We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place with very good food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasserie On The Corner

Brasserie On The Corner
Ranked #15 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving the best sea-food dishes created from the freshest fish, straight off the boat, top quality locally-sourced steaks, vegetarian dishes crafted from the finest local seasonal produce and an extensive wine list with over 40 wines from boutique vineyards around the world. Brasserie on the Corner offers the very best in upscale casual dining with dishes that are expertly prepared then served simply in a buzzing yet relaxed atmosphere. Menus have been carefully created using the best quality ingredients from local producers such as Renvyle Mussels, Gannet's Fishmongers & McGeough's Butchers. This is food with a sense of place from Galway's great natural larder. Brasserie on the Corner opens daily from 11am until 10pm serving lunch and dinner.
Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun place with very good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Very good drink selection by the glass. Service friendly and attentive. I had the pre-theatre menu which cost very little for a restaurant of this calibre. I'd skip the desserts--get a nice glass of Irish coffee instead.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank onebigepicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    202
    37
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed in Galway for 1 night and ate here. Really good food, brilliant service, staff were lovely and friendly. Brought our 3 yr old and they were very attentive to her also. Colours etc provided. Kids meal was to adult standard which was great. Recommend eating here if looking for something special.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LGosling78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Absolutely Devine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I booked to eat here for a birthday dinner over the Easter. From start to finish everything was exceptional. We were greeted promptly and our jackets were taken. We had a pre dinner cocktail at the cocktail bar adjacent to the restaurant and the barman even made up one or two to suit our individual tastes.

The lighting and colour scheme along with the background music made it a warm, relaxed, inviting and cosy atmosphere in which to dine.

Service was second to none and the food was mouthwatering from our starters to deserts. Our waiter had full knowledge of how each dish we chose was cooked, and what sauces etc it was served with. The scallops starter were so delicious I can't wait to go back just for them!

Absolutely Devine and cannot wait to return.


Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank LeeCGaillimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not up to Par”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just ate here with my mom and husband. I had the Prix fixe menu which started out promising, the mussels were fantastic, so I was excited for my lamb shoulder entree. I was very disappointed with just how bland it was, no amount of salt in the world could bring out the flavor. My mom had the fresh cod, which was fresh and also bland. My husband had the roasted chicken breast and that was dry and bland. All of our mains were not eaten entirely. Our dessert was amazingly delicious, creme brulé with raspberry compote and vanilla ice cream. It put a smile on our faces and made us forget about our lame entrees. So our experience was so-so, good luck with yours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brasseriegalway, General Manager at Brasserie On The Corner, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Jenelle C

Thank you for your recent review.Great to hear that you enjoyed the Mussels & Desserts, Surprised and disappointed with the your feedback on the your Main Courses which are all very popular dishes on our menu and from great local suppliers McGeough's Butchers, Oughterard and Gannets Fishmongers, Galway City. If you had brought this to our attention on the night we would have gladly changed the dishes for you. We take all comments and feedback on board and use them as a tool in striving to exceed our own standard of great food and service and our customers expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to Brasserie on the Corner in the future.

Kind Regards

Eimear Killian, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brasserie have nailed it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Everything from start to finish was perfect, friendly professional service, wonderfully cooked flavour full food, warm relaxed atmosphere! Even the music in the bar was spot on! Cannot fault this
wonderful restaurant.... Well done Guys!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Brikeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie On The Corner also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Brasserie On The Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing