We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Travelodge Galway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Galway
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at Travelodge Galway for three nights and had a great experience. The room was clean and modern with a big comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly, accommodating, informative and pleasant to talk to, especially Seamus the manager. The location was good, being a short ten minute walk to the city centre. We would definitely stay here again the next time we're in Galway. Anne & John, Belfast

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Anne
Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Travelodge Hotel recently and thank you also for your positive feedback.

I receive approximately 100 pieces of guest feedback on a weekly basis, and I have to say that the overwhelming majority of the feedback is a replica of yours. All on the team would like to pass on to you a heartfelt thank you and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Warmest regards,

Seamus McWilliams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 712 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

With trepidation we booked Travel Lodge, having not used the chain before.

For those looking for value, clean good sized rooms and really expect no more-you are in for a pleasant at check-in:

There is a Galway Inn Keeper-Seamus,
Who makes Irish charm most famous!
For with a twinkle in his eye,
you will regret time going by,
for he was the grandest entertainment for us!


Sorry couldn't resist this pseudo-limerick, but he also covers Limerick venues-and you may have catch him in the act there.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Good Morning ,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Travelodge Hotel last weekend and thank you also for your super feedback. All on the team are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here.

Your positive feedback regarding the hotel, our location, the quality of Service you received and indeed the team is most encouraging and all on the team have requested that I pass on to you a vey heartfelt thank you.

Regards

Seamus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were attending a wedding in Galway on Friday 14th September, We arrived at the travel lodge early 12 noon as the wedding was on the Friday. The room was ready for us - we were delighted. The receptionist was extremely friendly, chatty and well presented. The night porter was really friendly too. The room and bathroom was spotless, we got free parking as in most of the hotels in Galway you have to pay for parking. I have read some of the reviews and was surprised by the bad feedback on this Travel Lodge, I would recommend this we had great night sleep, it was clean and the staff were extremely friendly and with free parking. We walked into the city centre and home on Saturday, its a straight road in and it took 10-15 mins to walk in. The value was great, you are only 2 mins in a car away from the city centre or a short walk I will defo go back here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy-June2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Good Afternoon

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on you positive comments to our staff. We will look forward to welcoming you back again. I thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Kind Regards

Seamus McWilliams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights during Galway Festival. Very basic rooms clean. Guy on reception friendly. Handy for the town but nothing around the hotel apart from business park. Small basic bar area. Breakfast experience was bad. Breakfast was supposed to start at 7.30 but saw staff strolling in at 7.30 so unfortunately didn't have time to have the cooked breakfast as by the time they actually wandered over to our table we had no time to eat a cooked as had to be at Galway Races for a meeting. We asked for poached eggs instead of the "Full Irish" but the member of staff did not understand English very well and we ended up with boiled eggs. We were very much left to find our way round the breakfast area, staff spent more time in kitchen than out front so guests just wandered about trying to find food. Definately wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelagh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Public Relations Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear clanfraser

Thank you for your post. We aim to provide a high level of service at all times, and I am sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Was looking forward to Galway so much and couldnt believe it when we arrived at the Travelodge which is basically in the middle of what I can only describe as an industrial park! No descrption of this when I booked, I could have lived with this, but, worse was to come! When we opened the door to the room, which I do have to say was spotless, we couldnt believe it.....only 1 word to describe it, GRIM! I have seen better hostels. As a former travel agent I have seen and stayed in some bad properties and it really takes a lot for me to feel compelled to give any property a bad review. We had booked 2 nights and stayed 20 mins! The only good point was the very friendly and helpfull guy in reception when we checked in!

Room Tip: Top tip to choose a good room! Yeah, choose a room NOT in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LibOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Betty,

We are very disturbed to read your review. It is confusing as you praise the hotel for cleanliness of the room and friendliness of the staff. On the other hand you criticise the location. Whereas the hotel is situated 10 minutes walk from the Eyre Square and 5 minutes from Atalia Lake – a great walking spot.
What is more, we have no record of anyone checking in and checking out after 20 minutes. If you would like to discuss the issue further please contact the hotel directly.

Kind Regards,
Seamus McWilliams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

we stayed here for two nights and were so disappointed with our experience. the man on reception was so rude and not welcoming at all. not a great start to what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend away. the rooms were fine however very clean. what really annoyed us was a letter we received saying we were "too loud". We were barely even in the rooms as we were exploring the town yet we got this very rude letter? despite a number of hens and stags along our corridor shouting at all hours of the morning. Very badly run, hardly any staff around if you need help. most definitely would not return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravel i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Good Afternoon,

Travelodge Hotels have Sleep Tight Policy. Letters are issued fairly; only to the guests causing disturbance. We praise ourselves in taking care of our guests equally. Should you feel you were mistreated please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

Kind Regards,

Seamus McWilliams,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

One of 4 TLs stayed at while touring Ireland last week. Very courteous service and perfectly happy to book us in at 12.00 rather than have to wait til 3.00. Normal TL lodge room with no problems at all. Free car parking. About a 15 min. (brisk) walk into city centre. What a great place Galway - so many bars and restaurants with live music playing everywhere - a real buzz to the place and and the people are great. Worth a look at the Cathedral and the City museum - both free. Ate at Venice - good authentic Italian and Kumars - nice, intimate Indian.
Would love to return and would have no hesitation in recommending the Travelodge at 50 euros per night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick-Wokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalwayManagment, General Manager at Travelodge Galway, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Nick,

thank you for this positive feedback and thank you for choosing to stay in Travelodge.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Galway and that you would recommend the hotel to other visitors to the city.

We look forward to having you back at some stage in the future.

All the best,

Seamus McWilliams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.0 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4.5 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
228 reviews
4.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#10 of 46 in Galway
537 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.8 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#29 of 46 in Galway
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Galway

Address: Tuam Road | Joyce Roundabout, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $64 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Galway Hotel is situated on the Tuam road 1 mile from Galway City Centre. We are just minutes away from the main link road that services many of Galway's busiest industrial and retail parks, Galway Race Course and Galway Airport. Whether its business or leisure, our staff will ensure your stay is a pleasure. This modern property offers comfortable spacious accommodation and is an ideal base for your visit to this vibrant Galway city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Galway Hotel Galway
Travel Lodge Galway
Galway Travelodge
Galway Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing