We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel, well located”
Review of Travelodge Galway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Galway
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel, well located”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed 1 night on 1st August as we were going to Ladies day at the Galway races. The hotel was full however they could not have been more accommodating in doing their best to check in all the guests before midday so that they could get ready for the races. The rooms were basic but comfortable and spacious. Our room was on the road side but we weren't disturbed by any noise from the road. The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The hotel is located within walking distance of the town centre. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your nice comments!
Race Week is one of, if not the, busiest occasion for us during the holiday season. We find ourselves working incredibly hard to meet its demands and were delighted with how smoothly 2013's iteration went. I am glad you found your stay as satisfactory as you did and I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Galway!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    202
    101
    50
    49
See reviews for
130
225
47
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The room could be cleaner... it is not an old building, but the mattress and sofa bed look like they were installed in a 1970's campervan and both got a fresh start in the Travelodge during the celtic tiger era.... it was expensive to sleep on said items....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

It is a pity you look back on your stay with such negativity.
I think it is a little inaccurate to compare our furnishings with those of 40 years ago. We opened in 2003 and the photographs on this page provide a clear depiction of our modern setting.
Nevertheless, I do hope the other elements of your stay provided some enjoyment to you!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
Gemneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in Travelodge for a one week period and we were pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was. The staff were pleasant and the rooms were clean. We did visit during the odd heat wave Ireland experienced this summer and of course there was no air conditioning. While we were there for three weeks in Ireland we stayed at many places and to be fair ,none of the hotels or bed and breakfasts had air conditioning , Ireland just normally does not get heat like this! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the beautiful country of Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zully B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, the heat-wave you mentioned was somewhat of a shock for most of us but we made the best of it!
I hope you re-visit our country again in the future and do bring back with you the fine weather if you can!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWIlliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This does not look like a standard travelodge from the outside and on the inside it has a reception and restaurant and lift that are like most standard hotels. The main areas looked a bit tired and could do with a revamp. The room was fine - reasonable size, quiet and comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and helpful - our television stopped working and it was changed very quickly. The location is good - just on the edge of town and just a short walk into the centre and it is only a few minutes walk to Galway Shopping Centre that includes supermarkets and eateries.
It may be a feature of Galway (as it is very touristy), but this was quite expensive (156 EUR for 2 nights) for a hotel of this standard. It would be a good choice if you got it for a lower price (say 50 EUR per night).

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor overlooking the rear carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdlRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind comments.
While you may have found us expensive, I can guarantee we were the cheapest hotel in the city on the date in question. We are acutely conscious of our rates and how they compare to our competitors. They change on a daily basis as a result. I invite you back to stay with us in the future. Book online at travelodge.ie well in advance for the best deal!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoe82
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my partner and 8 month old baby. I can honestly say ice stayed in better, cleaner hostels! The cot the brought up for our bubba was stained, they also provided no linen so we had to pull it off the sofa bed. I would've had her in bed with us however the bed was so soft that I was worried about safety. There were marks on the walls and mould on the curtain in the bathroom. I've stated in better and cleaner hostels!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zoe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I regret that you found your stay unsatisfactory.
It is a pity that a clear oversight by housekeeping was the cause of your displeasure. I must point out that the matters mentioned above would have been rectified immediately if reported to reception. If we hear nothing from guests we must assume that all is ok.
Thank-you kindly for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cavan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just back from two lovely days break in Galway with my husband, stayed at Travel Lodge and had a good experience at this hotel. Checked in on Wednesday evening and the young man on reception was very helpful and welcoming. The bedroom and en suite were very clean and comfortable.Breakfast was perefect with a good choice and staff were helpful. We were lucky when we met Seamus the manager and told him we would like to go to the Aran Island, he phoned a company and had our trip organised in minutes, we had a wonderful day out on Inishmore, thanks Seamus for your advice and help. We will definately stay at the Travel Lodge when in Galway again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geraldineCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am delighted you had such a pleasant stay.
Reviews like this are genuinely rewarding for myself and my fellow staff here at Travelodge.
I am glad I could help with your excursion to Aran. It rarely dissapoints.
Thank you for your glowing recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sligo ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just got back from Galway stayed at this hotel just the one night did not like some things like the noise from the busy road outside, the rooms need a lick of paint the sofabed looked shabby and old the double bed was uncomfortable as the mattress was not firm good points was the price of the room and was very near the centre of Galway the bathroom was nice and modern with a bath and shower, but you get what you paid for as its a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel as its on a very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I appreciate your comments. All feedback, both positive and negative, is taken very seriously by us as it helps us to mold our service into the best it can be. Our rooms are constantly under review and elements deemed to be of sub-par quality are immediately replaced.
Thank you for your frank assessment and I invite you to return in the future and see how we have improved.

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.0 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.4 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#9 of 46 in Galway
488 reviews
4.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.6 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Galway

Property: Travelodge Galway
Address: Tuam Road | Joyce Roundabout, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Galway Hotel is situated on the Tuam road 1 mile from Galway City Centre. We are just minutes away from the main link road that services many of Galway's busiest industrial and retail parks, Galway Race Course and Galway Airport. Whether its business or leisure, our staff will ensure your stay is a pleasure. This modern property offers comfortable spacious accommodation and is an ideal base for your visit to this vibrant Galway city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Galway Hotel Galway
Travel Lodge Galway
Galway Travelodge
Galway Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing