We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Galway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Galway
County Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Galway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife spent 2 days there on from the 10th to the 12th and found it a very good stay staff were very good and food was excellent, only downside was the bed it was too small and mattress needed to be changed was uncomfortable, other than that out stay was quiet good we will be back again

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darrenr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    445
    277
    122
    52
See reviews for
499
334
38
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Excellent Stay. We were upgraded to a suite when we landed. It had exceptional space and the food was lovely for breakfast with a great catering for the Gluten Free varities. The live music entertainment in the bar was also very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Mr. Shay Livingstone and all the Team here at The Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by writing your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we appreciate your very positive feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed in this hotel on the 6/03/13 with my partner. Hotel itself was lovely the rooms the swimming pool with a jaquzzi and sauna was lovely. Reception staff very welcoming two. The only bad thing about the hotel is the service in the restaurant e were waitong almost an hr for our bill had asked three different waiters to bring it down politely. They didnt seem two bothered. Ended up having to go out to the reception to get the duty manager called down in order for us to fix up our bill. We were sitting down the back two and everybody else seemed to be two be sitting in the centre of the restaurant. It was busy on the day we went. But we still shud not have been waiting such a long time to get service. We could of easily walked out without paying but didn't .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottwizard423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

From the moment you walk in, you can tell that this hotel is top notch! We stayed 2 nights in a very well appointed triple. The hotel bar and restaurant is also quite nice. Staff was helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arizona_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmullet, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed last Friday as on business. The staff were excellent and great to have the leisure centre. Ate in the bar and would recommend the game casserole .... Unusual for a bar menu and it didnt disappoint. I was working in the hotel on Saturday and again the conference facilities and staff were great. Hope to return again
Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muinteoir2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delvin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here one night oven midterm break with two boys 10 and 12 year olds. Walked in to the city on arrival short walk but bus outside if you prefer. On our return we took taxi back as it was raining just over 6€ therefore this is a great location to explore the city. Room was spacious and clean only fault I had was it was too warm and could not turn down the heat in hindsight I should have rang reception to get the heating altered. Breakfast was a good display of hot and cold buffet and all had a great feast. Swimming pool was surprisingly quiet for the crowds of people staying at this large hotel will be back to stay here again. Staff very polite and professional in all areas of the hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pier19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
4.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Property: The Connacht Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#17 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing