We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Penthouse on The Prom! Spectacular Galway...”
other travelers have booked this property
Roof top terrace of penthouse apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Roof top terrace of penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
121 reviews
Roof top terrace of penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Penthouse apartment
Standard Apartment
Penthouse apartment living room
Penthouse apartment living room
Two Bedroom Standard Apartment Master Bedroom
Two Bedroom Standard Living Room
Kitchen
Two Bedroom Standard Apartment Master Bedroom
Standard Apatment Living Room
Two Bedroom Standard Apartment Twin Bedroom
Standard Apartment Sea Facing Balcony
Standard Apartment Sea Facing Balcony
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
King Size bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Twin bedroom in the Penthouse apartment
Front of the house
Salthill Beach
Front of the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Galway, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Norwegian first
Polish first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
TraceyHur...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Penthouse on The Prom! Spectacular Galway Bay Views.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Over the years I have stayed in many self catering apartments before and visited the West of Ireland annually for decades. The 3 bedroom 3 bathroom Penthouse apartment at Galway Bay Sea View apartments is definitely one of my top rated, and I would say that I have quite high standards especially with cleanliness even checking under sink taps and in shower trays...all clean here.
We had a great experience from start to finish. The booking process was perfect even though I changed travel dates and changed from a 2 bed to a 3 bed there was no problem. Great communication from Joanna. We arrived early and it was just a quick phone call to the caretaker Malachy who was there in a minute to welcome us with keys and gave us all the info we would need on the apartment as well as great recommendations for local attractions and restaurants. Most self catering accommodations just arrange keys for collection so we were very happy with this great friendly welcome.
The views from the apartment are spectacular around the whole of Galway Bay and across to the Clare mountains, absolutely breathtaking and uninterrupted, this alone would make the apartments stand out from the others.
It was lovely to find that everything was perfectly presented in all bedrooms , the lounge and the kitchen. Everything was spotless and clean. Bathrooms were well stocked with crisp white towels, plenty of toilet rolls, little complimentary Lux soaps which I love, and small shower gels which is not usually expected or provided in Self catering accommodation but was welcome as I had forgotten my shower gel.
The WiFi was great and I had no problem connecting my iPad, iphones and laptop to this with great reception. Lovely 32 inch LCD Tv in the lounge with HDMI connections if needed. Showers were perfectly hot and powerful enough for us and lovely clean fresh neutral tiles everywhere. Everything worked as it should. Storage heaters were great for keeping warm when needed. Great little Dimplex heaters in the bathrooms above the doors so could put them on after a shower. Malachy explained the easy to use Water heat boost button was available if needed more hot water though we only used this a couple of times over the week when we did a lot of washing and a few baths.
Kitchen was clean and well equipped with cooker, pans, dish washer, toaster, kettle, microwave, fridge, white dinner set, so everything to make it home from home and perfect for family holidays. We had lovely breakfasts , lunches and dinners on our gorgeous terrace overlooking the sea, I even brought my battery operated candle to put on the table out there so it was just lovely, better than any restaurant views.
The parking was great and always got a space there, with lights that come on automatically as you drive under. Good to have an elevator lift to all floors as we were on the 4th floor. Nice leather seating areas by lifts and in lobby, with a selection of books there.
Bedrooms had lovely easy to use child safe blinds on all the windows. Bedrooms had plenty of drawers and wardrobe space. Fresh white bed linen and plump pillows and very comfortable King Size beds in all bedrooms. The lounge had lovely french opening doors to the terrace which was large enough for our children to play on happily. Nice leather sofa and 2 comfy chairs for relaxing in. Big dining table in lounge and also 2 table and chair sets on terrace.
Great location with so much to do on your door step. Bus stop outside door for Galway though we took a little Tour on the Galway Tourist Train that goes from Salthill to Galway taking in all the sights, we really enjoyed this. We also visited the Salthill Galway Atlantaquarium a few minutes walk away. In the other direction a few minutes walk away is the Perks Fun Fair ( summer season) we all enjoyed this, you can get a wristband for 2-5pm or 6-9pm to give unlimited rides. Then next door for rainy days there is the indoor leisure centre and swimming pool with a great water slide, and a pirate ship for the kids. They have a sauna and steam room and even a Super session for the kids in the day with pedalo mini boats in the pool and a huge inflatable assault course in the pool....kids loved it here and great value at

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, Location, Beach front, Amazing Views, Friendly staff, Penthouse and Terrace brilliant.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: The smell
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andee110
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Spacious, nicely appointed, gorgeous view, convenient location, good management”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We spent 3 nights here. Underground parking was always available. The bus to/from Galway City Centre stopped right outside. There were plenty of good restaurants within a very short walk. The living room and bedroom overlooked the bay, which was lovely. The building has a lift, which is nice for bringing luggage upstairs. Washer/dryer right off the kitchen. Plenty of storage space. Good Wi-Fi connections. We had one small problem, which was resolved immediately and pleasantly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space
Liked least: two faucets in the bathroom sinks
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha044
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend at these apartments”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at these apartments.

Very clean and spacious and bright. The view from the huge windows and the balcony is breathtaking. Apartment had all mod cons and is in a terrific location in the centre of Salthill on the seafront.

We will be back to stay here again and recommend these apartments very highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget B
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Ocean views - Decent Accomodation”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My sister and I spent 6 nights in one of the 2 bedroom units with 2 friends of ours. Having been to Salthill & the Galway area many times before, I knew the views at this apartment would be incredible, which they were. The location of this apartment is perfect as it is across the street from the waterfront and only a 20 minute walk to Shop Street / Galway City. Despite the location and the views, I was a little disappointed with the apartment itself. It wasn't as clean as I would have liked, in that there were many stains on the chair cushions and bed linen and some of the dishes were dirty. Overall, it was a nice place and I would stay here again. I just think for the price and the way it is advertised, it would be nice if the apartment was thoroughly cleaned in between guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breathtaking views & Location to Galway City
Liked least: Wasn't as clean as I would have liked
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W
Keller, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Troubled Stay - Not Recommended”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Arrival and Check-in problematic, no one on duty at desk. Issues with water pressure during stay (it actually quit twice, therefore no water for showers, toilets, sinks, etc.). Had to supply own toilet paper and kitchen towels as bare supply (not enough for four adults) available when we arrived. View was fine, Decor was interesting and noise from road at night for bay facing apartments was a problem (either stand the noise so as to get air or close windows and cook).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from balcony
Liked least: Water pressure issues and lack of necessities.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cats42
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Family friendly apartment, great location”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Just back from a fantastic week at the Galway Bay Sea View Apts. We stayed in the 3 bedroom/3 bathroom penthouse apt (4 adults + 2 children). The apt was very spacious with plenty of room for all six of us. It had everything that the advertisement said, very clean and fully equipped kitchen. The children loved the huge roof terrace, with spectacular views of Galway Bay and Co. Clare mountains. Leisureworld(fab swimming pool) is just around the corner and the bus for Eyre Square stops right outside.Fantastic base to explore the rest of Galway. Home from home really :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very spacious and comfortable - home from home
Liked least: ran out of hot water very quickly, needs a few more doorstops
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing