We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK ... moldy bread at breakfast”
Review of The Connacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Connacht Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Pros: staff at reception were very helpful, bar is open until late. Cons: hotel is very busy and is close to a 30 minute walk into the centre of Galway. The most unfortunate part of our stay was joining other guests in picking over the bread at breakfast because much of it was moldy.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jam2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,642)
There are newer reviews for The Connacht Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,408 - 1,414 of 1,642 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The facilities are decent, but there are simply too many guests and too many families.

There was an hour-long wait for breakfast, with the dining manager handling the situation incompetently.

Wi-fi is oversubscribed do that even after midnight, I cannot connect.

The men's changing room in the fitness room smells of poo and is the worst smelling room I have ever been in.

There are no parking spaces.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HouseofRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I found the Connacht Hotel to be just okay. Staff at Reception and the Bar/Lounge were very good, but those in the Restaurant were less than helpful. We had a suite - 2 bedrooms/baths with a common room with a stove, refrigerator, TV etc. The sofa in this room was so dirty and stained that you wouldn't want to sit on it. Unfortunately this made us want to spend as little time as possible in this room and sort of scared us away from cooking much except for toast. The bedrooms were okay. It was unbearably hot while we were there (I know this was an unusual stretch of weather), There is no air-conditioning and when we asked if they could possibly provide a fan they said they'd check on that but, of course, we never heard from them again on this.

It wasn't all negative, but the Connacht does need some serious updating. This hotel may be a good value for families with children, but just check the rooms first.

I would not be likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FromMaine_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Ok booked because it was a 4 circle review... But should have read the in depth reviews lately!! We got here and I checked in. Everything seemed ok. Staying in the "D" wing which almost takes a map to get there u have to go through the leisure club "pool" and child care. Past the blue panels that hide clutter. Past the stains in the over used and worn carpet to your room.

We traveled 2 hours so we were in a hurry to just get in and shower and I didn't put it beside me and jumped in the shower. In the shower on the far wall was what appreared to be dirt... Not a lot just barely noticeable but there. I get out of the shower and take a better look at the room.

Biggest bed we've had since we got to Ireland but we have been staying in B & Bs from the 1st till today the 10th. We booked last second and the only really remaining hotel or bed and breakfast withing short distance of Galway. The g hotel was just a short walk away and looked amazing but sold out. The price seemed just as much as the Connacht.

Back to the room. Too VERY NOTICEABLE BROWN STAINS ON THE CARPET!!!! Not sure what it was but looked like someone had tried to clean it. I was upset we paid $198 US dollars and felt robbed. I went to go talk to hotel management and spoke with Michael. Only until I said we were going to have to leave he walked up with me to see the room. The view from the room was of the other busing and dumpsters. Haven't attempted breakfast but I'm scared. They said they would come clean barroom... Dirt still there when we came back...

Long story longer... We got money off but not much and tried to find a mother hotel, EVERYONE BOOKED SOLID. So we staid only becaus I didn't want to sleep in the rental car. HORRIBLE!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SwimGeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The font desk staff here very helpful and the rooms good. The breakfast staff, and breakfast, here are the worst I have ever come upon. They don't wipe the tables, don't supply teaspoons, don't answer you, they really let the hotel down. Very faulty towers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Connacht Hotel is a nice place to stay if you are visiting Galway. The hotel reception was very helpful and friendly, and our room was comfortable. It's definitely not a luxury accommodation, but it's nice for a family visit to Galway. There were many children in the hotel when we visited, as well as activities for kids (family fun room, pool, arts and crafts, etc.) so it seems that many Irish families come here as a weekend getaway with their children.

The hotel has a nice bar/restaurant; although we did not eat here, it was crowded at all times (even at midnight!), so it must be decent! We had a drink at the bar, and there was a nice vibe there, as the locals listened to live music and watched sports on TV.

Its location is decent -- it's about a mile or so outside of Galway City, so it's easy enough to take the bus or a taxi (the bus runs every 20-30 minutes or so, and it's about an 8 euro taxi ride). It's a 30 minute walk from Eyre Square in the city center. Additionally, day tour buses will do pickups at the hotel so that is helpful if you are planning to explore the Cliffs of Moher, Connemara, Aran Islands, etc. through a day tour.

Overall, we had a nice stay, and I would recommend this hotel to someone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Would like to say how much myself, husband and two children enjoyed our stay with you last night, that I had won in recent competition.

Could not fault my stay at all, staff were so welcoming both in hotel, bar, and leisure centre, could not have been more helpful. Our room was perfect for the family and all had a great nights sleep.

We went for a swim when we arrived, pool was amazing, kids really enjoyed the various areas in the pool, I also had the pleasure of using the Jacuzzi. Husband used steam/sauna rooms. On arrival at pool was given towels, locker keys etc, it was lovely to see that shampoo was supplied in showers, as well as a good few hair driers and straightener.

We then went for our meal in the Bar Solo, food amazing, great choice on menu, and childrens menu very good. All really enjoyed our meal, would recommend the steaks and pizzas.

Breakfast so extremely good this morning, great choice. Very busy service for staff but they managed it extremely well.

Will recommend The Connacht Hotel to family and friends and will come back and see you again as enjoyed your stay.

Thanks, Amanda

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,108 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,977 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#9 of 46 in Galway
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connacht Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Renmore | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel Galway City)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Galway
#16 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $85 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connacht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the main access route to Galway City, The Connacht Hotel prides itself on its valued customer service to wide variety of clientele. From family breaks to active retired and lots in between. The Connacht Hotel is a family friendly hotel and has all you need for a break away with the kids. Supervised kids club, leisure facilities, family rooms or self-catering apartments, we understand that it's not only a break for the family but also a break for you. The club opens most weekends and during all school holidays from 9.30am-1pm & 6pm-10pm. The Connacht Hotel offers a range of purpose built conference rooms, with capacities ranging from 120 delegates to smaller conference rooms, ideal for boardroom style meetings. Free WiFi, projector and screen, flip-charts, water, stationery and mints are included. Complimentary parking is also available for all visitors. Active Fitness Leisure Club has 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Connacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing