We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Travelodge. You know what to expect. The Ryanair of hotels.”
Review of Travelodge Galway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Galway
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's a Travelodge. You know what to expect. The Ryanair of hotels.”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Expensive for a Travelodge, I guess that's the extra Galway premium you have to pay.
Only Irish Travelodge I've seen with a lift, which was a plus.

Very noisy rooms overlooking a busy road though. Traffic noise until very late at night.
Maybe the rooms on the other side of the building are quieter. I believe they overlook the cemetery.

There is a small characterless bar behind reception, and that's also where you get your breakfast if you pay the €8 in the morning.
My advice would be to skip this and get a good breakfast someplace else. The breakfast was bad. The coffee tasted like instant, and the breakfast comes out in a one size fits all sort of plate. I hate beans and don't eat eggs, but both were all over my plate and I hadn't asked for either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandfatherClock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Good Afternoon,

I appreciate your taking time to review Galway Travelodge. I regret you did not enjoy your stay with us and hope we will have the opportunity to show you we can be better.

Looking forward to welcoming you in Galway again.

All the best,

Seamus Mc Williams
General Manager
Travelodge Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    200
    99
    49
    49
See reviews for
127
223
47
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I have had to stay down in Galway several times in the last few weeks. We stayed in the Travelodge, Galway on the first night and have chosen to return each time since. We have found all the staff so helpful and easy to talk to. The manager Seamus could not have been more helpful and understanding to us and commend him and the rest of the staff. It is a budget hotel but has a personal service which means so much nowadays. We had the pleasure of eating breakfast there which was well cooked and nicely presented. I could not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beinginthemoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Good Afternoon,

I am delighted you have become one of our regular guests :). We do our utmost to provide the best service for our guests and we apppreciate when our efforts are rewarded by content visitors.

We are looking to welcoming you in Galway and at our Hotel soon.

Warmest Regards,

Seamus Mc Williams
General Manager
Travelodge Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My feedback is in relation to a recent stay my Mother and I experienced at
the Travelodge on Tuam Road, Galway.

Right from when we checked in the staff on shift were exceedingly polite,
helpful and efficient, as we found with other staff we met throughout our
stay.
The Manager was brilliant and helped when my Mother panicked and called out
for help, aided with the duty manager went to reassure her and check on her
and ensure she was okay as she was a little disorientated from travel, had
awoken from a nap while I was briefly out.

It was reassuring to know that staff will go the extra mile and are genuine
with it as well when help may be required, particularly when traveling with
older family member's.

My sincere thanks to the Manager and his staff.
The Travelodge has two major banks close by and an mixed assortment of shops with a range of foods,the bus stop is approximately 500 yards towards town located across from the fuel station and buses were plenty on this route.

Room Tip: Rooms we had was at back of the building and away from man road. Transport by bus close by and allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timerealms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Good evening,

We are glad that you chose to stay with us and we could be at your service. The team at Galway Travelodge puts guests' well-being as a priority and we are delighted when it is noticed.

We wish you and your family more happy reunions and we will be happy to welcome you back in Galway and our Hotel.

Warmest Regards,
Seamus McWilliams
Travelodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at Travelodge Galway for three nights and had a great experience. The room was clean and modern with a big comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly, accommodating, informative and pleasant to talk to, especially Seamus the manager. The location was good, being a short ten minute walk to the city centre. We would definitely stay here again the next time we're in Galway. Anne & John, Belfast

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Anne
Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Travelodge Hotel recently and thank you also for your positive feedback.

I receive approximately 100 pieces of guest feedback on a weekly basis, and I have to say that the overwhelming majority of the feedback is a replica of yours. All on the team would like to pass on to you a heartfelt thank you and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Warmest regards,

Seamus McWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

With trepidation we booked Travel Lodge, having not used the chain before.

For those looking for value, clean good sized rooms and really expect no more-you are in for a pleasant at check-in:

There is a Galway Inn Keeper-Seamus,
Who makes Irish charm most famous!
For with a twinkle in his eye,
you will regret time going by,
for he was the grandest entertainment for us!


Sorry couldn't resist this pseudo-limerick, but he also covers Limerick venues-and you may have catch him in the act there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Good Morning ,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Travelodge Hotel last weekend and thank you also for your super feedback. All on the team are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here.

Your positive feedback regarding the hotel, our location, the quality of Service you received and indeed the team is most encouraging and all on the team have requested that I pass on to you a vey heartfelt thank you.

Regards

Seamus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were attending a wedding in Galway on Friday 14th September, We arrived at the travel lodge early 12 noon as the wedding was on the Friday. The room was ready for us - we were delighted. The receptionist was extremely friendly, chatty and well presented. The night porter was really friendly too. The room and bathroom was spotless, we got free parking as in most of the hotels in Galway you have to pay for parking. I have read some of the reviews and was surprised by the bad feedback on this Travel Lodge, I would recommend this we had great night sleep, it was clean and the staff were extremely friendly and with free parking. We walked into the city centre and home on Saturday, its a straight road in and it took 10-15 mins to walk in. The value was great, you are only 2 mins in a car away from the city centre or a short walk I will defo go back here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy-June2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Good Afternoon

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on you positive comments to our staff. We will look forward to welcoming you back again. I thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Kind Regards

Seamus McWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights during Galway Festival. Very basic rooms clean. Guy on reception friendly. Handy for the town but nothing around the hotel apart from business park. Small basic bar area. Breakfast experience was bad. Breakfast was supposed to start at 7.30 but saw staff strolling in at 7.30 so unfortunately didn't have time to have the cooked breakfast as by the time they actually wandered over to our table we had no time to eat a cooked as had to be at Galway Races for a meeting. We asked for poached eggs instead of the "Full Irish" but the member of staff did not understand English very well and we ended up with boiled eggs. We were very much left to find our way round the breakfast area, staff spent more time in kitchen than out front so guests just wandered about trying to find food. Definately wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelagh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Public Relations Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear clanfraser

Thank you for your post. We aim to provide a high level of service at all times, and I am sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.0 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,074 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.4 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#7 of 45 in Galway
469 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Galway

Property: Travelodge Galway
Address: Tuam Road | Joyce Roundabout, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Galway Hotel is situated on the Tuam road 1 mile from Galway City Centre. We are just minutes away from the main link road that services many of Galway's busiest industrial and retail parks, Galway Race Course and Galway Airport. Whether its business or leisure, our staff will ensure your stay is a pleasure. This modern property offers comfortable spacious accommodation and is an ideal base for your visit to this vibrant Galway city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Galway Hotel Galway
Travel Lodge Galway
Galway Travelodge
Galway Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing