We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks are deceiving”
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The exterior of the hotel and rooms look great but the hallway and rooms are very stale and musty. Apparently this hotel "sits" in the off season. The shower was dripping when we came in and we had to call maintenance to figure out how to turn on the shower. It was "stuck" due to the lime in he water and non-use. Beds were very comfortable and room was large. Breakfast was just ok. Location is far from city center so not the ideal hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank 2012dae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I realize things were hectic being the day before St. Patricks Day. But we got to the hotel an hour after check in time began. And our room was not ready after booking it 4 months in advance. They said they would call us when it was ready, but failed to do that also. After waiting in a line for 45 minutes to check in. We waited in line again to ask when the room would be ready to find the room had been ready for an hour. The room was ok, but i feel the hotel was overpriced and customer service was poor. The hotel should have been better prepared for a busy holiday weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattycolburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here last weekend with the girls.. We had a 2 bedroom suite. It was fab!!! I was put off the hotel from reading previous reviews.. But was certainly proved wrong.. Check in staff were very welcoming and very helpful.. We had great service from the waiter in the bar when ordering food. Food was lovely, great choices. Good selection of cocktails. Room was spotless and very spacious!! We had a wonderful stay. I noticed they have a kids club to entertain kids which would really make me come back with the family.. A taxi into eyre square was only €13 for 4 of us.. So its close enough to everything without having to compromise on comfort. Highly recommend this hotel and we will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel was much larger than I expected and very busy. We got there 2.5 hours after check in started and we had to wait in line to check in for a half hour. When we got to the desk they told us our room wasn't ready and she'd call when it was. After an hour we went back to the desk and asked if it was ready...it was and she had apparently been too busy to call us. This was after a five hour drive...I just wanted to lay down! On the up side, the room was nice, clean, and the beds were comfortable. My biggest complaint though is the noise. We were on the third floor with the windows shut but could hear people talking outside as if the window was open. People were slamming doors all night long. I could not get a full night of sleep there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

stayed at this lovely hotel in mid Feb, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room spotless clean and the food perfect..
the hotel is well situated to enable you to travel the whole west cost and never be too far from base. will certainly be back again,

Room Tip: if the rest were as clean and tidy as ours any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We recently book a mid-week break here as we had bought a deal . It didnt disappoint. The hotel and staff were lovely.The room was lovely and spacious . We had breakfast both morning there was a wide selection off everything .This hotel is ideal as its just as you come into galway .Its about a 20 minute walk to eyre square but its a nice walk . Will definitely be returining .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DM2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My friends and I spent St. Patricks day weekend here. Upon a arrival we were greeted by a great member of staff who was so friendly and so helpful with answering our questions about the area. Throughout our stay, we received friendly gestures from staff in the common areas of the hotel. Not only are the staff incredibly friendly and helpful, but the hotel is amazing. Wifi is available hotel-wide and food is something of very high standard. Swim and gym facilities exceeded our exceptions, and we got all of this for an incredibly affordable price. I will continue to recommend The Connacht Hotel to my friends and family. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smcgee162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,165 reviews
3.7 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
2,025 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
952 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Address: The Connacht Hotel Dublin Road, Galway H91 K5DD, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#11 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $80 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main access route to Galway City, The Connacht Hotel prides itself on its valued customer service to wide variety of clientele. From family breaks to active retired and lots in between. The Connacht Hotel is a family friendly hotel and has all you need for a break away with the kids. Supervised kids club, leisure facilities, family rooms or self-catering apartments, we understand that it's not only a break for the family but also a break for you. The club opens most weekends and during all school holidays from 9.30am-1pm & 6pm-10pm. The Connacht Hotel offers a range of purpose built conference rooms, with capacities ranging from 120 delegates to smaller conference rooms, ideal for boardroom style meetings. Free WiFi, projector and screen, flip-charts, water, stationery and mints are included. Complimentary parking is also available for all visitors. Active Fitness Leisure Club has 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing