We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting, OK food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bridge Mills - CLOSED

The Bridge Mills
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
171 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, OK food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ate here the first night in Galway after seeing it as we walked along the river. Ate on the back deck (which gets a little chilly as the sun drops behind the building) but couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setting - even got to watch some kayakers. Food was good but not great. Had an italian pizza. The goat cheese salad was really fantastic though. About 20 euro pp. Would return especially if it were a nice day and I could sit outside!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jknd02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delightful meal overlooking the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was looking for a quiet restaurant out of the way of the race week revellers, and went here on the recommendation of Sorcha at the Herons Rest B&B. Very pleased. I had scallops with tempura asparagus and grilled chorizo and a lovely glass of Sauvignon Blanc. I was given a table right over the river so it was very pleasant to sip and watch the rapids. Piped music a mix of Leonard Cohen and Irish trad.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank alyson_bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant by Corrib River in Galway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

When we were walking along Corrib River trying to find a restaurant to have dinner, I noticed this restaurant by the river. Different from other bar restaurants in Galway, this restaurant offers delicious food, excellent service and comfy space. The atmosphere is great and relaxing,not too noisy as bars are. The staff is very nice and friendly. If you sit outside, you can see beautiful view of the river. If you sit inside, the candles and decor make you feel warm and comfortable. We really had a wonderful experience here. I’ll definitely recommend my friends to dine here if they go to Galway!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great setting, limited menu, ample service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The setting was really good. Outdoors overlooking the Corrib on a sunny evening was lovely. Even got a view of a local Otter in the river....a real bonus!

The menu was a bit limited and would have liked to have seen a few more options. The food was well presented and tasty but lacked a wow factor. A busy evening in the restaurant and the service was a bit rushed and lacked the personal touch so often found in Galway.

I would most definitely return for the location and would hope the menu is a bit better next time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A hidden gem: Great food - great service - great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We accidentally found this restaurant because all the other restaurants at Quay street were full - but in retrospect we can be glad. The location is very nice: close to the River corrib and above the old mills canal, it couldn't be much nicer. The personal is very friendly and gave us a lot of good advices on where to travel. We ate monk fish and salmon - both were excellently spiced. The white wine was very good too. I can't think of anything that could have been better - except for the table mat maybe: it was a little hippie-sh :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreddyFresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bridge Mills also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing