We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleaning poor & shabby details”
Review of Travelodge Galway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Galway
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cleaning poor & shabby details”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Very poor cleaning in the bathroom. Urine stains down the toilet bowl, yellow stains on the bathroom floor. Black mould on bottom of shower curtain & on tiles. Fixtures - bathroom rail rusting, door handle surrounds missing & shower control knob/button missing! There was also a lot of dust & sticky looking substances around socket, wall switches & the remote control.
My friend & I stay in February 2014 & the staff were very apologetic & they gave us two lots of vouchers for a complimentary breakfasts because when we first complain the toilet had been cleaned but not the floor. Plus they also offered us complimentary drinks but unfortunately for Travelodge Galway, we won't be staying there again or recommending to others but we will be spreading the words of disgust!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacstardoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

I do regret you had such problems during your stay. We at Travelodge Galway try our best to maintain high quality service for an affordable price. All feedback, positive and negative, is most welcome and is essential for us to uphold our standards and continue in improving them.
Being a highly busy hotel, it is possible housekeeping had an oversight in regarding to your room and for that I truly apologise. By the sounds of it our staff members did their best to address the situation and offer you adequate compensation.
However, a quick glance through our large volume of reviews will highlight such problems are a rare occurrence. Nevertheless, we will be going through your complaints with a fine tooth comb and will do our utmost to address the issues you outlined.

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    200
    99
    49
    49
See reviews for
127
223
47
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

i stayed here on 15th february for the 2nd time, It was the most nicest best stay I have ever had in this hotel and stayed here once before. I stayed here with 2 other friends and we had plenty of room

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Aishling R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for your kind comments!
All feedback is extremely valuable for us and I commend you for taking the time to post this review.
We do hope we can welcome you back sometime soon.

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

It's a Travelodge, so you know what you're getting: basic room with no extras; chair that doesn't reach the desk, so forget about getting any work done, etc.

Pros:
Good location, and plenty of parking. You can walk into the city centre in 10 minutes, and reach the major roads very quickly.

Cons:
For February, it's seriously over-priced. Mid week rates in 3 star hotels in Galway are on a par, and you get much more for your money - luxury, room safe, free wifi, etc. Of course, that changes as the year progresses and prices rise in the good hotels, but there's no reason to stay in a Travelodge in a city like Galway in February when you can stay in much more luxurious hotels for the same price.

Would I come here again? Maybe in June, when the other hotels cost 3 times as much, but not during the quiet months.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dags S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all thank you for acknowledging the positive aspects of your stay. Both good and bad feedback are as important as each other and all comments help us in some way to improve our services.
On the subject of room prices; Travelodge Ireland pride themselves in being consistently competitive in the rates that they offer. The best rate is always found online at Travelodge.ie and if you book in advance, it is truly rare that we will be beaten!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a night on the town. Excellent value, room was spotless. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful in helping us to order a taxi etc. Would highly recommend to anyone and is very good for people on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruanfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank You for your kind words!
Providing a high quality service at the lowest cost possible is one of our aims here at Travelodge Galway. Value for money is paramount for us and the fact that your comments echo this sentiment is truly rewarding to read!
We hope we can welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Travelodge Galway City. 5 of us came over for the rugby. The match result was not good but the stay at the hotel certainly was.
Rooms spotlessly clean, breakfasts excellent value at 8 euro and the staff very pleasant & had some great banter with them.
Would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation!
We are glad our hotel service could be on some consolation through what was surely a difficult time for you! I hope we can see you back for another successful stay at Travelodge Galway. Likewise, our best wishes to the Welsh rugby team next time around!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

For €47 for the night for two people, this was excellent value on 29th Dec '13. The room was very clean, receptionist was very friendly, hotel location was very easy to find. All in all, a very good choice for a bed for the night while travelling to Dublin airport. Just a straight road for 2 1/2 hour drive to Dublin Port or Airport.

Room Tip: I think it was room 2, on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you kindly for your great review!
Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us here at Travelodge Galway.
We hope we can welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the future!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

stayed here recently very pleased, will use again, close to galway city.great staff very helpful.nice bedrooms,breakfast very good,rooms very clean,have no complaints at all,the travel lodge was just what we required,price very cheap for 3 people.will let my friends know about this place if ever they are planning to stay in galway

Room Tip: room for 3 people, double and single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dev1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hi Margaret,

Thank you kindly for your review.
Customer satisfaction is incredibly important for us so it is fantastic to hear you had as pleasant a stay. I hope we can welcome you back sometime soon!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.0 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,074 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.4 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#7 of 45 in Galway
469 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Galway

Property: Travelodge Galway
Address: Tuam Road | Joyce Roundabout, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Galway Hotel is situated on the Tuam road 1 mile from Galway City Centre. We are just minutes away from the main link road that services many of Galway's busiest industrial and retail parks, Galway Race Course and Galway Airport. Whether its business or leisure, our staff will ensure your stay is a pleasure. This modern property offers comfortable spacious accommodation and is an ideal base for your visit to this vibrant Galway city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Galway Hotel Galway
Travel Lodge Galway
Galway Travelodge
Galway Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing