from the front door. Apartment is well equipped and I would definately stay here again

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Galway Bay Sea View Apartments. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinbK7...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good accommodation, but.....”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the spacious apartment which had a brilliant view across the bay to the Burren. The booking process and welcome by the caretaker was excellent, as was the prompt service in replacing a faulty toaster. I would have rated the accommodation as excellent, but the apartment had a spartan feel about it. The sitting room didn't have any curtains, and the kitchen was lacking in utensils. We had a microwave, but there were were no plastic utensils to use for cooking. Although this was a bit of a spoiler, I would still recommend the accommodation and its position - since it is ideally positioned for visiting the surrounding area both north and south of the bay.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the apartment and its view
Liked least: Lack of kitchen utensils
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing