We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Drogheda
Level Contributor
325 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Connaught Hotel (I seem to remember it in a previous incarnation as the Carlton) is conveniently situated on the Dublin Road for visitors like ourselves from the East Coast. Staff were friendly & helpful on arrival, and we got a great low room rate. The room was comfortable, but seemed noisy with the sound of talking and TV coming from the adjoining room. Thin walls?
The breakfast was extra for €10.50. It was a reasonable cooked breakfast, but the cold items were quite limited - no cold meats or cheeses.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank therealnickpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    445
    278
    122
    52
See reviews for
499
335
38
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Connacht is an excellent hotel very centrally located in Galway. I had reason to stay because of its proximity to the hospital which my father was in. Boy was I impressed. The Staff on check in were professional courteous and made you feel right at home. The facilities of this hotel are second to none.The leisure center is easily the best in Galway with the biggest pool I have seen in any hotel. The bar is very big and spacious with delicious food and friendly staff. The girls are very attentive and the whole experience makes you feel like you are part of a big happy family. The rooms are big and spacious with very comfortable beds. All in all a nice cozy amicable hotel to stay in. I had to extend my stay at very short notice and all the staff could not do enough to accommodate me at very short notice. I would highly recommend this Hotel in Galway.
Ian D. Ryan

Room Tip: There all good. Go for it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanDRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We Stayed at this hotel on the 22.01.2014 as while we found the staff helpful and friendly and we liked the room.
The only complaint that my husband would have is that he ordered a chicken salad sandwich and the bread was dry and there was very little salad or chicken in the Sandwich.
Otherwise we had a most pleasant stay & we would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us by posting your review.

We very much appreciate your very positive feedback and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us again.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Connacht Hotel.

Kindest regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on a return trip to Galway. The staff member who looked after us at check in looked and behaved like she would rather be anywhere else but there- not a good start and we'd had a long day.
Our room was a family room and was obviously placed in the wing where all other families are housed- all we heard while we were there was children crying, screaming, slamming doors etc. the room itself was very comfortable and large enough for the three of us (2 adults and a teenager).
We ate in the bar area and found the food to be well cooked and flavoursome- albeit a bit expensive. It was however very convenient and the Guinness on tap was tasty and fresh.
We enjoyed out stay here but beware staying in this hotel if you are not travelling as a family with children- the hotel lobby is almost always full of other peoples little ones.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Blossom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for the Connacht vs Leinster match on Sat Jan 4th.
I had stayed in the hotel before when it was Day's hotel and really nothing was has changed.
The pool is excellent and the gym looks good.
Breakfast I thought was pretty good with a wide and plentiful supply.
One reviewer complained about noisy children but in all honesty it is the adults who are the noisy ones. Two ladies in the room next to me talked till 330 in the morning until their husbands arrived back from the bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone, General Manager and all the Team here at the Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are always delighted to receive our guest’s feedback which is very important to us. Our guests opinions and suggestions assist us to monitor how we are performing at both meeting and also striving to exceed the needs and expectations of our guests
.
We hope that we can look forward welcoming back to us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Both my Fiancé and I stay here regularly for business, the hotel is modern and clean, the rooms are spacious and the parking is free. The breakfast is well stocked and plentiful and we've eaten in the bar many times, the menu is limited but fine for bar food. If you fancy sampling some of the many restaurants in the city its just a short taxi ride away from Galway city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Shay Livingstone, General Manager and all the Team here at the Connacht Hotel, I wish to thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your experience with us.

It was great to read that you and your Fiancé have enjoyed many visits with us as Corporate Guests and we appreciate your positive comments.

We are sorry that your night’s sleep was interrupted due to noise. Please do not ever hesitate to advise our Team of any noise disturbances, as we are always available to deal confidentially with complaints of this nature.

We hope that we can look forward welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner are just home from a one night stay at your Hotel. We checked in on Friday to a very clean and comfortable room. We had our dinner in the bar which was lovely, then went to the cinema which is only a 10 min walk away. On return from cinema we went into the bar for a few drinks, we found all staff very friendly and the night porter Aidan looked after us and was very courteous. Breakfast the following morning was of a good presentation and there was plenty of variety at the buffet. Breakfast staff were also very friendly . The only negative comment is that the drinks were extremely expensive. We will return again someday. Keep up the good work.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank maggiewexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P, Guest Relations Manager at The Connacht Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of Shay Livingstone, General Manager and all the Team here at the Connacht Hotel, I wish to express our thanks to you for sharing your experience by writing this review.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back to us again.

Kind regards,


Louise Pettit
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
4.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Property: The Connacht Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#17 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing