We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Staying with a 6 year old and two teens was a rare dream. The kids club and fab pool were a huge hit for the kids and a lovely way to relax for adults. The leisure centre looked large, airy and bright with lots of equipment. The large open spaces of the lobby, bar and restaurant were great to feel part of the gentle buzz of this bustling hotel while feeling relaxed as we people-watched. Altogether it felt longer and more relaxing than a one night stay. Would definitely consider a re-visit.

Room Tip: Staff are eager to meet guests needs and I expect would be especially accommodating if a special req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to share your experience following your last visit to us by writing your review.

It was lovely to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the very near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    457
    282
    125
    53
See reviews for
514
347
40
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We booked this hotel over the internet, hoping that the reasonable room rate would not be an indication of a neglected hotel. We were delighted at check in to find our room ready and very clean. Beds were very comfortable and the bathroom modern, nicely fitted out with black marble and quality towels and fittings. Our room was situated quite a long walk down to the back of the hotel but it was extremely quiet. Unfortunately, the courtyard garden along the way was very neglected which did not look very inviting. Breakfast was nicely presented and wait staff efficient. The hotel is a good 7 - 8 minutes in a cab from town but for around 8 euro it was well worth the fare as parking is very limited in and around shop street, the main restaurant precinct. There is a very large car park at the front of the hotel which is free for hotel guests - ideal if you have a car. The hotel was very busy - many large groups in buses and a few visiting on conferences. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachgirlalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2015
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have stayed in the Connacht on a few occasions and have had nothing but good things to say.

The prices are very competitive during the summer months which is a great starting point, for a three star hotel you get an awful lot more than you would expect:

A huge amount of parking at the front of the hotel gives you a great first impression, no tight car parks to contend with is always a pleasure.

The gardens have been well maintained and on a summers evening its a lovely place to sit in with a refreshing pint as the hotel faces into the sun.

Lobby area is well furnished and spacious and there are plenty of check in staff so waiting was never an issue.

The Bar/Restaurant is perfect, Breakfast is a self service buffet with hot and cold food and its quick and clean. The Bar is well stocked and has a lovely cocktail counter with mixologists each evening. Every night we stayed here (mid week) there was live music in the bar and the atmosphere was fantastic.
Food menu is extensive and well priced for a hotel and its of high quality....The Fish and chips were amazing and could feed an army.

Rooms are well equipped with Wifi(free) Tv Iron Hairdryer etc etc and the bathrooms are spacious and modern. Room service is available at the Hotel with a full menu until midnight i think and then you can order sandwiches and soup after that (which i did after returning from a night out).

The rooms are quiet as the doors and walls are very thick which is nice as some hotels fall down on noise pollution.

There is a full sized gym with numerous cardio machines and weights rooms and towels are provided and there was a large pool sauna and steam room which we didnt use but looked very nice and they asked us if we needed swimming hats or goggles when we checked in to use the gym.

Location is very good its about a five minute drive or twenty minute walk to eyre square and taxis are right outside the hotel door (they have a taxi rank in the hotel) and costs about €6 to get to eyre square is perfect if there is a few of you. Buses were across the road (one minute walk) but we didn't get any so cant comment on price or length of journey, cant imagine more than 10minutes though.

Staff really makes this place though, They are friendly and willing to help you with anything you need!

5 stars for this 3 star hotel!

Will be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KingGeorge710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to share your experience following your last visit to us by writing your review.

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the very near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked this on the internet from Australia & got a very good price. We found it easily & were happy with the large free car park. Check-in was excellent. Only one lift to take is to the upper floor & a long walk to our room which was excellent with a large modern en suite with shower in bath. The bar is large & modern with very friendly staff. Food can be taken in either the bar area or in the adjacent restaurant with the same menu in both. The food is good without being a knockout! There are lots of bus tours using the hotel, but the size of the bar & restaurant does not let this be a problem, although the staff are a little rushed at breakfast. While the room was very comfortable & the bar staff friendly, its sheer size means it is a little impersonal. It is out of the town centre so attractions are not within reasonable walking distance. however, a good taxi service operates.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We recently took our three children away for the weekend to celebrate our daughters confirmation. We went all out and book a two bedroom suite. It was fab...lovely to have children in other bedroom!!! We eat both nights in the hotel food was very tasty.the bar staff were very friendly and efficient . Children had a great time in the swimming pool . Would definetly recommend this hotel. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you sincerely, for taking the time to share your experience following your last visit to us by writing your review.

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially on such a happy family occasion as your daughter's confirmation, a big congratulations to her.

We appreciate your very positive feedback and its great to hear that you "can't wait for your next visit".

We look forward to the pleasure of looking after you and your family again in the very near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We didn't have any crazy problems or anything, but I would not stay here again. It's one big giant tourist hotel with buses full of tour groups.

Pros:
- parking is free
- although a long walk, it's walkable to High Street, Quay, etc.
- apartments have full kitchens, and are not too expensive
- pool/gym: the pool area is awesome! It's indoor, big, and warm! We took our two year old there every day and he loved it! Have a spa, steam room, shower/locker facilities....this was my favorite part of the whole hotel
- restaurant on site and room service (see cons as well for more on this). And a bar.
- kids area (we never used since looked closed all the time, but nice touch anyway)
- pack'n'play/travel cot made available in room for us

Cons:
- big, impersonal, nothing special
- restaurant: food was mediocre at best. But it did have a restaurant and room service, which when desperate, is great
- breakfast was sub par at best
- very tourist driven

We used a golf tour booking company on this trip and 1) we would not do that again and 2) they were the ones that booked this hotel for us. In their defense, I am guessing they did this because of us requesting something toddler friendly and preferably that had a kitchen, so I think the options were limited. In hind site, if this is what we wanted, we would have probably just gone with a holiday/vacation rental.

Best thing about this place is the price, but you get what you pay for, FYI.

Room Tip: FYI, we were promised a 1 bedroom apartment and a 2 bedroom apartment NEXT TO EACH OTHER. This did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesAndAbbyMelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience by writing your review.

Your feedback as that of all our guests is very important to us and helps us to monitor how we are performing at meeting the needs of our guests.

We are sorry that there were some aspects of your stay that were not to your satisfaction and we would have been very happy to speak with you in person prior to your departure with regard to these matters.

We are a very popular hotel and one of the largest outside Dublin, catering for a wide range of guests, Groups, Corporate Guests, Families like yourselves and Couples. We understand that it is very busy, however, we do make every effort to make each guest's stay as welcoming as possible. Our children's club is open at weekends and during school holidays during which time parents with children under 3 years are very welcome to come in an use the playroom.

It was very nice to hear that you and your baby really enjoyed the Leisure Club and that you found your accommodation catered fully for your needs.

If you wish to contact me directly regarding your feedback, I would be delighted to correspond with your in person. You can e-mail me at lpettit@theconnacht.ie.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed in the Connacht hotel in the suites for a family reunion. It was very enjoyable stay from booking, check in, dinner that evening. Rooms were very clean and well equipped, pleasant staff. A nice lady on reception Caroline checked us out. Didn't use the hotels leisure facilities.
Will definitely return to this hotel on our next family break away and shall be recommending it to my friends.

Thanks to management and staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Majof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, particularly on such a happy occasion as a Family Reunion and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
3.7 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#17 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
4.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Property: The Connacht Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing