We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value pricing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Galway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Galway
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value pricing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a good value for the price. The room is big and has good conditions for locomotor disabilities people, as well the bathroom. You pay 5 Euros for 24h of wifi internet. In general was very good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClaraAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind comments.Feedback of all kinds is most welcome as we are always strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. I am glad you acknowledge our facilities for disabled guests as we view accessibility in our hotel as an especially important matter. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay!


Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    188
    94
    49
    47
See reviews for
120
211
44
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was great, location is very central, price was great! Would definitely stay again if they had a small fridge in each room. The Irish manager I think was brilliant he was very helpful! Parking is plentiful as well!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozziebelozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your kind compliments! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast. We are very proud of our food, which must be of the highest of quality at an affordable price.
As far as not having a mini-fridge in each room; all criticism is valid and we have certainly taken your comments on board. Customer satisfaction is absolutely imperative for us.
We thank you once more and indeed welcome you to stay with us again in the future!

Kind regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed at Travelodge Galway in may for 5 nights. The Standard is really high for a budget Hotel.
Everything from the Food at Breakfast to the rooms is of a really good Standard , All Thanks to Seamus , Marius and Staff for their wonderful Hospitality.

We will Definitely Stay Here Again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurag4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Laura,

Thank you very much for staying with us and moreso for your kind comments.
We pride ourselves in providing great service at an affordable price and it is truly rewarding when we receive such positive feedback. Your compliments will be passed to Marius and the rest of staff. Do come back!

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here as a package for a hen party! Returned the hotel after getting divided from the group, returned to the hotel and didn't have a key card. Unfortunately the desk was not manned so i sat in the corridor of the hotel waiting for the rest of the group to return! The corridors were full of drunken intimidating stags! Eventually wen my roomie returned i hit the hay on what i wouldn't even call a sofa bed, the mattress was an inch think and incredibly uncomfortable! I slept for only 4 hours that night and woke in agony with my hip from the uncomfortable mattress. It is now two days later and i am still stiff from it! There was four of us squeezed into a double bedroom. The shower was like it was leaking rather than functioning. I would never stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bird_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Madam,

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us.
It is rare that we get a complaint in regard to our beds so it is regrettable that your night's sleep was sub-par.
It is true that our Reception Staff, being very busy, might not be at the desk itself at all times. However, a simple ring of the electronic bell in the lobby should always bring somebody to your service.
It is also a pity you had to encounter intimidating individuals in the hallways. We view guest security as an extremely high priority and had a complaint been passed to reception, this matter would have been addressed immediately.
I assure you all the issues you have raised will be taken very seriously and shall be reviewed by the team here at Galway Travelodge.
I do hope you can return and stay with us again in the future so you might get a more accurate representation of the high quality service we provide at our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I recently stayed here, at short notice, for a couple nights. The Travelodge formula was as expected with every thing slick, online, buy in advance in keeping with their business model. The significant difference that the service, from the young work crew, in all areas of the hotel was breezy, bright and friendly. I want to especially single out Vil a young man working in reception who was a credit to himself and his organisation. He was interested, switched on, courteous and so respectful. I am a keen watcher of service and this guy was exceptional

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanIelDMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi Daniel,

I am very pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay.
At Travelodge we strive to ensure every customer will have an experience as positive as yours. It is fantastic to have the efforts of our dedicated staff members recognised. I will certainly be passing your compliments on to Vil.
Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in February 2013, and found the hotel to be adequate. We are budget travellers and NEVER book anything that isn't a great deal. We found it impossible to find anything in Galway that was a "deal" so we ended up booking the most affordable option we could that was within walking distance of the city's core. The Travelodge Galway was that hotel... and it fit the bill, barely. The pros: the hotel is clean, offers free parking, and cheap. The cons: the clientele were clearly a lower class of travellers than we experienced at other budget accommodations throughout Ireland (i.e. drunk and obnoxious), the area wasn't the greatest (and didn't feel the safest), and the hotel was completely bare bones. All in all, I am satisfied with our stay and would stay here again... but only because we did nothing at the hotel other than sleep and shower. If planning to stay in the hotel during your stay for any extended period of time, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USCTrojansFan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am most glad that you were satisfied with your stay!
It is a pity that you felt unsafe in the area. Galway is regarded as being especially safe when compared to other Irish cities of similar and indeed larger size. Having said that, I must emphasise that we do take the safety of our guests very seriously with our property under 24 hour comprehensive security surveillance.
Thank you once again for your custom and I hope your memories of Galway are fond.

Wishing you peaceful and pleasant future travels,

Seamus McWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived from Dublin to Gort having made a one year contract for a house rental with a woman that stated she works for the Ministry of Justice. We arrived at 3pm on Good Friday, but she did not turn up until midnight under the pretext, that she had overbooked. The police said it was her house and we would have to leave or they would arrest is as trespassing. We were given one hour to leave and all the neighbours came out to protest. We waited for another 2 hours in the bitter cold and finally got a six seater mini cab to take us to Galway city at the cost of €100 for half an hours drive. The only availability was at the Travelodge. We had over 25 bags of household effects and a nice receptionist Modo and the night security Liam took all our belongings at 2am into the lift & into Room 49, without a problem. We were even given a special rate in view of our circumstances. We had a wonderful 5 days, did not want to leave the room, put on the 'Do not Disturb sign' but we did not cater for staying in a hotel and was running out of funds. The Manager Seamus came up at 2pm on the day of checkout with a 3 tier trolley like the airport, lifted all our belongings (over 25 bags) and took them down to the reception for our waiting taxi. Again Modo and Marius helped us, we will certainly stay there again, if we could afford it.
In short we enjoyed our stay and the pleasant staff and regret leaving the comfortable bed and wonderful shower!
Richards - Room 49

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Country100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Good Morning ,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Travelodge Hotel last and thank you also for your super feedback. All on the team are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here.

Your positive feedback regarding the hotel, our location, the quality of Service you received and indeed the team is most encouraging and all on the team have requested that I pass on to you a vey heartfelt thank you.

Regards

Seamus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.9 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.7 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway
1.4 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#7 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Galway

Property: Travelodge Galway
Address: Tuam Road | Joyce Roundabout, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Galway Hotel is situated on the Tuam road 1 mile from Galway City Centre. We are just minutes away from the main link road that services many of Galway's busiest industrial and retail parks, Galway Race Course and Galway Airport. Whether its business or leisure, our staff will ensure your stay is a pleasure. This modern property offers comfortable spacious accommodation and is an ideal base for your visit to this vibrant Galway city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Galway Hotel Galway
Travel Lodge Galway
Galway Travelodge
Galway Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing